[HOW TO] Unlock Rezound's Bootloader [HTCdev.com]

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by macpro88, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. BIGTIMEANDROID

    BIGTIMEANDROID New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Unlock-code.bin HELP!?!?!

    I have a HTC Rezound & I've gotten everything but when I get to the last step to unlock the bootloader it says "error: fastboot Unlock-code.bin"

    Can someone help me I've tried everything I can! I'm getting ready to go crazy! lol

     
  2. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    What command are you typing? It should be "fastboot flash unlocktoken unlock_token.bin" where unlock_token.bin is the path and name of your unlock_token.bin
     
  3. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    make sure you are using an underscore "_" and not a hyphen "-" that will make all the difference.
     
  4. BIGTIMEANDROID

    BIGTIMEANDROID New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was using what yall said but its ok thank you I messed up my rezound & had to get a New one I'll just wait til a more easy & stable rooting method comes out
     
  5. maxearing

    maxearing Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    when i tried to do this it stayed at "waiting for device" on the CMD window. what did i do wrong?
     
  6. Insidious

    Insidious Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +4
    Did you have HTC sync, and of the correct drivers?

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
     
  7. anewday

    anewday Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    NYC
    Ratings:
    +0
    What happens when you relock the bootloader when there's already a custom rom/kernel installed? My friend needs to get his phone replaced and wants to relock it and go back to the stock rom/kernel. Where can I find the stock rom and kernel? Thanks.
     
  8. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,399
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    You can RUU back to stock (Rom Update Utility). You can find them here: [ROM]Vigor Shipped ROM Collection - xda-developers

    You must relock the bootloader first, the phone should still boot just fine, but you can run the RUU from fastboot if you want.

    This is a Windows application, run the .exe and its pretty much step by step
     
  9. blulew77

    blulew77 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    After doing all of the above, and getting my Unlock_code.bin file, I get an error: error: cannot load 'Unlock_code.bin'
    Over and over and over. fastboot, adb, and Unlock_code.bin are all in the same directory. I have checked the spelling a couple dozen times. I am stuck. I have a Mac, running OS X 10.7.3
     
  10. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    Can you copy/paste the exact command line and output? Also your phone should be in HBOOT and you should see "Fastboot USB" on the screen.
     
  11. blulew77

    blulew77 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ernest-Phillipss-iMac:~ ernestphillips$ Desktop/unlock/fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin
    error: cannot load 'Unlock_code.bin'

    Ernest-Phillipss-iMac:~ ernestphillips$

    Phone is in Hboot, and I see FASTBOOT USB
     
  12. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    Got it. You're calling fastboot from another directory: Desktop/unlock/fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin
    cd into Desktop/unlock first
    then use the command "./
    fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin "
     
Search tags for this page
how to unlock bootloader htc rezound
,

how to unlock htc rezound

,
how to unlock htc rezound bootloader
,
htc rezound bootloader
,
htc rezound drivers
,
unlock bootloader htc rezound
,
unlock bootloader rezound
,
unlock htc rezound
,
unlock htc rezound bootloader
,
unlock rezound bootloader