The "Got my D3"/ first impressions thread

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by Stevelord, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. bsweetness
    Offline

    bsweetness Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2010
    Messages:
    2,550
    Likes Received:
    128
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Charging via USB always takes longer because there isn't as much electricity flowing as there is with a wall charger.
  2. Cdjones187
    Offline

    Cdjones187 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Actually the Omap 4430 in the D3 and the 4460 that will be in the Bionic do not have ddr2 as far as the spec sheet from Texas Instruments says.

    OMAP™ 4 Platform - OMAP4430/OMAP4460

    But the Omap5 series have some sort of quad core CPU up to 2ghz, and DDR3 ram. Full 1080p HD @ 60 fps both recording and playback. And 1080p HD 3D @ 30 fps recording/playback. up to 20mp Camera!?!?

    http://focus.ti.com/general/docs/wt...teId=6123&navigationId=12864&contentId=103103

    I wanna know what those chipsets are going to be in! =]




    And the blur is pretty awesome compared to other versions, def. not a hassle, smooth and fast.
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2011
  3. camaro1173
    Offline

    camaro1173 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Danvers Mas.



    Take a look at this I would have to say that it is DDR2 scroll down to second page and look at the diagram of the chip layout. I might be wrong but it looks to me that it says LPDDR2 for SDRAM controller. Just thought I would throw this out there but as I said I could be wrong.

    http://focus.ti.com/lit/ml/swpt034b/swpt034b.pdf

    Hope this helps to get the right answer...
  4. pedromartinez
    Offline

    pedromartinez New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Got my Droid 3 today. Definitely like it. It runs smooth, but not significantly faster than my HTC Incredible. It flies on WiFi. Only if this thing had 4G it would be perfect.

    The screen is okay. It's not the best but certainly not the worst.

    My 'u' key does not work sometimes. You have to push it harder than all the other keys. It can click without registering a u.

    The keyboard is SOOOOOO much better than the Droid 1.

    Ran quadrant 4 times in a row and got 2090, 2400, 2450, 2590, respectively. These numbers are approximations. Can't remember it specifically but those what I recall. The LG revolution pulls down 2000-2200 consistently. Only if it I had gingerbread. (Just ran quadrant now and got 2220).

    The Blur interface is something that seems to have been belabored on this thread, but it certainly is not that great. The gallery app sucks. It takes wayy too much effort to add an icon to your home screens. The app button is on the right and doesn't even look like an app button. It runs slower than any other launcher. I really wished this had an unlocked bootloader because my Incredible flies without sense and cyanogen. I can only imagine how fast this will go.

    The swiftkey is neat.

    I'm not sure if I'm going to keep this because, the blur reduces the experience of the phone. The screen is somewhat a step back in my opinion. The keyboard is great but it seems i'm going to have to have it replaced because of the 'u' key not working correctly. I'm wondering if I should just wait for Ice Cream Sandwich with a 720p amoled screen and no blur.
  5. spacecasespiff
    Offline

    spacecasespiff New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You have an Android phone wich means you don't like it you can change it. Try the launchers.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  6. darkmatter
    Offline

    darkmatter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-3/157505-some-info-omap4430.html

  7. spacecasespiff
    Offline

    spacecasespiff New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    English please. What does all that mean.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  8. xxspark89xx
    Offline

    xxspark89xx New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It means that the Droid 3, in fact does have DDR2 Memory. LPDDR2 meaning "Low Power DDR2".


    If you are wondering what DDR2 means, it's a designation for a type of memory technology. "DDR" means Double-Data Rate, referring to a reference over a previous technology generation: SDR (Single Data Rate). The "2" appended to the "DDR2" is a note of 2nd Generation, where the technology was improved - Using the rising and falling edges of the memory clock during buffering to essentially increasing the speed of the memory.

    What does this mean, or should this mean to a consumer? The memory is faster than previous phones with DDR. More efficient app switching, multi-tasking (to an extent), etc.
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2011
  9. spacecasespiff
    Offline

    spacecasespiff New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    451
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So just having 512 of ram with this DDR2 is good then. So people should know this a stop being wierd that the d3 does not have 1gb of ram. Makes me feel a little better. Im hoping to get this phone in the next few weeks. Im going to pay full pop for it so its taking awhile.


    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
  10. BenLand150
    Offline

    BenLand150 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,787
    Likes Received:
    75
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Thank you for the explanation, I finally get these terms now.

    So basically, as space said, people should really stop complaining about 512mb of ram when only 512m for the Bionic will be available anyway since the rest will be used for webtop anyway.
  11. xxspark89xx
    Offline

    xxspark89xx New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    yeah, I hate how a lot of people wine about it not having 1GB of ram.

    To place it into perspective:

    Motorola, HTC, Samsung, etc. all design their phones based on their software requirements.

    Look at an HTC phone, some include 768MB of ram. Why? Because "Sense" hogs A LOT of memory. so Ultimately, the user is probably getting, lets say for example 200MB of memory to use.

    Motorola has redesigned their "Motoblur" software, which is now just the Motorola User Interface (UI). Their software requires much less memory, resulting in the Droid 3 having 512MB phone memory. So ultimately, you end up with about 200MB usable - just like the HTC example above.

