Adobe Kills Flash for the Milestone/Droid!

Discussion in 'Android News' started by RinTinTigger, Sep 6, 2010.

  1. xmguy

    xmguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    RURAL TN
    Ratings:
    +4
    Since I'm running a FRG01B Custom ROM. I can't get the FRG22D update for seeing Flash in the market. But I have the most up to date apk installed. Works ok.
     
  2. Ataranine

    Ataranine Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    McLeansville, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good job, Adobe. Make more people hate you.
     
  3. xmguy

    xmguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    RURAL TN
    Ratings:
    +4
    What is gonna be bad if you can't update then when Flash sites require 10.3 and Droid 1's only have 10.1 this is when the issues will start.

    So I guess FRG22D was a waste for VZW and Droid 1 users. Since it broke root.
     
  4. Ataranine

    Ataranine Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    McLeansville, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    The hell are you talking about?
     
  5. xmguy

    xmguy Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,073
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    RURAL TN
    Ratings:
    +4
    Meaning that if Adobe is pulling the 10.1 Flash player. That means that FRG22D is a waste.
     
  6. Nopetize

    Nopetize New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Ratings:
    +0
    It seems to me that this rumor is circulating only in forums. I couldn't find any notices on Adobe, Motorola or Verizon websites.

    And as far Adobe updating Flash...to 10.3 or so on......there will come a time when D1 will be obsolete, in fact it's already happening. It can't live forever and just like pc's, technology will become more and more advanced and D1 or even 2 won't be supported.

    Droid has brought an open source to the wireless community, so long as there are programmers and manufacturers, things are gonna move at a very rapid pace. Changes and upgrades are gonna be required if you want to "stay on top". And Flash itself, is gonna be updated rapidly to keep up with the demands.

    I honestly doubt they pull Flash from everyone that has downloaded it, but we probably won't see the updates. It's technology folks. How many pc's have you had since the introduction of pc's?
     
  7. JonKyu

    JonKyu Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    2,320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    101
    Location:
    Provo, UT
    Ratings:
    +0
    I can sort of understand this decision based on trying to improve the "user experience". While my rooted droid 1 plays a lot of flash vids fine a lot are still very choppy. Not to mention the memory use causes my droid to heat up and sometimes crash.

    While the flash experience on my droid 1 is acceptable I've gotten frustrated enough times to really want to upgrade.
     
  8. Ataranine

    Ataranine Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    265
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    McLeansville, North Carolina
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'll admit it doesn't seem like the Droid 1 can handle Flash too good...sometimes it'll crash the browser. Hopefully I'll be getting a Droid X soon.
     
  9. JohnnytheK

    JohnnytheK Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    54
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +61
    Has it really? My Droid has all the updates (manually) but runs Flash well (after I made room for it and deleted all the unused apps I've collected.)
    My CPU shows 600 Mhz. using CPU benchmark from the Market.
     
  10. IanG

    IanG Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    223
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    No. The droid was not (stock) overclocked.
     
  11. mikeyd08

    mikeyd08 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Maryland USA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have a stock droid running 2.2, and installed flash from the marketplace. Running flash just fine.
     
  12. junpar

    junpar Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2010
    Messages:
    187
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    From the beginning the 800 mhz cortex a8 cpu has been a requirement stated by Adobe. I do not believe they have changed their stance on providing the droid with flash support.
     
Search tags for this page

adobe flash player for motorola droid3 2.3.4 up grade

,

does the motorola milestone suppose flash player

,

droid forums commando adobe flash