[HOW TO] Unlock Rezound's Bootloader [HTCdev.com]

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by macpro88, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. Chouki84
    Offline

    Chouki84 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah OK, good to know, thanks! Excuse my ignorance, but other than freezing bloatware, what other benefits are there to rooting for a non-programmer like myself? I know there are some tether programs that require a phone to be rooted, but what other stuff would it open up?
  2. idiotekniQues
    Offline

    idiotekniQues New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    also non-programmer guy here. for now i just unlocked and rooted to freeze all the bloatware. i also now cna use ADFree, which pretty much blocks ads coming from any free app. like say Craigslist. before root and Adfree I always had ads on the bottom. now nothing. the other thing is SetCPU. let's you have some control of your processor speed in various situations, which can save battery life.

    besides that and tether to me the advantage is being able to install custom ROMs down the road. everytime you install a new ROM i understand it's like a factory reset, as essentially you are installing a new custom OS. restoring all my programs and the such is not so hard with all the programs out now but nevertheless it is annoying enough that i don't want to do it often - so i am going to wait until some really good ROMS come out. another benefit is that someone will probably create an Ice Cream Sandwich ROM for the rezound far before HTC releases an OTA one. and a community ICS ROM wilil likely be without Sense and bloat on it.

    so for now, to me its for freezing bloat, blocking ads, using a couple proggies but really waiting for a month or two for some killer ROMS to come out.
  3. Chouki84
    Offline

    Chouki84 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ah I see, I'll have to get on that then, thanks for the info!
  4. HeyNiko
    Offline

    HeyNiko New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    First off, a big Thank You and Kudos to all those dedicated Admins and major Contributors to the DroidForums! You guys rock!

    Was about to start the unlocking process for the Rezound but immediately stopped at the HTC waiver dialog box: "....unlocking the bootloader will delete all personal data from your device including applications, text messages and personalized settings."

    View attachment 45548

    I have backup the Rezound by using "CleanTOOL 2.1.1" (provides temp root), Titanium Backup (sync'ed with droppbox) and SuperUser. But the above statement "...delete all personal data..." come on really?
  5. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Yeah I don't know the real reason behind that but I'm guessing its needed to finish the unlock process otherwise it would not do it.... All well, what can we do...

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using Tapatalk
  6. Ja5on L
    Offline

    Ja5on L New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I went through the entire process step by step, and when I reboot and go back to the screen that is listed above, mine still says "Locked" I just got this phone today. This isn't my first time doing this but the only time I have went back and looked and bam, still locked.
  7. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    If you went through this step by step and followed along with the HTC Dev site as well you should be unlocked.

    Did you get your unlocked token file emailed to you? And are using the proper command in fastboot (with phone in fastboot mode as well, not bootloader)?
  8. Ja5on L
    Offline

    Ja5on L New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yep got all that, followed the step by step, it took me to the screen where I have to agree to the terms and this voids my warranty etc, had to choose yes and hit power, the phone rebooted. So I was like cool I will go ahead and try and root, it didn't do anything I noticed SU was no where to be found on the phones program list's so I was like well that is strange so I loaded TI backup since I have purchased it before, The root auth fails. So I jumped back to the beginning and rebooted went into fast boot and where the guy above says "unlocked" mine says Locked still.

    Not really sure if I missed something or what happened but step by step my phone looked like the pics and directions in the post.
  9. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    So you did in fact get into the screen on the phone that lets you make the choice to unlock or not? And you are sure you selected the "Unlock" option and used the power button to select it? If you got this far... you should be unlocked... can't think of any reason why you would not be...

    Also, I noticed under your avatar that you say you have a Bionic, this process is for the HTC Rezound only.
  10. Ja5on L
    Offline

    Ja5on L New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, Verizon gave me a Rezound after about 6 Bionics in 8 weeks long story. I'm sure I choose unlock with the volume key then pressed power. Say's it's a no go, done it 3 times now.
  11. Ja5on L
    Offline

    Ja5on L New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2011
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I guess #5 was a charm, worked and rooted.
  12. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Updated the first three posts, added Mac OS X instructions in the second post for Mac users! Third post contains links to post unlock resources.
  13. inakushcloud
    Offline

    inakushcloud New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    everytime i try to enter the command prompt ut it just says waiting for the device and when i click on fastboot on the device it doesnt do anything
  14. Insidious
    Offline

    Insidious New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1,034
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Going to be doing this sooner rather than later. If I screw up is there any sort of stock recovery image I can push?

    Sent from my ADR6425LVW using DroidForums
  15. thurst0n
    Offline

    thurst0n New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just felt I should post this. When I do this. I lose all service until I went on verizons site and enter my phones ID thing listed under the battery. After doing that service comes back.. maybe that's what a full factory reset is (but I thought a normal reset will still retain activation/service) i'm pretty sure I didn't do anything wrong during the process as i had no bumps in the road, but wanted to share this with people incase anyone starts freaking out. Not only did I have to reinstall all apps and resetup my google account etc. I also had to reactivate service..
  16. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    You can do everything short of switching phone hardware(or LTE Sim) and you should still be active on the network.
  17. McClellan
    Offline

    McClellan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just ordered my rezound trying to get all the stuff set up for root it will be here in a few days. My questions may seem kinda dumb, but to be completely safe I am gonna ask anyway first I installed the zip version for windows everything seemed to install fine though I do not have the java jdk installed, I know I dont have it installed because I originally started installing the .exe version and aborted after it asked. so my question is do I need to install it and redo the sdk process ?
    My other question is when removing the battery do you put it back in or do you run it off the USB without the battery or is that even possible ?
    I have successfully rooted my last phone an incredible so I am familiar somewhat I am just really paranoid and want to make sure I have everything correct
  18. MrSmith317
    Offline

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,577
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    I don't believe I had JRE installed when I unlocked. I don't know but I swear it's not necessary. If you drop by XDA, you'll find the tools you need for unlocking in the developer thread. I've dropped them around here somewhere as well. On the battery thing, as long as you disable fastboot you can do the same process by simply turning your phone off rather than doing a battery pull. So if you choose to pull the battery, you can put the battery/cover back on.
  19. McClellan
    Offline

    McClellan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can you unlock the bootloader without activating the service on the phone ???
  20. macpro88
    Offline

    macpro88 DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    I don't see why not, you don't need a data connection to unlock the phone.
Search tags for this page
how to unlock bootloader htc rezound
,

how to unlock htc rezound

,
how to unlock htc rezound bootloader
,

htc rezound bootloader

,
htc rezound bootloader unlock
,

htc rezound drivers

,
htc rezound unlock
,
htcdev.com
,
unlock bootloader htc rezound
,

unlock bootloader rezound

,

unlock htc rezound

,

unlock htc rezound bootloader

,

unlock rezound bootloader

,
unlocking htc rezound bootloader
,
unlocking rezound