Cm 6.1 rc2 ??

Discussion in 'Koush' started by wingdo, Oct 30, 2010.

  1. wingdo
    Offline

    wingdo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +1
    Koush's site has RC2 posted.

    Index of /motorola/sholes

    Not sure what's up with that as I've not seen a tweet or anything about it.

    Edit: A posting was made a few minutes ago on Cyanogen's forums. It's quite official.
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2010
  2. buckmarble
    Offline

    buckmarble Developer Theme Developer Developer

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,623
    Likes Received:
    64
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Ratings:
    +65
    It's on rom manager too

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  3. wingdo
    Offline

    wingdo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Chicago
    Ratings:
    +1
    Installed w/o issue. Much better initial setup than RC1.

    Yeah, i sent this via tapatalk. You got a problem with that?
     
  4. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    Took the Cyanogen mod plunge! Fired up ROM Manager, downloaded Cyanogen 6.1 RC2 and Google apps, then selected backup current ROM (my trusty Sapphire 1.1.1) and wipe data/cache. Phone then rebooted into clockworkmod and backed up, wiped data/cache and installed CM. Logged into google, phone proceeded to sync and automatically downloaded and installed 57 of 58 my market apps. The one app that did not restore was terminal emulator by Jack Palevich (getting "install unsuccessful" on that one).

    Wow! I mean WOW! Does this ROM have customization options or what... AMAZING!!! :icon_ banana::icon_ banana::icon_ banana:

    This is what a custom ROM should be!
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2010
  5. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    I just spent an hour getting my new kernel set up. UGH!

    I guess I'll be flashing this soon.
     
  6. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Oh, and if it goes up on THAT site it's official. That's Koush's personal stash.

    So stop being so paranoid! ;)
     
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2010
  7. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    CM includes a terminal emulator.

    It's an older version, but it's there. If you want a new one I can link you to the terminal commands, or you can use root explorer (if you have it).
     
  8. wilderside
    Offline

    wilderside New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know if the perfect smoked glass theme will work on this? I installed 6.1 RC1 and when I put the theme on it boot looped. I tried installing 6.0 and it boot looped as well. I did a full wipe on both installs and had the rom up and running fine before applying the theme. Anyone else have this problem?

    WiLdErSiDe
     
  9. droiddadi
    Offline

    droiddadi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    Messages:
    222
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    All the issues from rc1 fixed. Adfree is working fine now. Some of the apps that were missing in rc1 are showing up now

    Perfect so far

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  10. UNC
    Offline

    UNC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Fayettenam,NC
    Ratings:
    +1
    Well the first RC was a disaster for me. So I hope this one is better... Atleast it gave me time to flash the newest Miui (which is actually awesome!!!)
     
  11. droidkevlar
    Offline

    droidkevlar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    NICE! I just got back from a halloween party, so ill be charging and then flashing this baby. Cant wait!
     
  12. captdroid
    Offline

    captdroid Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,797
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +17
    Unfortunately :( The My Verizon app is force closing on this ROM using the stock kernel or even Slayers kernel. Tried clearing the data for the app, reinstalling, making sure it is not on the SDcard, etc. Force close. Reverting back to Sapphire 1.1.1 for now. I can't have apps force closing that I know should work.
     
  13. SnoDrtRider
    Offline

    SnoDrtRider Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey & Tug Hill, New York
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just downloaded the .zip file from Koushes site... Can I just rename the file to update.zip and install using SPR? Do I also need the gapps file?
    Last time I used ROM manager was right after the FRG22D OTA and it kept re-installing the stock recovery so I switched back to SPR and the Motocache rooting files.
    Has ROM manager been updated to avoid the automatic installation of stock recovery at boot?
     
  14. Jmart922
    Offline

    Jmart922 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    352
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Using rc2, great options! Can't wait til final build is released, super fast
     
  15. jerroedr
    Offline

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    so if you already rewrote the file to get compcache to start every boot up what does that mean when i update to rc2?
     
Search tags for this page

cyanogenmod 6.1 a855 download