[HOW TO] Unlock Rezound's Bootloader [HTCdev.com]

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by macpro88, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. spoikle

    spoikle New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hello! im trying to root my rezound, but when i try to fastboot, i get a series of prompts saying that 5 "images" are missing. is that normal?

    i accidentally tried to root using the zerg rush method before being HTC dev unlocked, and it turns out that the zerg rush that i ran wasnt compatible for my device anyway.... please help. thanks to everyone!
     
  2. icon23a

    icon23a New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    cannot load Unlock_code.bin

    ok new at all of this but did the whole process and when i go to unlock this is what i get :

    C:\Windows\system32>C:\Users\HANSEN\Desktop\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools\f
    astboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin
    error: cannot load 'Unlock_code.bin'

    now i have put the unlock file in same folder as fastboot. other than that i am completely lost...tried about ten times with the same message.:mad:
     
  3. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    have to be in that directory first before you can fastboot, so make sure you "cd" to that directory, then once there, run "fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin."

    to "cd" (change directory) run:

    Code:
    cd C:\Users\HANSEN\Desktop\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools\ [HIT THE ENTER KEY HERE]
    [THEN YOU CAN RUN] fastboot flash unlocktoken unlock_code.bin
    if you get an error doing the first step above, do "cd .." (two periods) and hit enter two to three times until your directory is just the root of C:/>
     
  4. icon23a

    icon23a New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    HOLY CRAP...I sat here for two hours going nuts and thats all i had to do...thanks just waiting for phone to reboot and then on to some ROMS...:biggrin:
     
  5. Ninjaneer

    Ninjaneer New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't get sdk to install

    Where did this file go? I've tried installing the jdk-7u4-windows-x64 driver for Windows 7 64-bit, but I can't get the sdk to install correctly. I've tried both files at Android SDK | Android Developers.

    When I run the "installer_r18-windows application" it says "Java SE DEvelopment Kit (JDK) not found. Error: Failed to find Java version for 'C:\Windows\system32\java.exe': [2] The system cannot find the file specified." I even uninstalled all Java from Control Panel (including Java FX, which I think aren't part of this).

    When I extracted the .zip and ran the sdk manager.exe, I see a command prompt window for a split second and it goes away. I can't even tell what's on it and I've run it over and over.

    Any ideas?
     
  6. trizzypballr

    trizzypballr Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    PA
    Ratings:
    +0
    I believe my problem is the HTC drivers and HTC Sync. Where can I download and install that stuff at?

    Also when i choose fastboot, do I then select reboot? or do I just let it sit on that screen?
     
  7. HowardZ

    HowardZ Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    546
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +3
    ninja,

    the Android SDK might require 32 bit java.

    try installing both 64 and 32 bit java SDK

    Howard

    p.s. all you end up needing are a few files from the Android SDK. some people just distribute these files to save people the work. try hansoons all in one.
     
  8. Ninjaneer

    Ninjaneer New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I googled hansoons android sdk and some other combinations, but couldn't find anything. But...htcdev.com changed the link to the Java download and it worked! It's been a while, but I knew the page looked different. The file I got before was jdk-7u4-windows-x64. This time I just clicked the big red download that appeared, thinking it was just Java for my browser, but after installing it (chromeinstall-7u5), the sdk installation worked. Now to finish the rest of the process...
     
  9. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
  10. stateofdenial

    stateofdenial New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help please, I know I have done something wrong but just cant figure out what. I type in the directory & fastboot, etc and the prompt window says waiting for phone. Can anyone please tell me what I did wrong? The phone was connected to my laptop and the phone was at the fastboot screen
     
    #118 stateofdenial, Jun 17, 2012
    Last edited: Jun 17, 2012
  11. PoWn3d_0704

    PoWn3d_0704 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Correct me if I am wrong...

    I currently have the three needed files in a directory, I have Java on, and I have HTC Sync.
    However, HTC Sync isn't seeing my phone, and when I attempt to do the 'fastboot oem get_identifier_token' it says that it is waiting for device. My phone is unable to see HTC Sync on my PC, too. HTC Sync is fully updated.
     
  12. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    HTC sync needs to be stopped/turned off. Fastboot will not work with sync running on your PC whether or not it's seeing your phone.
     
Search tags for this page
how to unlock bootloader htc rezound
,

how to unlock htc rezound

,
how to unlock htc rezound bootloader
,
htc rezound bootloader
,
htc rezound drivers
,
unlock bootloader htc rezound
,
unlock bootloader rezound
,
unlock htc rezound
,
unlock htc rezound bootloader
,
unlock rezound bootloader