Windows 10 Launch Quick Guide: Almost Everything You Need to Get Started

Discussion in 'Android News' started by dgstorm, Jul 29, 2015.

  1. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,653
    Likes Received:
    3,538
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,027
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    Have you tried installing win 7 first? If it allows your current key, Win 10 will install seamlessly. I used the MS Install Tool.
     
  2. thunderbolt_nick

    thunderbolt_nick Thunderbolt Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    609
    Trophy Points:
    1,268
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Ratings:
    +730
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    @nickburress2k2
    Wait wait wait wait! Hold the phone. I just realized mine isn't activated either. After several reboots, mine worked! However, what is the EXACT error code that you are getting? Cause MS just released an FAQ saying that the activation servers might still be overloaded, so verifying them might not be ready at the moment.
     
  3. Gremlin

    Gremlin Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    97
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +107
    I have not received an update yet bah :p
     
  4. thunderbolt_nick

    thunderbolt_nick Thunderbolt Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    609
    Trophy Points:
    1,268
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Ratings:
    +730
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    @nickburress2k2
    Technically, you can get it yourself using the Media Tool.

    Windows 10

    I did this on a laptop and it worked like a charm. It basically does what the 'Get Windows 10' flag does except manually. Make sure to backup just in case.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  5. bmwnick

    bmwnick Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +9
    this is the method i used earlier ....so i should do several reboots?
    updates is stuck at 2% and activation says invalid key but on some reboots jsut says cant verify key. ill try 10 reboots and see ill report back
     
  6. DesktopDevin

    DesktopDevin Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2009
    Messages:
    381
    Likes Received:
    59
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Garner, NC
    Ratings:
    +67
    Current Phone Model:
    HTC One M8
    Did some testing on it today at work and created a vm with it as well as did a clean install on a old dell optiplex 755 to see how it handled it... it ran better than both 7 and xp on the same machine.

    Joined both to the domain and it ran all my group policies without a hitch but then again I just finished a couple of months ago with migrating all my servers to a Fully Qualified 2012r2 Server Domain so I am prepped and ready to move forward with migrating desktop machines up to 10.

    My only problem is that they will not release the Volume License Media until Saturday Aug. 1st and my current MAK keys are not being accepted for attempting upgrades or clean installs so it looks like they will generate the new keys on Saturday as well.

    So if you are attempting to use an old MAK or KMS key for previous versions of windows it will fail activation.

    Went home and did the upgrade on a XPS410 that has an SSD in it and it finished in about a half hour without any activation problems.
     
    #54 DesktopDevin, Jul 30, 2015
    Last edited: Jul 30, 2015
    • Like Like x 1
  7. thunderbolt_nick

    thunderbolt_nick Thunderbolt Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    609
    Trophy Points:
    1,268
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Ratings:
    +730
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    @nickburress2k2
    By updates do you mean Windows Updates? Cause it should still let you do them. Are you at the desktop of Win10 yet or are you still trying to install Win10?
     
  8. dezymond

    dezymond Tech Support Mod
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    12,070
    Likes Received:
    1,507
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Bay Area, California
    Ratings:
    +1,671
    Current Phone Model:
    Google Pixel
    Been using it the past 30-45min and so far I'm impressed. I haven't really tried out Edge yet, but probably will switch to that browser a little later just for testing purposes, on Chrome still right now. Noticed that Chrome lags a little and that font size of every site is tiny, thought that could be my screen resolution.

    so far I like what I see, and doesn't feel much like Win8 at all, not that I had much exposure to it. Feels like Win7 and I really like that. I'll wait and see but may switch main PC to Win10. I'm just worried about future updates, and Win7 doesn't feel slow in comparison. Though my PC is higher spec than my laptop as well....

    More testing to do...
     
  9. thunderbolt_nick

    thunderbolt_nick Thunderbolt Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2011
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    609
    Trophy Points:
    1,268
    Location:
    Orlando, FL
    Ratings:
    +730
    Current Phone Model:
    Nexus 6P
    Twitter:
    @nickburress2k2
    OMG...I didn't realize they have yet another Mac feature: virtual desktops. Love it love it and....love it. Just wish there was a better way to 'show all desktops' like the Mac does.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  10. cereal killer

    cereal killer Administrator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,374
    Likes Received:
    1,280
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,427
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    Ha yup. I clicked the icon in the tray and said "WHUT?!"
    I'm kicking Chrome to the curb. Edge just runs nicely. Its not as "heavy". When extensions hit Edge it will be a complete package.
     
  11. Jonny Kansas

    Jonny Kansas Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    16,690
    Likes Received:
    7,336
    Trophy Points:
    1,278
    Location:
    Michigan's Upper Peninsula
    Ratings:
    +8,690
    Current Phone Model:
    Pixel XL
    Twitter:
    jonny_ks
    I mentioned that in one of my rambling posts, but I called it multiple desktops because I've never been a Mac user.
     
  12. Jeffrey

    Jeffrey Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    6,653
    Likes Received:
    3,538
    Trophy Points:
    1,578
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +4,027
    Current Phone Model:
    iPhone 7 Plus JB
    Where is this icon? I don't seem to have it.
     
Search tags for this page
cyanogenmod sch i605
,
droidforums windows 10
,
win 10 for samsung sch i605
,

windows 10 quick guide

,
windows mail sync error - error 0x80072726