[HOW TO] Unlock Rezound's Bootloader [HTCdev.com]

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by macpro88, Dec 28, 2011.

  1. McClellan

    McClellan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    well im trying to unlock it I made it to the end and it says:
    error: cannot load 'Unlock_code.bin' so I dunno what I'm doin wrong please help
     
  2. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    did you place the unlock_code.bin file in the same directory as fastboot?
     
  3. McClellan

    McClellan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah its in the platform tools folder right next to fastboot
     
  4. McClellan

    McClellan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried again and got this:
    usage: fastboot [ <option> ] <command>

    commands:
    update <filename> reflash device from update.zip
    flashall flash boot + recovery + system
    flash <partition> [ <filename> ] write a file to a flash partition
    erase <partition> erase a flash partition
    getvar <variable> display a bootloader variable
    boot <kernel> [ <ramdisk> ] download and boot kernel
    flash:raw boot <kernel> [ <ramdisk> ] create bootimage and flash it
    devices list all connected devices
    continue continue with autoboot
    reboot reboot device normally
    reboot-bootloader reboot device into bootloader
    help show this help message

    options:
    -w erase userdata and cache
    -s <serial number> specify device serial number
    -p <product> specify product name
    -c <cmdline> override kernel commandline
    -i <vendor id> specify a custom USB vendor id
    -b <base_addr> specify a custom kernel base address
    -n <page size> specify the nand page size. default:
    2048


    So I have no idea what is going on
     
  5. McClellan

    McClellan New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Okay I successfully unlocked it I just didn't know how to change the command prompt which didn't cause a problem til the last step. Thanks for trying to help tho it is appreciated. :biggrin:
     
  6. rvm

    rvm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello Everyone,

    I tried to unlock the bootloader and everything went fine until the last command prompt "fastboot oem lock". I got the below message;

    (bootloader) Lock successfully...
    (bootloader) TZ_HTC_SVC_DISABLE ret = 134086000 (0x7FDFD70)
    FAILED (status read failed (Too many links))
    finished. total time: 0.937s

    Ever since, I haven't been able to get service back on the phone. I also tried to re-activate the phone through Verizon's site and tried to do a factory reset. Still no luck.

    I also tried to re-do everything all over again and when I'm prompted to unlock the bootloader, after I select "Yes", the phone just shuts itself off.

    Can anyone help?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  7. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    Ok that last line of UNlocking the boot loader should have been fastboot oem unlock ....not fastboot oem lock. I think locking your phone right after unlocking it might have done something highly strange to it. Try repeating the entire unlock process from where you got the unlock token.
     
  8. rvm

    rvm New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Doh! Maybe that's why it failed. I managed to restart everything and all seems to be running. Except that I wasn't able to root it. Maybe I'll need to re-do everything and type in "fastboot oem unlock" when I find a good rom to load up. Thanks for the help.
     
  9. Liquidtoon

    Liquidtoon New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone got the driver for "android 1.0" I dont know why but when I put my droid in hboot to get this going it says it fails to install the driver. I think this is because a had previously installed a different driver when rooting my incredible. What ever the reason I can not get past the "fastboot oem. . . " because I can not get my pc to load the proper driver. thank you for any suggestions
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2012
  10. brianjcohen

    brianjcohen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys,

    I'm having some trouble here. I followed the directions, I'm on Windows 7, and when I run "fastboot oem get_identifer_token" I see the message '< waiting for device >' and it just hangs there. I've seen some folks in various threads around the 'net saying you have to make sure HTC Sync is not installed, but I've also seen a couple people saying that you DO have to have it installed. The directions at HTCDev seem to indicate that it should be installed. Regardless, when I click the link to the HTC Sync site, the Rezound is not listed as one of the supported devices for HTC Sync. What am I missing here?

    Thanks!
     
  11. brianjcohen

    brianjcohen Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nevermind, figured it out -- had to install HTC Sync and, apparently, enable USB Debugging while booted into Android. Then the instructions worked.
     
  12. sbb888

    sbb888 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hope you guys can help. I got to the step where I try to download the code from my e-mail. It doesn't ask where to install it, it just downloads it in my downloads section, it doesn't put it with the rest of the files that are on platform tools. Can anyone guide me in the right direction.
    Thanks
     
  13. sbb888

    sbb888 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I got to the prompt screen and it says sending unlocktoken (0 kb)... but that is as far as it goes. I still am a little suspicious of the unlock file cause it downloaded in the download section, not in the platform tools folder
     
  14. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    Y not drag and drop the downloaded file into your platform tools folder?
     
  15. sbb888

    sbb888 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks, that is what I did, I got it unlocked finally but now after several more hours of reading and trying different things, I can't get amon ra to install.
     
Search tags for this page
how to unlock bootloader htc rezound
,

how to unlock htc rezound

,
how to unlock htc rezound bootloader
,
htc rezound bootloader
,
htc rezound drivers
,
unlock bootloader htc rezound
,
unlock bootloader rezound
,
unlock htc rezound
,
unlock htc rezound bootloader
,
unlock rezound bootloader