G2 Review after a week

GadgetRick

Reaction score
So I got my G2 a week ago. This is with T-Mobile. Here are my thoughts on it so far....

So far, I'm LOVING this thing! It's eating up everything I throw at it. Supa Fast! WiFi actually WORKS, which is nice since I've been on Motorola phones for my last 3 phones and none of them worked well on WiFi.

Not a ton of bloatware on the phone--which is nice. Although any bloatware is no good (IMO) but T-Mobile seems to have kept it fairly low.

The screen really is spectacular. I'm incredibly impressed with the screen. I used to teach color theory and I come from a printing background so I'm a bit anal about screens and I just love this one.

Camera is actually doing a better than decent job for a phone. I'm a pro photographer so it's tough to impress me with a camera--especially in a phone--but this one is actually a bit impressive in what it can capture. I'm pleasantly surprised how good it is. No, not replacing my other gear but I'm not ashamed to post photos of my boys at Disney on Facebook any longer. ;)

Not 100% sold on the button placement yet. I can't say I dislike it but not sure I actually like it just yet. I think, if they moved them closer to the middle of the phone, it would feel better. Where they are now, the phone feels unbalanced in my hand.

The back is a fingerprint factory. I knew that going in but man! I don't like cases but I may see if I can find a skin for this one.

I like the ability to double tap the screen to wake up/put to sleep the phone. It's convenient although sometimes it doesn't quite detect your taps when waking the phone up. I'm not upset about this because I don't want it waking up when it shouldn't.

It has the gesture support and the facial recognition that the S4 has. I've not used it but I know it's there.

It even restarts quite fast...not that I've needed to but it's nice to know it will do it quickly when needed.