CM 6.1 RC released for the DROID

Discussion in 'Koush' started by droidkevlar, Oct 28, 2010.

  1. jhuntdog

    jhuntdog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kansas City, Kansas
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do have market app, but plenty of other issues with RC0. Missing several apps, cannot install via market nor via Titanium. I have tried several methods without success:

    1. Install RC0 and Gapps 1025 over build 160 without wipe - problems, no twitter, etc
    2. Install RC0 over build 160 without wipe - problems, no twitter, etc
    3. Full wipe, clean install RC0 w/ gapps 1025 - no twitter, etc
    4. Full wipe, clean install stock CM 6.0 stock with it's older gapps; downloaded all apps from market and made sure they were installed and accessible via Titanium; reboot into recovery and installed RC0 - problems persisting, no twitter, etc

    I should probably get back to work...
     
  2. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you have gapps 1025, flash an older version. This seems to be causing all the issues. Once I flashed an older gapps set, all my issues from fc'ing went away.

    If you are coming from a previous build of CM with gapps 1025, flash an older set, and tehn install the RC. The last 10 or so nightlies including the RC have a script that will carry over certain system apps like market, gmail, etc.

    If you are coming from another ROM, I would recommend doing a complete wipe, install RC, then gapps (anything but 1025) and you will be good to go. Doing this has not caused any fc's for me.
     
  3. Sandso9

    Sandso9 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2010
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    noticed the same thing, any way to make them install?
     
  4. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
  5. ChefGregg89

    ChefGregg89 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    there any on theme?
     
  6. jhuntdog

    jhuntdog Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Kansas City, Kansas
    Ratings:
    +0
    @droidkevlar. Thanks for the tips. This fixes FC issues, as far as I can tell. Are you able to install/use twitter, tweetdeck, shazam, or some of the other trouble apps?

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App. CM nightlies.
     
    #54 jhuntdog, Oct 29, 2010
    Last edited: Oct 30, 2010
  7. droidkevlar

    droidkevlar Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I dont use any of those apps. But it stopped my TB and market fc'ing and then stopped the bootloops as well. After an hour of testing last night, that is how I came to the conclusion it was the 1025 gapps that was causing it all.

    If you did what I said, it should work for you. Report back. And good luck.
     
  8. neilrl79

    neilrl79 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cecil County MD
    Ratings:
    +1
    I've been running this for a couple hours and the only issue i had was that the market didn't auto download my apps. I used Titanium to restore tho.

    I installed chevy's lv 1.2 kernel, heres my Quadrant score
    [​IMG]
     
  9. jellybean420

    jellybean420 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +0
    Now we just need some themes :)

    Love the power widget in the notification bar.
     
  10. 04CiviCon20s

    04CiviCon20s Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    952
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Meffa, MA
    Ratings:
    +0
    So can the Gapps.zip file from Sapphire 1.1.1 be used with CM6.1 to avoid the 1025 gapps issue?
     
  11. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,082
    Likes Received:
    365
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +448
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Possibly, but I wouldn't suggest trying it without a Nandroid or Clockwork backup. And make it manually, not from ROM Manager if you're using RM.
     
  12. 04CiviCon20s

    04CiviCon20s Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2010
    Messages:
    952
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Meffa, MA
    Ratings:
    +0

    Oh yea..Backup is my favorite word. I have a couple of my favorite roms always on tap if I mess up an install. I didnt read anywhere in here that any suggestions of which gapps file that is recommended for Cm6.1..What's a brother to Do:icon_eek::icon_eek::icon_eek:
     
Search tags for this page
gapps cm6.1droid
,
kan ged xoomroot stingray motorola
,

mirror 1 kan ged xoom root stingray motorola