Detailed Safestrap Instructions

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by timmy10shoes, Mar 12, 2012.

  1. tuckmobile

    tuckmobile New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I only included that extra step so that n00bs will see how to do cache/dalvik wipes. Totally unnecessary, but very instructional.
     
  2. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    It is worth it to keep every bit of info in there for the noobs, since thats who the guide is for.
     
  3. sigshane

    sigshane New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys. I have been off the scene for awhile, after up(?)grading from a Droid X to an iPhone.

    Anyway, I am trading my iPhone for a Bionic (after returning to my senses!), and I have a few questions about this process:

    1)do you still have to do a separate root, or is that part of the safestrap process?
    2)is the sbf method still used to return to full stock - or was it ever used for bionic?
    3)has this process been known to 'brick' bionics, via either fubar'ed installs or other reasons?

    Greatly appreciate answers to these. And if this kind of question makes me a n00b, then so be it :-D

    Shane
     
  4. eye_dea

    eye_dea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +9
    All great questions. I could answer them half-assed, but instead I will let the man (timmy10shoes) address them appropriately.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  5. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    Question 1) you need to root separately, google moto-fail. Safestrap is just a alternate recovery like bootstrap but with dual-boot capabilities.
    2)Its called a fxz now. Pretty much the same as a sbf. You can use rsd lite to flash the fxz or use moto-fastboot to flash any image individually
    3) As with any root procedures there is always a change you could soft-brick your device. That being said 99% of issues are user errors.
     
  6. tuckmobile

    tuckmobile New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Timmy10shoes speaks the truth. When you're ready to take the plunge, checkout my n00b guide here.
     
  7. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    Please do check out tuckmobile's guide. He has taken a great deal of time to compile a well documented guide on rooting and how to go about it.
     
  8. jrtwin

    jrtwin New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Bionic that I tried to flash to the new ICS from Liberty. As I flashed all went it seemed fine until I restarted it, it pulled up the new OS but with no signal/connection. When I flashed it back using RDS Lite I got errors trying to flash the Liberty 2.0 901 build. Now when booting the phone it does not pass the splash screen and will not load to the stock recovery. It will however boot to the flash mode but fails out upon flashing. Any ideas?
     
  9. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    yes, hit me up on google chat, timmy10shoes@gmail.com
     
  10. Nedaroth

    Nedaroth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Long Beach, Ca
    Ratings:
    +1
    my safestrap seams to have gone south on me, today i could not toggle to safe mode. first problem as it has been great. any way to fix?
     
  11. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    You can try to unistall recovery and reinstall, if you made a back-up of your safe side, do a quick toggle to safe and flash the back-up. But back-up your unsafe first, because it will not save data when you quick toggle so you'll need to restore your back-up when switching to your unsafe side.
     
  12. Nedaroth

    Nedaroth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Long Beach, Ca
    Ratings:
    +1
    No luck same result, do i need to unroot and then reroot and start all over??
     
  13. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    Unrooting and rerooting won't change anything. Uninstall recovery thru the app, erase the safestrap folder on your sdcard and reinstall recovery. You will lose your safe romdata but that usually works.
     
  14. Nedaroth

    Nedaroth Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Long Beach, Ca
    Ratings:
    +1

    Thanks timmy worked perfect:hail:
     
  15. DroidBionicNewToRoot

    DroidBionicNewToRoot New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Help

    I just used safestrap and am booting up using safe system I'm wondering how long it should take I've been at a black screen with the lights on for about 5 minutes
     
Similar Threads
  1. talkinggoat
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,403
  2. nikolio
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,808
  3. bad73mav
    Replies:
    36
    Views:
    3,585
  4. slikno420
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    2,710
Loading...
Search tags for this page
how to use safestrap
,
safe system not active
,
safe system not active safestrap
,
safestrap
,
safestrap backup
,
safestrap external sd
,

safestrap instructions

,

safestrap safe system not active

,
safestrap says safe system not active
,
using safestrap