Detailed Safestrap Instructions

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by timmy10shoes, Mar 12, 2012.

  1. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Hashcode. He's a member of this forum.

    Sent from my XT862 using Tapatalk
     
  2. rlervin

    rlervin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When backing up a rom installed on the safe system should the primary system be included in the backup? I assume not but I wasn't sure.
     
  3. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    Its a matter of preference. If you do, it will give you the choose to restore the original systm when restoring your safe rom.
     
  4. rlervin

    rlervin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. I made a backup of it before switching to safe mode so I have one.
     
  5. libertus77

    libertus77 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Timmy, and I'll ask tuck mobile too, but I was just reading over op and wondering if the cache wipe can't just be removed from the steps. It's not a big deal in any case, just an extra step, as I stopped doing it when I looked and saw that /cache was formatted as part of the wipe data/factory reset step. Just a thought. Anything to streamline procedures.

    Thanks to you guys for keeping this reference going!

    Sent from my NookColor flavored Ice Cream Sandwich using Tapatalk
     
  6. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah, if you do a factory reset it formats data/cache and dalvik cache. So those steps are not needed. Some habits are hard to break. :)
     
  7. tuckmobile

    tuckmobile New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I only included that extra step so that n00bs will see how to do cache/dalvik wipes. Totally unnecessary, but very instructional.
     
  8. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    It is worth it to keep every bit of info in there for the noobs, since thats who the guide is for.
     
  9. sigshane

    sigshane New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys. I have been off the scene for awhile, after up(?)grading from a Droid X to an iPhone.

    Anyway, I am trading my iPhone for a Bionic (after returning to my senses!), and I have a few questions about this process:

    1)do you still have to do a separate root, or is that part of the safestrap process?
    2)is the sbf method still used to return to full stock - or was it ever used for bionic?
    3)has this process been known to 'brick' bionics, via either fubar'ed installs or other reasons?

    Greatly appreciate answers to these. And if this kind of question makes me a n00b, then so be it :-D

    Shane
     
  10. eye_dea

    eye_dea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +9
    All great questions. I could answer them half-assed, but instead I will let the man (timmy10shoes) address them appropriately.

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  11. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    Question 1) you need to root separately, google moto-fail. Safestrap is just a alternate recovery like bootstrap but with dual-boot capabilities.
    2)Its called a fxz now. Pretty much the same as a sbf. You can use rsd lite to flash the fxz or use moto-fastboot to flash any image individually
    3) As with any root procedures there is always a change you could soft-brick your device. That being said 99% of issues are user errors.
     
  12. tuckmobile

    tuckmobile New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Timmy10shoes speaks the truth. When you're ready to take the plunge, checkout my n00b guide here.
     
Similar Threads
  1. talkinggoat
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,716
  2. nikolio
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,190
  3. bad73mav
    Replies:
    36
    Views:
    4,458
  4. slikno420
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    3,106
Loading...
Search tags for this page
hash codes safestrap
,
how to enable safestrap
,
safestrap
,
safestrap external sd
,

safestrap instructions

,

safestrap safe system not active

,
safestrap says safe system not active
,
safe system not active
,
safe system not active safestrap
,
using safestrap