Detailed Safestrap Instructions

Discussion in 'Droid Bionic Hacks' started by timmy10shoes, Mar 12, 2012.

  1. eye_dea

    eye_dea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +9
    Good deal. Are you able to toggle back to unsafe and then back to safe mode?
     
  2. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    Updated the OP a bit. Please don't reinstall safestrap on the safe side and install recovery again or use the boot recovery in eclipse or the ICS roms in the power prompt.
     
  3. scarinu10

    scarinu10 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I went to unsafe. Removed the ROM and safe strap completely. Re installed age strap then eclipse. I haven't tried to toggle. I have noneed to. Sorry should have been more clear

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  4. scarinu10

    scarinu10 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ignore the other post up a couple. But I installed kin3tx. Stupid auto correct. Didn't like that ROM so I'm back on eclipse. All is going well now

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  5. eye_dea

    eye_dea Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2012
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Ratings:
    +9
    Dont let titanium backup reinstall the app?

    Sent from my DROID BIONIC using DroidForums
     
  6. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    No I think he means don't "install recovery" inside the app.

    Sent from my XT862 using Tapatalk
     
  7. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    That is correct. But I wouldn't even reinstall the app at all since there is no reason to have it on your safe side.
     
  8. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    I still like to see it. ;)

    lol
     
  9. scarinu10

    scarinu10 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm trying to install ICS axiom cm9 using safestrap. it's going well. i hate my bionic, it's turned me into a rooting maniac... in 24 hours i have had eclipse, returned my phone to stock due to the issues described earlier. had kin3tx with a theme i can't remember, then back to eclipse with titanium theme, then core-droid, now to ics i go.

    who should i thank for making safestrap, would that be you timmy?
     
  10. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    Hashcode. He's a member of this forum.

    Sent from my XT862 using Tapatalk
     
  11. rlervin

    rlervin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    When backing up a rom installed on the safe system should the primary system be included in the backup? I assume not but I wasn't sure.
     
  12. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    Its a matter of preference. If you do, it will give you the choose to restore the original systm when restoring your safe rom.
     
  13. rlervin

    rlervin New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. I made a backup of it before switching to safe mode so I have one.
     
  14. libertus77

    libertus77 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Timmy, and I'll ask tuck mobile too, but I was just reading over op and wondering if the cache wipe can't just be removed from the steps. It's not a big deal in any case, just an extra step, as I stopped doing it when I looked and saw that /cache was formatted as part of the wipe data/factory reset step. Just a thought. Anything to streamline procedures.

    Thanks to you guys for keeping this reference going!

    Sent from my NookColor flavored Ice Cream Sandwich using Tapatalk
     
  15. timmy10shoes

    timmy10shoes Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Owatonna, MN
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yeah, if you do a factory reset it formats data/cache and dalvik cache. So those steps are not needed. Some habits are hard to break. :)
     
Similar Threads
  1. talkinggoat
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,354
  2. nikolio
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,709
  3. bad73mav
    Replies:
    36
    Views:
    3,396
  4. slikno420
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    2,553
Loading...
Search tags for this page
how to use safestrap
,
safe system not active
,
safe system not active safestrap
,
safestrap
,
safestrap backup
,
safestrap external sd
,

safestrap instructions

,

safestrap safe system not active

,
safestrap says safe system not active
,
using safestrap