Random reboots?

Discussion in 'Liberty ROM DX' started by MrDonBonJovi, Jan 13, 2011.

  1. MrDonBonJovi

    MrDonBonJovi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Is anyone else getting random reboots?

    These are the steps I followed...

    1. Wipe data/cache
    2. Install liberty
    3. Boot
    4. Install Market Apps
    5. Restore some apps with TiBu (APP ONLY, NO DATA)

    I am not overclocked with SetCPU or Droid X Overclock.

    So far I've gotten 2 reboots, they may have been soft boots but the screen was off listening to music and the 2 logos are very close that I couldn't tell...

    1. Screen off, listening to stream furious
    2. Screen off, listening to double twist

    If anyone has any insight that would be great. I'm not bashing the ROM as its probably the smoothest for the DX I've seen yet. I want to be using it, but if I keep getting reboots several times a day it won't work for me.

    I appreciate any help.
     
  2. catalystsupreme

    catalystsupreme New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am getting them as well..sucks because i really like this rom
     
  3. zwade01

    zwade01 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Detroit
    Ratings:
    +0
    My old DX did that whenever I listened to music no matter what rom, what fixes or troubleshooting tips I tried. I told vzw about all the reboots and got a new one overnighted to me for free. Not sure how long you've had your x or if this is the only rom so far that this has happened, but mine was definitely phone related because it even happened pre-root.
     
  4. MrDonBonJovi

    MrDonBonJovi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have had reboot issues on other ROMs and I have not had reboot issues. Fission and Apex did not cause me to reboot.
    I'll report back if that happens during normal use or over night.
     
  5. gizmo99360

    gizmo99360 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been getting random reboots too. Talking on phone...even just sitting on the table with the screen off. Not overclocked...barely have anything on the phone. No reboots with gummyjar...jrummy's...or rubix

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  6. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    You guys certainly shouldn't be having these issues. Just do a factory reset which will install the rom clean and it should resolve your reboots.

    For those that don't yet know this, a factory reset has nothing to do with stock, it simply loads fresh whatever rom you are running at the moment. This is very useful when you just load a new rom and are having random issues.
     
  7. MrDonBonJovi

    MrDonBonJovi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    How would that be any different than my fresh install?
     
  8. gizmo99360

    gizmo99360 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll give it a shot...maybe just a hiccup during install...never had any issues with roms before. Thanks for the suggestion

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  9. MrKleen

    MrKleen Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Ratings:
    +5
    You are having problems with your install and this usually resolves it. I have had the same problem several times before myself with other roms and this has always taken care of it.

    Have you ever installed a rom and it runs perfectly yet there are others that seem to have issue after issue and yet they installed it the same as you? Usually they just restore back to another rom and blame the rom when it just needed a simple fix.

    The Factory reset I meant was the one in you settings under "privacy" Factory Data Reset" It's a real factory reset... and again simply refreshes the rom you are running.
     
    Last edited: Jan 13, 2011
  10. MrDonBonJovi

    MrDonBonJovi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    Just plugged it in to my computer to sync with double twist and reboot.
    anyone else?
     
  11. Inkarnit

    Inkarnit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't had a single reboot since updating to .340 when that became available. Not on RubiX 1.9.5 nor now on Liberty. Zero reboots.
     
  12. anrichardson

    anrichardson Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    The random reboot I THOUGHT I had, was because i forgot about the theme i was downloading/installing. Since it was a slow download, I was doing other things on my phone, and it reboot, but it's most likely cause you are downloading something from Toolbox. Maybe they could do a download notification before installing.
     
  13. MrDonBonJovi

    MrDonBonJovi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I tried to do the factory reset and it gave me an error in the bootloader screen. Should I SBF back to. 340?
    Trying the factory reset again...
     
  14. Inkarnit

    Inkarnit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Err.. you shouldn't ever see the bootloader screen when doing a factory reset...?
     
  15. MrDonBonJovi

    MrDonBonJovi Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I guess my next question is... what does that mean? Followed by what should I do?

    When upgrading from .15 to .340, I did the steps to update to .320 then the individual packages from MyDroidWorld.
     
Similar Threads
  1. y0manda
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    649
  2. mskks64
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    721
  3. gJon
    Replies:
    30
    Views:
    2,984
  4. ksalce
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    760
  5. jonpearson
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    644
Loading...
Search tags for this page

double twist reboots

,

doubltwist causes phone reboot

,

random reboot

,

random reboots