[HOW TO] Unlock Rezound's Bootloader [HTCdev.com]

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by macpro88, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    To clarify something, "fastboot oem lock" does not relock the phone to it's previous state. It technically relocks it, but it's not the same as the factory "out of the box" lock.

    I said that like it was an FYI, but meant it more as a question... coming from the HTC Sensation (awesome phone, but back to a real carrier finally ;)), I'm very familiar with all this now, and I think that was the case with the Sensation, which is why I'm asking here.

    But the ultimate question is can HTC tell the difference, b/c the main reason you'd do that is to unvoid the warranty and send it in... if I remember right, on the Sensation, it would not say "locked", but rather "re-locked" in hboot - making it clear it had been unlocked previously.
  2. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yes, they can tell the difference cause the phone will say "RE-LOCKED" and not "LOCKED." To truly factory locked device, we need S-Off.... but depending on what is wrong with the phone, warranty will still be in place, just unlocking restricts the warranty even further. They can usually tell when someone went wrong because of the unlock or not.
  3. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    That would be correct. The phone will show "relocked" vs "locked" as it did in it's factory state. However HTC has gone on to say that unlocking the phone does void certain warranty situations vs the entire warranty.

    The other and more pertinent part of the argument is that HTC will almost never see your phone again. Warranty support is provided by Verizon in which case you should return your handset to them, not HTC. Verizon(as most of us know) doesn't check for locked/unlocked/relocked status. At best they check whether or not the phone has been rooted/running a custom ROM.
  4. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    Thanks for the clarification!
  5. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    easier access to adb/fastboot commands

    For those (Windows users) with issues getting the SDK and JDK to install right or work right, or those that simply don't want to mess with it, there's a much easier way to have adb/fastboot commands available. To date (and I've been playing with HTC devices since the Inc1), I've seen no adverse consequences of using this instead of the entire SDK/JDK.

    Simply download this .zip and extract it to where you want to (preferably easy access), and use that as your main "/tools" folder - i.e. where you put the .bin file, recovery .img files, etc. It contains 4 files of importance for adb/fastboot:

    adb.exe
    fastboot.exe
    AdbWinApi.dll
    AdbWinUsbApi.dll

    For now, ignore the nbimg.exe file in there... but in the future we'll hopefully be able to flash custom splash screens on the Rezound, and that file can be used to create your own with the right command line.

    Mac/Smith - not trying to undercut you guys and all the hard (and awesome) work y'all have done, but this has saved me a lot of time over the years, in one of the bigger hurdles to people using adb/fastboot. If y'all see any problems with this, I'll take zero offense (and I'm serious) if you want to delete this or ignore this.
  6. jwindevelopment
    Offline

    jwindevelopment New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    My problem is so silly. I have waited about 15 minutes and didn't get an email. Everything went fine, but no email. Confirmed the email address for my account with HTC and confirmed nothing in SPAM folder. Anybody else have this issue when doing this?
  7. jwindevelopment
    Offline

    jwindevelopment New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did it 4 times in FireFox. 4th time got the email. Whatever.
  8. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Good to know. I've put that same file up before...maybe even in this thread .... GMTA
  9. spoikle
    Offline

    spoikle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hello! im trying to root my rezound, but when i try to fastboot, i get a series of prompts saying that 5 "images" are missing. is that normal?

    i accidentally tried to root using the zerg rush method before being HTC dev unlocked, and it turns out that the zerg rush that i ran wasnt compatible for my device anyway.... please help. thanks to everyone!
  10. icon23a
    Offline

    icon23a New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    cannot load Unlock_code.bin

    ok new at all of this but did the whole process and when i go to unlock this is what i get :

    C:\Windows\system32>C:\Users\HANSEN\Desktop\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools\f
    astboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin
    error: cannot load 'Unlock_code.bin'

    now i have put the unlock file in same folder as fastboot. other than that i am completely lost...tried about ten times with the same message.:mad:
  11. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    have to be in that directory first before you can fastboot, so make sure you "cd" to that directory, then once there, run "fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin."

    to "cd" (change directory) run:

    Code:
    cd C:\Users\HANSEN\Desktop\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools\ [HIT THE ENTER KEY HERE]
    [THEN YOU CAN RUN] fastboot flash unlocktoken unlock_code.bin
    if you get an error doing the first step above, do "cd .." (two periods) and hit enter two to three times until your directory is just the root of C:/>
  12. icon23a
    Offline

    icon23a New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    HOLY CRAP...I sat here for two hours going nuts and thats all i had to do...thanks just waiting for phone to reboot and then on to some ROMS...:biggrin:
  13. Ninjaneer
    Offline

    Ninjaneer New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can't get sdk to install

    Where did this file go? I've tried installing the jdk-7u4-windows-x64 driver for Windows 7 64-bit, but I can't get the sdk to install correctly. I've tried both files at Android SDK | Android Developers.

    When I run the "installer_r18-windows application" it says "Java SE DEvelopment Kit (JDK) not found. Error: Failed to find Java version for 'C:\Windows\system32\java.exe': [2] The system cannot find the file specified." I even uninstalled all Java from Control Panel (including Java FX, which I think aren't part of this).

    When I extracted the .zip and ran the sdk manager.exe, I see a command prompt window for a split second and it goes away. I can't even tell what's on it and I've run it over and over.

    Any ideas?
  14. trizzypballr
    Offline

    trizzypballr New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PA
    I believe my problem is the HTC drivers and HTC Sync. Where can I download and install that stuff at?

    Also when i choose fastboot, do I then select reboot? or do I just let it sit on that screen?
  15. HowardZ
    Offline

    HowardZ New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    ninja,

    the Android SDK might require 32 bit java.

    try installing both 64 and 32 bit java SDK

    Howard

    p.s. all you end up needing are a few files from the Android SDK. some people just distribute these files to save people the work. try hansoons all in one.
  16. Ninjaneer
    Offline

    Ninjaneer New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I googled hansoons android sdk and some other combinations, but couldn't find anything. But...htcdev.com changed the link to the Java download and it worked! It's been a while, but I knew the page looked different. The file I got before was jdk-7u4-windows-x64. This time I just clicked the big red download that appeared, thinking it was just Java for my browser, but after installing it (chromeinstall-7u5), the sdk installation worked. Now to finish the rest of the process...
  17. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
  18. stateofdenial
    Offline

    stateofdenial New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Help please, I know I have done something wrong but just cant figure out what. I type in the directory & fastboot, etc and the prompt window says waiting for phone. Can anyone please tell me what I did wrong? The phone was connected to my laptop and the phone was at the fastboot screen
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012
  19. PoWn3d_0704
    Offline

    PoWn3d_0704 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Correct me if I am wrong...

    I currently have the three needed files in a directory, I have Java on, and I have HTC Sync.
    However, HTC Sync isn't seeing my phone, and when I attempt to do the 'fastboot oem get_identifier_token' it says that it is waiting for device. My phone is unable to see HTC Sync on my PC, too. HTC Sync is fully updated.
  20. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    HTC sync needs to be stopped/turned off. Fastboot will not work with sync running on your PC whether or not it's seeing your phone.
Search tags for this page
how to unlock bootloader htc rezound
,

how to unlock htc rezound

,
how to unlock htc rezound bootloader
,
htc rezound bootloader
,
htc rezound bootloader unlock
,
htc rezound drivers
,
htc rezound unlock
,
unlock bootloader htc rezound
,
unlock bootloader rezound
,

unlock htc rezound

,

unlock htc rezound bootloader

,

unlock rezound bootloader