Question about Bootstrap Method

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by goosed, May 3, 2012.

  1. goosed

    goosed New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Question about Safestrap Method

    I've been reading up on how to use the Safestrap method, and just had a few questions. From what I understand, the Safestrap method sets a safe and non-safe mode for your phone. Now after you install Safestrap, do you need root access to install a rom to the safe system? Or by installing Safestrap , are you allowing this?

    Also when you do flash a rom (Eclipse for example) I see that you need to wipe all data in order to do so. When you do this, will you lose things like your contacts/applications? And are you able to toggle between your safe/nonsafe system? Thank you.
     
  2. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
  3. goosed

    goosed New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes, my bad. That is one of the links I was reading. My questions still apply to that though. Thanks for the correction timmy.
     
  4. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    You need root to flash safestrap recovery. You always need to wipe data & cache when flashing a new rom, but you will not lose your data on the unsafe side. Yes, you can toggle between safe and unsafe. And when you do toggle between sides it automatically back-ups and restores data
     
  5. goosed

    goosed New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay, so before doing anything I would still need to root the phone.

    And as far as booting goes, any settings I currently have on my phone will be unavailable when using the safe system. To go back to my stock system, I would need to boot to the nonsafe system right?

    Thanks again.
     
  6. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    You need to root first. You will be flashing a different rom on your safe side, and since you need to wipe cache and data (i wipe system also), everything will be new. Everything on your unsafe side is untouched, execpt the preinstall partition. Thats where the 2nd rom is installed.
     
  7. goosed

    goosed New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I also had a question about rooting the device. I haven't seen anything that can unroot the .902 version. Will this be a problem?
     
  8. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    I'm kinda lost with that question. You need to be rooted to flash the recovery. And if you need to lose root, you can wipe the cache and flash the system with moto-fastboot (as long as your stock) if your on a custom rom, you'll need to wipe userdata also.
     
  9. goosed

    goosed New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well with like my Android tablet, I can turn root on or off. I haven't seen an option like this for the Bionic, and I was just wondering if it would be an issue in rooting the phone.
     
  10. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    Still confused. If your rooted already, no need to root again. If you aren't rooted, use moto-fail to root. I don't know why you want to turn root on and off, but you can use OTA rootkeeper to mask root. But you'll still be rooted.
     
  11. goosed

    goosed New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you fill me in a little more on OTA rootkeeper? This sounds interesting.
     
  12. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    Its in the market, check it out. I've never personally used it.
     
  13. goosed

    goosed New Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well sounds good. Going to give the motofail a shot. Thanks for your help timmy. Much appreciated.
     
  14. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    Your welcome, anytime man
     
  15. eye_dea

    eye_dea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +9
    It allows you temp unroot and/or restore root while upgrading your system version.
     
Search tags for this page

what is bootstrap android