***HOW TO*** Flash Roms on the THUNDERBOLT

Discussion in 'Thunderbolt Roms' started by sgtguthrie, Apr 13, 2011.

  1. crazymexicazn

    crazymexicazn New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    with the thunderbolt, do i need any of these radio files (or any additional files since it is 4G) i am hearing some people discussing prior to downloading and installing through ROM manager? and if so where can i find these files and make sure they are compatible with the ROM i want to install? Or will ROM manager already have these files included in the download and just flash through them (i have pro version)?
     
  2. KennyBerndt

    KennyBerndt Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    Trying to create my first backup.....

    Getting stuck trying to backup my fresh 1 day old TB. Rooted last night using this method.
    [Procedure] How to Root the Thunderbolt with ADB (Windows) - Android Forums
    The root worked just fine, as I can use several apps (wireless tether, shoot me) that require root.

    So when I try to get into create a backup using the ROM manager and manual procedure I get the following

    PG05DIAG.ZIP
    NO IMAGE
    PG05DIAG.NBH
    NO IMAGE OR WRONG IMAGE
    LOADIN PG05IMG

    Then it shows the bar on the right that changes colors as it does its thing.....

    HELP
     
  3. Red261

    Red261 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    It says to only install roms on a full battery. What is the reason for this? I am coming from a Droid x and installed roms on around half battery. Is there a reason it is OK for the x, but not the tb
     
  4. sgtguthrie

    sgtguthrie Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    513
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I say full battery because when you're flashing roms, the last thing you want is for your battery to die in the middle of the process. I once tried to restore a backup on my d1 after a full wipe and nearly drained the battery trying to fix it. That was after starting with a full charge. That ended up a problem with my recovery. Stuff happens, it's not always our fault, but it is up to us whether we're prepared for it or not. I don't know about you, but I like to be prepared. It only takes a short while to charge it... Why not play it safe?

    One other thing to consider is the accuracy of your battery percentages. If you flash with 40%, is it 40%? Or 20%? Food for thought...
     
  5. DroidXDoes4G

    DroidXDoes4G Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yes! Always have 80% + on battery when flashing a ROM.

    You may ask why, but better safe then sorry.
     
  6. Red261

    Red261 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so it's a safety precaution. Good to know.
     
  7. dbelshe

    dbelshe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I need a little help. Im attempting to flash DasBamf 2.0 and the GB radio. I know there is discussion on XDA about the radio, but it sounds like most people are doing ok with it, besides, I have insurance. My problem is, that after I flashed the rom (backedup and wiped first), then flashed the radio. when it boots up I dont have any service, so ultimately get a few FC's because I assume the apps are looking for an internet connection. I have tried reflashing both rom and radio with no luck, Im in the process of restoring my backup just be sure its not a hardware or network issue. Anybody have any advice?
     
  8. wooddale

    wooddale Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Il & Wi
    Ratings:
    +11
    Did you have any luck getting back I would have done the same thing if I didnt read about flashing a rom first. I thought the radio was a full rom and then you flashed what you want from there. It was kind of like that with the DX with some roms.
     
  9. dbelshe

    dbelshe New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I may have figured it out, after re-read the files I have been downloading, it turned out I was downloading the "froyo" versions and nothe "gingerbread" version, so Im trying it now.

    Edit: yep, if would learn to scroll and read all the way to the bottom. There is a GB rom, I flashed it and now all is well.
     
  10. wooddale

    wooddale Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Il & Wi
    Ratings:
    +11
    Glad you voter done
     
  11. mamawings

    mamawings New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi. I just successfully rooted my HTC Thunderbolt using an adb method. I have Titanium Premium and ROM Manager Premium installed. I want to install a custom ROM but keep running into the lack of phone service problem after installing. I have tried different versions of CyanogenMod. I would like to try a Gingerbread but keep seeing words like "leaked version of Radio" and don't understand what that means. Could you please tell me how to do this?
    Thanks so much.
     
  12. ionide

    ionide Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2010
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yep, you need to flash not only a Rom but a radio as well.

    Sent from my ADR6400L using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page
flash htc thunderbolt
,
flash rom on thunderbolt
,
how to flash a htc thunderbolt
,
how to flash a rom on htc thunderbolt
,
how to flash a thunderbolt
,
how to flash a thunderbolt phone
,
how to flash htc thunderbolt
,

how to flash thunderbolt

,
htc thunderbolt flash rom
,
thunderbolt install rom