Some basic facts about CM/Koush

Discussion in 'Koush' started by PDR447, Apr 16, 2010.

  1. pdroid

    pdroid Silver Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2010
    Messages:
    2,252
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Philly
    Ratings:
    +7
    You can reflash SPR from ROM Manager...

    BUT...

    If you have a good working state I would make a backup of it in clockwork (via ROM Manager). If something fouls up such that all you can do is boot into recovery it will be much harder to reflash SPR from there (guess you have to do it thru ADB).
     
  2. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok so I flashed Clockwork Recovery, downloaded Cyanogen 5.0.6.2(Does it usually take everything longer to do in CWR?). I am up and running, but now when I go to Rom Manager, everything is grayed out, like before I flashed CWRecovery. So no options are available, including being able to flash back to SPrecovery. I hate to say it but I think I like SPRecovery so much better.
     
  3. utkanos

    utkanos Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    chitown
    Ratings:
    +0
    If I am reading this right you'll need to flash CWR again since you put a new ROM on it. Just go back into CWR and click on the very top button.
     
  4. forkup

    forkup Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2009
    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Premium options are grayed out until you purchase the premium license for Rom Manager which is well worth the money I might add. This gives you access to custom themes and other goodies.
     
  5. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I still have CW recovery so I don't see why I would need to flash it again. But I just used the backup I made, of Jrummy's before I installed the new rom, and all of my options are back. I dunno I might stick with SPRecovery, it is wayyy faster.
     
    #17 JCo352, Apr 19, 2010
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2010
  6. JCo352

    JCo352 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,825
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Texas
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes I understand that, I'm saying it grayed out everything, but the option to flash clockwork. In other words, it went back to the state it was in, when I first dl'd rom manager.
     
  7. RoLa

    RoLa Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2010
    Messages:
    874
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    801
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try menu settings advanced mode
     
  8. supersaki

    supersaki Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've noticed it does this everytime I flash a new ROM. Doesn't matter if I wipe or not. No biggie, however, just reflash clockwork recovery again.
     
  9. Dilligaf

    Dilligaf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, help me out here ... ;-)

    I'm running rooted 2.0.1. Downloaded and installed ROM Manager. Backed up my previous install using it (backup appears to have run just fine).

    Downloaded the ESE81 rooted stock 2.1 ROM.

    Tried to flash it. CMR gave me the option to wipe data (the first time, I did not check this option, the second I did - no difference), then the option to reboot into Recovery and flash the ROM. It did reboot, got past the "M" logo, got the triangle-! screen (no progress bar) - then - hang. I let it sit for 10 minutes both times, then hit the power button twice. Phone rebooted fine, but nothing was done - back to the previous state (2.0.1); all apps still present.

    (1) What am I doing wrong?
    (2) How long SHOULD it take to flash the new ROM?
    (3) If I do get this installed, how do I get Google Apps?

    Thanks - and pardon the n00bish questions.
    Bob
     
  10. hookerdj

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
    lol you are a little confused after you download what you want it will come to a box that says wipe data or what not after you hit that it should start to install all by itself there ius no need to hit reboot into recovery




     
  11. hookerdj

    hookerdj Senior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,809
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    Ratings:
    +0
  12. Dilligaf

    Dilligaf Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    SoCal, USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hmmmm...well, I just updated CMR to 1.8.1.3 and it worked. Flashed the new ROM. Checked Settings and I'm now on 2.1, with build "ESE 81 by Pete" - so we're all good.

    I'm not seeing the five panels we're supposed to have on 2.1, just the three I had before. ??? Live wallpapers work, though.

    Thanks!
     
    #24 Dilligaf, May 2, 2010
    Last edited: May 2, 2010
Search tags for this page

koush android bio