1. DroidForums.net is currently undergoing a major software upgrade. If you are experiencing any problems logging in please: Contact Us

CM 6.1 RC3 Kernel question

Discussion in 'Koush' started by Hiroshika, Nov 1, 2010.

  1. Hiroshika
    Offline

    Hiroshika New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sooooo, any plans to support other kernels, like Chevys perhaps? I miss my ulv.
    Every time i flash anything pretty much other than Slayhers kernels i get a bootloop. Any fixes, workarounds, or suggestions for another ulv kernel that WILL work with this rom?

    I love the rom, but im using Slayhers 1ghz 1.6 kernel (which appears to be the only one that doesnt cause a bootloop) and my phone was dead by lunch. With pretty much no use either. (thats 4ish hours of sitting idle in my pocket with wifi off and 3g on) Normally i have around 80-90% by the time schools over. It was completely dead by then. And i even had setCPU set up to under-clock to 250mhz on sleep! Whats the deal?
  2. SurraTT
    Offline

    SurraTT New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    +1 i tried to flash a diff kernal and bootlooped every time.

    Waiting to do 6.1 after support of Chevy kernals
  3. Kanibull
    Offline

    Kanibull New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2010
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Chevy's 1.2ulv works for me on rc3. So does sapphires and jdlfg.slayhers work for me with the wifi fix. I haven't tried p3's
  4. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just flashed a Sapphire kernel to CM 6.1 RC3 and seems to be working fine so far. Cleared just cache in clockworkmod before flashing it. No bootloop.

    Sapphire kernels:

    http://files.ccroms.net/sapphire/froyo/kernels/

    Update: well maybe not. when I turned on wifi via the power control it rebooted and now may be stuck in a boot loop. lol
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2010
  5. mojo_droid
    Offline

    mojo_droid Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The only kernal that i have been able to get to work for me are slayhers, which is an issue most people seem to be having. I tried 1.2lv chevy kernal on rc2 and rc3 and it didnt work for me :(. maybe ill try the ulv to see if that works

    would be nice to use other kernals for my phone though, im a fans of chevys as well.
  6. Hiroshika
    Offline

    Hiroshika New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a hunch that they arent working properly because the android version is 2.2.1. I could be wrong but kernels seem to be version specific, as there are eclair kernels and froyo ones.
  7. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sapphire v1.1.4 which is android 2.2.1 works with the latest Sapphire kernels.
  8. Hiroshika
    Offline

    Hiroshika New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Does it work with chevy's?
  9. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried flashing one of chevy's to Sapphire 1.1.1 and it bootlooped.

    Restoring CM 6.1 RC3 w/stock kernel clockworkmod backup now. Might try one of P3Droid's next flashed to CM 6.1 RC3:

    P3Droid Kernels

    Update: installed P3Droid 900lv kernel from link above for Android 2.2 and works so far. WIFI turned on from Power Control in CM no problem. I don't use comcache so I don't care if it works. Just looking to see how battery life is using another kernel and overclock a bit more.
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2010
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    I ran the 8-1 ULV 1.1 kernel with every CM build I've flashed up till I tried the RC-2. It's not 2.2.1, it's all the added stuff or possibly an even lower voltage in the LV/ULV.

    SlayHer 1.6 LV1.1GHz kernel runs on mine, but it heats up faster and the battery discharges slightly faster.

    However, compcache is the tradeoff. For the moment I can live with it.
  11. Hiroshika
    Offline

    Hiroshika New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Whats the big deal about compcache?
  12. mojo_droid
    Offline

    mojo_droid Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    well chevy 1.2ulv didnt work for me, but sapphire's 1.2lv kernal did
  13. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    furbearingmammal seems to like it :) comcache slowed my phone down after a few days when I used it on Sapphire which required a reboot to get things running ok again.
  14. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sapphire 900lv kernel started bootlooping after turning on WIFI for me. Same exact kernel I ran with my phone and Sapphire 1.x.x for months.
  15. mojo_droid
    Offline

    mojo_droid Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    367
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    spoke to soon, sapphires kernal is now causing random reboots for me (after turning on wifi), but i didnt get a bootloop

    In the past ive used chevys kernals and sapphires kernals with no issue
  16. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
  17. jerroedr
    Offline

    jerroedr New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    compcache is the ish. and theres a way to keep it running smooth and turn on every reboot im getting 16-1700s with the 1.2 slayher kernel clocked down to 1.1
  18. Doc_PT
    Offline

    Doc_PT New Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2010
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I tried Slayher. 1.0 w/ wifi fix but couldn't get it to work, Sapphire 's lv. 1.0 bootlooped and so did Chevy's ulv 1.0. Luckily the stock kernel is pretty snappy.
  19. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    P3Droid 900lv kernel running good so far. I don't use comcache since my experience with comcache on Sapphire was better without it.

    CM 6.1 RC3 with P3Droid 900lv kernel is fast and smooth. Perhaps even better then Slayher 900lv :) Will have to see how battery life goes compared to stock kernel or Slayher 900lv kernel.

    As far as slow redraws. Turning on the Cyanogenmod Settings performance option to keep the current home app in memory fixes that for me running LauncherPro v0.8.1.1
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2010
  20. Hiroshika
    Offline

    Hiroshika New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm hoping chevys kernel compatibility is fixed soon, because slayhers kernels have HORRIBLE battery life, compared to my normal 1ghz ulv chevy kernel! Even with a 125mhz sleep policy...
    Oh, and compcache is amazing. Why doesnt android use it by default in the first place?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
Search tags for this page

koush cm 6.1 kernel