1. You want that $100.00 in your pocket or an Amazon Fire TV don't you? Well here's the deal. With our new updated look we are in desperate need of an updated logo. The 'old' one has certainly served us well, but it's time. Find all the details here: bit.ly/1q0k6Wa
  2. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

Flashing a ROM on a Droid 1 - Best Practices

Discussion in 'Rescue Squad Guides' started by guidot, Nov 7, 2010.

1. guidot

guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

Guide to SPRecovery

All,

This is my first attempt at writing a guide so helping me out with links and such will be helpful too.

MotoCache1 created a great guide on rooting a D1 running 2.2, however after I was done doing that I had to do more experimenting. I read so much on flashing, and whether to use ROM Manager or stick with SPRecovery, etc.

This guide will take over after the above rooting method has taken place. MotoCache1's method will leave you stock with SU, and BusyBox. These are the basics to having 'root' access. From here you should create a Nandroid backup in SPRecovery if you didn't after running the guide. This will give you a base to return to if something happens with your next ROM installation.

Steps:
    1. Power off your Droid.
    2. Slide open the keyboard.
    3. Hold the 'x' key down, then press the power key as you normally would to turn the device on.
    4. Continue holding the 'x' key until you are booted into SPRecovery.
    5. Slide the keyboard closed.
    6. Once there, using the volume key to move the selector up and down, select 'Backup/Restore'
    7. Select 'create simple nandroid backup' This will create a backup marked with the date for easy restoration.
    8. The progress bar will show up and complete in a minute or 2.
    9. Once it says complete you can then press the power button to return to the main menu.
    10. You can select 'reboot now'