1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

[HOW TO] Unlock Rezound's Bootloader [HTCdev.com]

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by macpro88, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    [​IMG]



    First and foremost, you need to understand what you are doing:
    -You are voiding your warranty!
    -You can possibly brick (rendered useless aka expensive paperweight) your phone!​

    To avoid such:
    -Read! Read! Read!
    -If stuck, ask! ask! ask! We are all here for you!


    Lets get started shall we?



    Next, we need to visit HTC Dev and sign up for a free account if you have not done so already.

    Once you have gotten your email and have activated your HTC Dev account, we can get started!

    Now visit HTC Dev's Unlock Bootloader site.

    On the right hand side you will see the "Begin Unlock Bootloader" button. Click it!
    (Note that if you view the compatible devices, Rezound will NOT be listed, do not worry, for this method still works)​



    [​IMG]

    -Click "Yes" to continue.

    -You must accept the legal terms here, basically its saying that:
    -HTC and your carrier are NOT responsible for your actions
    -You are voiding your warranty
    -If you screw up, look to the community for help, not us, or we will charge you full price for a new phone


    [​IMG]



    Now we can finally get started! You can follow the instructions on the website, or you can follow them here. They are the same. I am simply re-posting for reference and ease of access (and making my own tweaks to better understand).



    Danger! Dragons lay ahead! This will factory reset your phone! Thus loosing everything! (It did for me at least)



    Prereqs:
    1. You followed above and have created and HTC Dev account
    2. You have the proper HTC Drivers and HTC Sync installed
    3. You have the Android SDK installed (instructions below for Windows base machines)
    4. Your Rezound is in fastboot mode, connected via USB to your computer
    5. Your Rezound has a fully charged battery
    6. The HTC Dev site instruction page open, following along, as you will need to interact with the site when it comes time, note, my instructions may be a bit different our out of order, I assure you, they are the same.​



    You will need the Android SDK installed, specifically the tools and platform tools (if you already have it installed, great, run SDK Manager and update the tools package if you have not done so in some time). Here's how:
    1. Visit Android Dev here to download the appropriate package for your computer (I will be using Windows).

    2. Select the Windows .zip package and save it.

    3. Once you have it saved, unzip it to the root of your C:\ drive, so it should look like so:
    [​IMG]

    4. Next open up "android-sdk-windows" folder and double click on "SDK Manager." You only need the following:
    [​IMG]
    -You can un-check anything else (except for maybe the Google USB Drivers, you can leave that selected).

    5. Let it do its thing, once its done, you click on close on the dialogue box and exit out of the SDK manager.

    6. You should now have a "platform-tools" folder and within that folder we are looking for three things specifically:​
    -adb.exe
    -AdbWinApi.dll​
    -fastboot.exe
    **Make sure these three files are there (yes, there are others, ignore them).


    You now have the Android SDK Platform Tools installed!
    7. Make sure your Rezound is in fastboot mode (power down the phone, battery pull (battery pull in important), power back up while holding volume down phone) and connected to your computer via USB cable. From the fastboot menu, select "Fastboot" using the power button.


    Now here is where it gets a bit confusing if you are not very tech savvy, so please follow along closely and ask if you don't understand.

    8. Open up a command prompt window (Windows Key + R as the shortcut or Start-->All Programs-->Accessories-->Command Prompt

    9. Remember where you saved your Android SDK files? We need to go there from command prompt, type the following:

    Code:
    cd C:\android\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools\
    
    (or use whatever directory you used)
    10. Then you need to type:

    Code:
    fastboot oem get_identifier_token
    11. You will get a big block of numbers and letter. This is what you need. Following along with the HTC Dev site as well, keep going through the steps until you get to this part and to the part where is asks for this block.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    IMPORTANT! You need everything including the text that reads: <<<< Identifier Token Start >>>> and <<<<< Identifier Token End >>>>>.
    (Leave the command prompt window open, you will need this still)



    Paste this info into the submit field and click on submit!



    Next, after the code is accepted, you will receive an email with a file attached, Unlock_code.bin. Download this file and save it in your Android SDK Platform Tools folder with the adb.exe and fastboot.exe files are located. If you followed how I did it, should be C:\android\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools\


    Now lets actually unlock the phone!
    12. With the command prompt window still open, type:

    Code:
    fastboot flash unlocktoken Unlock_code.bin
    13. A very beautiful screen shall pop up on the phone, asking you to unlock! Use volume button to scroll, power button to select.14. I hope that selected "Yes?" Right? I hope so!


