quick random reboots

Discussion in 'Drod2169 - X' started by sruel3216, Nov 8, 2010.

  1. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,491
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    OK, my bad. I didn't realize I was in an X thread and to be honest I'm still recovering from getting my first bill with the new "discounted" plan. Apologies for not looking at where I was posting.
     
  2. sephtin

    sephtin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    No worries. Totally understandable reaction to someone saying that about droid g1... :)
     
  3. scubieman

    scubieman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Sephtin, As we spoke a known motorola issue but who will fix this? Will it possibly be in a upcoming rubix version? My reboots are pretty much daily and I love my custom ROM too much to go back to stock. No special apps ran like overclocking or anything. Just confused. And yes I read most of the thread :)
     
  4. Inkarnit

    Inkarnit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Considering that you read most of the thread, you probably read that this occurs on stock DX's also, which means that RubiX has nothing to do with it. You'll have to wait until Motorola fixes it, which seems to be just by increasing the stock voltages. Maybe you could try tuning at high voltages to reduce/eliminate the issue.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  5. scubieman

    scubieman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Alright. I did read on a different forum that there is something the x looks for when running and after so many times not finding it on a custom rom the phone reboots to clear space. I wish I had better info. i will try to find it
     
  6. Inkarnit

    Inkarnit Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2010
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Buckeye, AZ
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's looking for blur and on a blurless ROM there is no blur. However, even stock this is occurring so...

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  7. sephtin

    sephtin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    There's a lot of confusion regarding the reboots. There are several different causes, actually...
    One of them is exactly what you stated.. and is related to running custom ROMs. I believe it's a function in the framework regarding blur contacts, which can cause some of the reboots from the lock screen.
    Lock screen reboots have been reported on stock MotoBlur as well, but not as frequently as during a call, or playing a very resource intensive game for example.
    Depending on what/when your reboots are happening, will determine how/when they'll be fixed. I think I've only had 2 reboots since Focused version 1.6 came out. :S

    Next version of the framework of Focused hopefully fixes stuff.
     
  8. dogswind

    dogswind Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I haven't had any reboots since installing the .320 leak back when it was first posted. Also none on rubix 1.9.0 so far. :icon_ banana:
    /knock on wood!
     
  9. scubieman

    scubieman Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2010
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i hope you get some :)

    Actually I never got them as bad as now. But it ONLY happens when I unlock phone. But i like the lock screen so I don't accidently pocket dial.:icon_ banana:
     
  10. sephtin

    sephtin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have heard reports of people on 320 still getting reboots.

    Also, reports are that the "fix" in 320 was to increase voltages to help with the reboots. Unless there's something in the kernel that helps (that no one will ever know about...), then when you load a ROM that lowers the voltages again, it probably isn't the reason you're not getting them anymore... *shrug*

    Glad you're not getting them anymore.. I personally hope you do NOT get reboots. ;) hehe... But then again, I also hope that no one ever does... Here's to hoping!
     
  11. dogswind

    dogswind Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Lol! I feel ya. I had them a lot before the leak. I tried No Lock and WidgetLocker numerous times, but I still got them with the lock screen disabled anyway.
     
  12. sephtin

    sephtin Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    1,807
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know a couple poeple that use no lock with widgetlocker.
    BTW, even though I wasn't getting reboots, I started using widgetlocker. I really like it. :p The extra couple sliders and flashlight button on the lock screen are pretty cool.

    On the lock screen, I added the flashlight shortcut from widgetlocker, that uses teslaled app (from market) to use camera flash as a flashlight. Not gonna tell you how incredibly useful this is when in the middle of the night taking the dog out, and not being able to find .... you get the idea... for me, having the flashlight button right on the lock screen is really convenient! heh. (You're welcome for the too much information. ;)