***HOW TO*** Flash Roms on the THUNDERBOLT

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Roms' started by sgtguthrie, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. Its TwiX

    Its TwiX Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    417
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Might want to change your disclaimer. You can brick your device even if you know what you're doing. Sometimes stuff happens.

    Sent from my BAMFed out Thunderbolt
     
  2. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, but I think it's well covered...
     
  3. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    As long as you can get to hboot you're not "bricked"... I haven't even heard of this happening with a TB yet. That being said, I don't think it's really easy to do...stuff does happen though, that's why I say what you do is your responsibility.



    sent via rooted THUNDERBOLT with Tapatalk
     
  4. Hateslinger

    Hateslinger Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I would disagree. As long as you can get into recovery you should be good. I had a boot loop that I thought screwed me because I couldn't get into recovery. I did send hard reset which got me into it and it was easy to load my back up from there.

    Sent from my rooted Thunderbolt, VirusROM AirborneTB
     
  5. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The reason I said hboot is because it's the very first layer you could say you'll encounter. Of course you're good if you can get to recovery! I'm saying that if for some reason you can't get to recovery either (no idea when that would happen but bear with me) you can always flash an ruu and you're good. If you are using a device with a bootloader that's been unlocked, it's very hard to mess it up. Software can almost always just be replaced.

    I'm just saying you have a couple layers of fail-safes. Recovery and hboot. I personally have never broken something on Android I couldn't fix. The only times I've heard of devices getting bricked is unplugging while flashing an sbf on a MOTO phone. Everything MOTO has released post d1 is more easily bricked because of the bootloader encryption. At least as I understand it...but I haven't had to worry about that going from d1 to thunderbolt.
     
    #17 sgtguthrie, Apr 18, 2011
    Last edited: Apr 18, 2011
  6. dark juggalo

    dark juggalo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    WNC
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok..i have a question..after installing the rom-ive noticed mention of deleting the folder PG051.zip from the sd card...does that apply to the rom folder as well? and for that matter how about the update.zip as well?
     
  7. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You should remove or rename the pg file because if you don't your phone is going to want to flash it every time you're in hboot. I make sure I keep no pg files on my SD, and I don't keep any named just update.zip either (partially because you don't need to rename anything to update.zip). You don't need to delete any roms or kernels etc from your SD card, but I keep mine organized with a folder for roms and and another for kernels.



    sent via rooted THUNDERBOLT with Tapatalk
     
  8. dark juggalo

    dark juggalo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2011
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    WNC
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ty for the info
     
  9. that.one.yellow.kid

    that.one.yellow.kid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    How do I delete the cache and everything else. I tried finding it on Rom manager but I have no idea how to do it.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  10. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Boot into clockworkmod recovery like I instructed in the original post. If you follow my instructions, It's super easy.
     
  11. that.one.yellow.kid

    that.one.yellow.kid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you. Just making sure I know what I'm gonna so I dont mess up

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
  12. dhaymond

    dhaymond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2010
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Ca
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried to restore a back up of my stock rom I made, but it stated; it can't because a MD5 file was missing. Help... Did I do something?

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
flash htc thunderbolt
,
flash rom on thunderbolt
,
how to flash a htc thunderbolt
,
how to flash a rom on htc thunderbolt
,
how to flash a thunderbolt
,
how to flash a thunderbolt phone
,
how to flash htc thunderbolt
,

how to flash thunderbolt

,
htc thunderbolt flash rom
,
thunderbolt install rom