    Note: Bionic may come with 1GB of memory like the Atrix, but the additional 512MB is for using it in Webtop mode. (or whatever)

    Also to note, Android 2.3.4 is amazing at memory management. Out of the box, 100MB of RAM was left free. After loading all my apps, widgets, services, etc. There was about 100MB of memory remaining - still! Android OS kills services not needed when more memory is needed. If the memory is free, however, it will likely eat it up with useless services. lol

    That being said, 512MB is definitely enough, especially with it being DDR2 and much faster than previous generations of the Droid phones.
  12. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    I remember my first pc having this much ram I think...it ran great lol

    Sent from my DROID 3 directly to YOU!
  13. darkmatter
    Offline

    darkmatter New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2010
    Messages:
    619
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think I could handle blur on this thing if I could add a 5th launcher button. 4 just seems really odd to me. I really like/want/need the app drawer button in the middle, and there just is no middle with 4 buttons, lol.

    but yea, ram on this thing seems fine. People have thrown everything they can at this phone and it runs like a boss. I personally find I would rather have sufficient and fast ram, than too much and slow.
  14. TyrantII
    Offline

    TyrantII New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Boston
    Just hit up the store and checked everything out on the phone. It's sweet, especially if upgrading from an older OG Droid (or similar 2 yr old android phone).

    The screen concerns are way, way overblown from actually having in my hand. Visible pixel / grid issues are not noticable to me at hand (normal use) length, and the thing is bright and colorful. A huge improvement over my OG Droid screen.

    Couldn't bring it outside to test it in full sun, but word of mouth is that it's the best screen yet for outdoor use. Not to mention it's much more efficient and good to battery life.

    Put those together, and what more could you ask. I look at android phones as a phone and google location device / social media device first; and as an entertainment device 2nd. I need a super high res, color calibrated display in my small handheld devices as much as I need it to be 3D (not at all!). This devices screen is more than enough, and the benefits it's tech gives us makes sense for me as a phone user. I was worried because of all the attention it was getting, but it's all overblown rabble once seeing it IRL.

    One thing I do miss is the camera button. I'm also a little concerned with the size, coming from a OG Droid. This thing isn't huge, but it is a large phone, especially for a guy who likes to carry it in his pocket. Feels lighter then the OG, but still looks and feels solid like it. I'll have to see if it is indeed lighter, or if it's just the appearance because of it's larger size.

    Camera is much, much better after checking it out for a few min.
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2011
  15. BleedingPurist
    Offline

    BleedingPurist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just in case you missed it, you can use the keyboard OK button for the camera button. It helps for when you need a real button. I kinda miss the Droid camera button, but it was also hard to press making it unreliable.
  16. Malvado
    Offline

    Malvado DF News Team/Mod Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Yea there's an option on this phone that let's you use keys as shortcuts for whatever app :)

    Sent from my DROID 3 directly to YOU!
  17. BleedingPurist
    Offline

    BleedingPurist New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm, I don't think he's talking about pressing the camera button to start the camera app (and I hated that function on the Droid, whether it was modded to start the music player on a custom ROM or start the camera... it kept going off in my pocket,) and maybe you aren't either. The OK button for the camera shutter is a default rather than an option, though.
  18. jaycemiskel
    Offline

    jaycemiskel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,362
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Actually 512 isn't reserved for webtop on the Bionic so the Bionic will have more usable ram, but this thing is running perfectly memory wise so I'm definitely not complaining.

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
  19. jjhiza
    Offline

    jjhiza New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2010
    Messages:
    129
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey, no problem! I'm just trying to help people make good choices for them, and if my two cents can be of help, then I'm happy. Yes, the D3 does have a pentile screen. It's really not an issue unless you look closely at it, and even then (depending on the game you're playing) it's not necessarily a deal breaker. Like I said, both Pocket Legends and Star Legends, will put some of the pentile display's shortcomings right in your face (character names look pretty bad, but actual character rendering still looks good). Some of the more HD games, like NOVA, Backbreaker Football, etc, look just fine. I still need to test how emulators run on the D3, but I would assume there would be little to no issues with quality. I wear both contacts and glasses as well, so I do have to put my phone close to my face from time to time, and the overall rendering quality doesn't really bother me. If you have some spare time, I'd suggest giving it a thorough test drive in-store, to see if the display is going to cause you any problems. If it does, unfortunately, you may need to go with a device manufacturer other than Motorola, for the simple reason that from the X2 on, the pentile display will be in use (correct me if I'm wrong). Hope this clarifies my position on the screen, and its quality. :)

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  20. cerps
    Offline

    cerps New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got to play with my wife's D3 today that she got after exchanging her X2 we got to lock in unlimited data. I think the screen on the D3 is better than the X2. The X2's issue was probably a combination of the matte screen protector and 4.3 inch screen being larger than the 4 incher on the D3. I like the 4 inch pentile screen on my Atrix.

    The phone does seem to lag a little. This is running blur. I run Go Launcher on my Atrix and it is much smoother. I don't recall lag on my Atrix when running Blur, but I only used it for a short time.

    I did have it reboot on me within one hour and I covered the circumstances in the reboot thread.

    I hope it stays stable enough and doesn't lag so my wife is happy until they run out a firmware bug fix. All in all I think it's a nice phone and it should be good in the long run. Getting it for $100 with a upgrade and her work discount was icing on the cake.
Search tags for this page

droid 3 slide not smooth

,

pac man