Detailed Safestrap Instructions

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by timmy10shoes, Mar 12, 2012.

  1. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have never experienced that issue, so i'm not quite sure how to fix it. I would start by uninstalling recovery thru the safestrap app and reinstalling recovery.
     
  2. amerabeans

    amerabeans New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Major Thanks to this post

    Soft Brick my Bionic, lost Radio and other features this restored me back to stock.

    Thanks

    I get more luck here than XDA
     
  3. matjmonk

    matjmonk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central VA
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've read both both threads and didn't see where this has been talked about, I'm running Eclipse 22, I uninstalled Bootstrap, installed the Safestrap APK then went through the steps in the OP to install and backup the unsafe system. I didn't wipe the safe side since I wasn't quite ready to install a new ROM yet (I'm going to install ICS4Bionic later today) and when I rebooted, all I got was a blank screen with the hardkey lights on. I let it sit like that for several minutes but it never went any further. I then did a battery pull and (with Safe side still enabled) let the Bionic reboot by letting safestrap time out, same thing. I tried another battery pull and this time I pressed the search key to skip the Safestrap menu (I know it should be the same thing as the previous step) and once again, same blank screen. Finally, I did another battery pull and went into Safestrap and reenabled the "unsafe" partition through the menu option (not quick) and again pulled the battery and restarted. This time the system booted normally. Now with the excessively long preamble out of the way, here's the questions:

    1. I'm guessing that you can't have the same ROM on both safe and unsafe partitions (especially if it's something like Eclipse), right?
    2. When I go to install ICS, I just need to enable the safe partition and then do the normal wipes and follow the install procedure, is that also right?


    Thanks in advance for any help.

    Cheers
     
  4. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    When you switch to safe, there is nothing there to boot from, hence the blank screen. You need to flash a rom after switching to safe mode.
     
  5. matjmonk

    matjmonk Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2011
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Central VA
    Ratings:
    +4
    I sort of figured it was something like that, but thanks for the information, now to see about trying ICS!
     
  6. LordRobb621

    LordRobb621 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am just an idiot, I was hitting the Quick Toggle option, which bypasses the backup process. Thanks for your help and this guide.
     
  7. kivo360

    kivo360 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I used you tools and eye_dea guided me through everything. I'm in tears for joy. For a 26 hour period, I lost my phone due to software issues - which is bad because my cell is my life - and now it's back better than before. Thanks for making tools like this, this way noobs like me can experiment with their phones and return it back to normal.
     
  8. Cdub270

    Cdub270 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just want to give a shout out to some Bad A** Folks like Timmy10shoes and Eyedea for digging me out of a mess I got myself in. I bricked my phone bad and they save me, so thanks Eyedea and his main man Timmy10 shoes, that Sh** worked and saved my BUTT. Got me back on track.

    Much Respect

    :hail::hail::hail::hail::hail::hail::hail::hail::hail::icon_ lala::hail::hail::hail::hail::hail::hail::hail::hail::hail:
     
  9. CamoCustom

    CamoCustom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2012
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks a lot for safestrap, and the guides that accompany it! I do have a question that wasnt answered at all, and really not even brought up.

    Currently: I installed safestrap, backed up stock Rooted Rom, switched to safe, flashed eclipse 2.2 for bionic on .902, things have been just perfect, no problems.

    The new OTA update for .904+ will be coming soon, what is the exact method of being able to receive that OTA update? I see the OP says I need to flash reinstall partition, would that be using safestrap or RSD lite? Or do we even have to do it at all?

    And when it comes to getting rid of ROM on safe side, how do you do it? just wipe the data? I will be needing the new eclipse for .904 so thats why I asked. Thanks, Most of this is pretty simple for me to understand, so give it to me!
     
  10. jickracer007

    jickracer007 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    step 7

    no rom zip files found!!
     
  11. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    You can find them in the full thread. The first link in the OP.
     
  12. jickracer007

    jickracer007 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    step 7

    no romzipfiles!!
     
  13. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    ok, do you need to know where to find roms?
     
  14. jickracer007

    jickracer007 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No what had happened wasn't looking to flash one just do a back up for my unsasfe, but one problem I also had was my titanium back up pro which I installed because my phone was just unbricked had CWM on it and I ran into a problem. I actually forgot that pro was even on it but Titanium pro-did what it was designed for, lol. just so if people have problems that can be an issue. the will have the black screen and have to do vrz and redo it it.
    I am on the .902 any suggestions on a decent mod. The new axiom camera issue is pretty tough to swallow
    Thanks for your feedback
     
  15. jickracer007

    jickracer007 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Reboot

    I have everything onstalled but when I hit the power=button there isn't a reboot just the regular airplane and shot off
     
Similar Threads
  1. talkinggoat
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,350
  2. nikolio
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,707
  3. bad73mav
    Replies:
    36
    Views:
    3,386
  4. slikno420
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    2,535
Loading...
Search tags for this page
how to use safestrap
,
safe system not active
,
safe system not active safestrap
,
safestrap
,
safestrap backup
,
safestrap external sd
,

safestrap instructions

,

safestrap safe system not active

,
safestrap says safe system not active
,
using safestrap