[HOW TO] Unlock Rezound's Bootloader [HTCdev.com]

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by macpro88, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. blulew77

    blulew77 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not sure that I understand what was done incorrectly. When I cd to parent directory: -bash: /Users/ernestphillips/Desktop/unlock: is a directory
    When I enter " ./fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin" I get:"-bash: ./fastboot: No such file or directory"

    When I enter:"Desktop/unlock/./fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin" I get:" error: cannot load 'Unlock_code.bin'"
     
  2. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    You need to "cd /Users/ernestphillips/Desktop/unlock" then do "./fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin"

    The problem was that you're executing your command from a separate directory. The problem could also be corrected by supplying the path to Unlock_code.bin like this:
    "
    Desktop/unlock/fastboot flash unlocktoken /Users/ernestphillips/Desktop/unlock/Unlock_code.bin"

     
  3. blulew77

    blulew77 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Holy cow dude! That last command worked! Thanks.
     
  4. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    No problem.
     
  5. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,455
    Likes Received:
    317
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +319
    To clarify something, "fastboot oem lock" does not relock the phone to it's previous state. It technically relocks it, but it's not the same as the factory "out of the box" lock.

    I said that like it was an FYI, but meant it more as a question... coming from the HTC Sensation (awesome phone, but back to a real carrier finally ;)), I'm very familiar with all this now, and I think that was the case with the Sensation, which is why I'm asking here.

    But the ultimate question is can HTC tell the difference, b/c the main reason you'd do that is to unvoid the warranty and send it in... if I remember right, on the Sensation, it would not say "locked", but rather "re-locked" in hboot - making it clear it had been unlocked previously.
     
  6. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    Yes, they can tell the difference cause the phone will say "RE-LOCKED" and not "LOCKED." To truly factory locked device, we need S-Off.... but depending on what is wrong with the phone, warranty will still be in place, just unlocking restricts the warranty even further. They can usually tell when someone went wrong because of the unlock or not.
     
  7. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    That would be correct. The phone will show "relocked" vs "locked" as it did in it's factory state. However HTC has gone on to say that unlocking the phone does void certain warranty situations vs the entire warranty.

    The other and more pertinent part of the argument is that HTC will almost never see your phone again. Warranty support is provided by Verizon in which case you should return your handset to them, not HTC. Verizon(as most of us know) doesn't check for locked/unlocked/relocked status. At best they check whether or not the phone has been rooted/running a custom ROM.
     
  8. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,455
    Likes Received:
    317
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +319
    Thanks for the clarification!
     
  9. jntdroid

    jntdroid Super Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,455
    Likes Received:
    317
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +319
    easier access to adb/fastboot commands

    For those (Windows users) with issues getting the SDK and JDK to install right or work right, or those that simply don't want to mess with it, there's a much easier way to have adb/fastboot commands available. To date (and I've been playing with HTC devices since the Inc1), I've seen no adverse consequences of using this instead of the entire SDK/JDK.

    Simply download this .zip and extract it to where you want to (preferably easy access), and use that as your main "/tools" folder - i.e. where you put the .bin file, recovery .img files, etc. It contains 4 files of importance for adb/fastboot:

    adb.exe
    fastboot.exe
    AdbWinApi.dll
    AdbWinUsbApi.dll

    For now, ignore the nbimg.exe file in there... but in the future we'll hopefully be able to flash custom splash screens on the Rezound, and that file can be used to create your own with the right command line.

    Mac/Smith - not trying to undercut you guys and all the hard (and awesome) work y'all have done, but this has saved me a lot of time over the years, in one of the bigger hurdles to people using adb/fastboot. If y'all see any problems with this, I'll take zero offense (and I'm serious) if you want to delete this or ignore this.
     
  10. jwindevelopment

    jwindevelopment New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My problem is so silly. I have waited about 15 minutes and didn't get an email. Everything went fine, but no email. Confirmed the email address for my account with HTC and confirmed nothing in SPAM folder. Anybody else have this issue when doing this?
     
  11. jwindevelopment

    jwindevelopment New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Did it 4 times in FireFox. 4th time got the email. Whatever.
     
  12. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    Good to know. I've put that same file up before...maybe even in this thread .... GMTA
     
Search tags for this page
how to unlock bootloader htc rezound
,

how to unlock htc rezound

,
how to unlock htc rezound bootloader
,
htc rezound bootloader
,
htc rezound drivers
,
unlock bootloader htc rezound
,
unlock bootloader rezound
,
unlock htc rezound
,
unlock htc rezound bootloader
,
unlock rezound bootloader