    The Rezound you own now has an unlocked bootloader!
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011
  2. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Using Mac OS X to Unlock

    This was taken straight from here, over at xda-developers, where "xjedi" wrote up this nice write up for unlocking on a Mac







    Last edited: Jan 13, 2012
  3. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Re-locking the Bootloader & Post Unlock Resources

    To re-lock the bootloader:

    Open up the command prompt and change directory (cd) back to the folder containing the Android fastboot.exe file:

    Code:
    cd C:\android\android-sdk-windows\platform-tools\
    
    then type:
    
    fastboot oem lock

    That's it! You are now locked back up again!




    Post Unlock Resources



    *******************************
    Please post questions about the resources in those appropriate threads please. This post is meant to be a quick post for related topics.
    *******************************




    [Permanent Root for Rezound after bootloader unlock]

    [Accessing HBOOT/BOOTLOADER/FASTBOOT/RECOVERY]

    [ClockWork Mod Recovery for Rezound]

    [Amon Ra Recovery for Rezound]

    [ROMs for the Rezound after HTCDev Unlock]

    [Themes for the Rezound]
    Last edited: Feb 6, 2012
  4. *22899
    Offline

    *22899 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    For some reason I can't get this part done.

    . Next open up "android-sdk-windows" folder and double click on "SDK Manager." You only need the following:

    (MOD Edit: Removed PIC; Eating up my photobucket bandwidth allocation :D)​

    -You can un-check anything else (except for maybe the Google USB Drivers, you can leave that selected).


    5. Let it do its thing, once its done, you click on close on the dialogue box and exit out of the SDK manager.


    6. You should now have a "platform-tools" folder and within that folder we are looking for three things specifically:​

    -adb.exe
    -AdbWinApi.dll​

    -fastboot.exe
    **Make sure these three files are there (yes, there are others, ignore them).


    It just works through some things and then say's done nothing installed?


    Sorry duh. Run as admin did the trick.
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 13, 2012
  5. *22899
    Offline

    *22899 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I have lost network connection, in my wireless and network settings everything having to do with the network is grayed out. I'm factory restoring right now to see if it helps. I have to leave soon so..... any quick advice would be much appreciated!!!
  6. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    On the phone or on your computer? If on your phone give the SIM card a few minuets to activate.
  7. *22899
    Offline

    *22899 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Yea the phone. The factory reset worked I've had to do that before. I think i went into panic mode to quick because it just factory reset itself with the unlock procedure. Sorry to alarm anyone. It was scary:icon_eek:
  8. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    So are you good to go then? No issues?
  9. *22899
    Offline

    *22899 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Yes Sir!
  10. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Most Excellent! Good to hear!
  11. gmorgan056
    Offline

    gmorgan056 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    449
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Congrats Rezound users. I wish moto supported the community like HTC does.
  12. mjh68
    Offline

    mjh68 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am following this to the letter, but everytime I paste the code and hit submit I get unlock error token length invalid . I have done this 4 times now and I am at my wits end on what I could be possible doing wrong ? I count 16 lines of code not counting the start and end. Same as the example ..anyone have any ideas ? Oh to make it clear yes I am copying the start and stop lines as well..
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2011
  13. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Is the "Identifier Token" text included in the beginning and end? Make sure it is, other wise you'll get that error.
  14. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    There should also be a total of 18 lines when including the beginning and ending "Identifier Token" text.
  15. mjh68
    Offline

    mjh68 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes there are 18 when I count the beginning and ending identifier token text. So that is what is confusing, seems like I am getting the proper code so not sure why the error. Running Cleantool and being temp rooted shouldn't change anything should it ? Otherwise nothing different with my phone.
  16. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    No, this code is embedded deep within and no way you could have done anything to touch it.

    I guess look at it line for line and make sure its all there, also make sure you have nothing else but the beginning line and the code and the ending line (no other words should be present such as "bootloader" or "info" or anything like that).
  17. mjh68
    Offline

    mjh68 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    No, I am not including bootloader and I don't get info in my output , I will try it again and look again . Thanks for answering .. now the disclaimer about phones after sept 2011 not being unlockable doesn't matter correct ? I just bought my phone 2 weeks ago. Trying again.
  18. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Should not matter when you bought it, hopefully. But all Rezounds should be able to be unlocked. If you can, post a screen shot of what comes up in your command prompt window and then what you are copying and pasting into HTC's website. Wanna take a look at what's up.
  19. mjh68
    Offline

    mjh68 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2010
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
  20. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Odd... try using a different browser? Use the link from the email and use say Chrome or IE. See if you get the same result. All looks good though...
Search tags for this page
how to unlock bootloader htc rezound
,

how to unlock htc rezound

,
how to unlock htc rezound bootloader
,

htc rezound bootloader

,
htc rezound bootloader unlock
,

htc rezound drivers

,
htc rezound unlock
,
htcdev.com
,
unlock bootloader htc rezound
,

unlock bootloader rezound

,

unlock htc rezound

,

unlock htc rezound bootloader

,

unlock rezound bootloader

,
unlocking htc rezound bootloader
,
unlocking rezound