The "Got my D3"/ first impressions thread

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid 3' started by Stevelord, Jul 8, 2011.

  1. jbinbi
    Offline

    jbinbi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    RE: bloatware. I think this is true for every new phone. I just my son a charge, and same issue. Tons of apps you can't remove. blockbuster (which is kind of funny that they are in chap 11 now), vzw nav, etc. etc.

    I don't have the d3 yet, but can't you just delete the icon from the screen so it doesn't show? I know this doesn't remove it from the phone, but I find that if it's out of sight, it's out of mind, and don't get upset as much ;-)
     
  2. dragonfly1113
    Offline

    dragonfly1113 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Morris County Northern NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Believe yes it can be hidden from the apps draw with the proper launchers like go launcher and launcher pro. i dont have the phone yet so i cant see if its a setting in the stock launcher, also you can get startup auditor to stop programs from auto launching at boot.
     
  3. jmdale1984
    Offline

    jmdale1984 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    On the D3, you can hide them without a launcher from the market. You can create groups of apps, and set it to only display that group in the app drawer.
     
  4. dragonfly1113
    Offline

    dragonfly1113 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    605
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Morris County Northern NJ
    Ratings:
    +0
    Good to know thanks for the info :) cant wait til tomorrow to get my d3
     
  5. jmdale1984
    Offline

    jmdale1984 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I genuinely hate blur. I had hoped, when getting my D2G, that I would like it, but I don't. I find that it's even worse on the D3.

    What it will take to make me happy is for my new, top-of-the-line dual core phone to run as fast as it's predecessor did.

    I also find it incredibly annoying that Motorola/VZW has taken away our right to choose, and furthermore, our right to use our own hardware to it's full potential.

    If I buy a Dell computer, and it's preloaded with their user interface, I can delete/uninstall it, and use a genuine Windows interface.

    Motorola leaves us no such option with Blur and Android. Not only do they make it impossible to install without hacking it, but they also make it very difficult to hack.

    So yeah, shame on you, Moto. I only continue to buy Motorola products for the exceptional build quality (and that it's the only VZW Android phone with a keyboard that's worth having).

    If you like Blur, more power to you, but we should have the right to choose.
     
  6. jaycemiskel
    Offline

    jaycemiskel Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    1,359
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +2
    I actually don't hate this version of Blur. I wouldn't say it's awesome, but it's definitely likeable. I was actually using the stock launcher, but it had so many redraws that I had to switch. They either need to work on optimization of Blur or just put so much ram in their phones that redraws aren't a problem.

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
     
  7. i4mt3hwin
    Offline

    i4mt3hwin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0

    Yeah, honestly out of all the companies who ship with modified UI's I think the verison of Blur installed on the Droid 3 is probably the least intrusive and best designed. That being said, I'd rather have stock Android. I can see why these companies need to create different branding on their phones though. As for the choice of the phone being locked down, that's not a motorola problem but a verizon one. Motorola serves their customers, which despite what most here would like to believe is Verizon and not us. Verizon wants a locked bootloader and I can somewhat see their reasoning for it.

    Either way the Droid 3 has been an amazing experience so far. Can't wait till it gets rooted and the performance is taken further.

    Edit: Just curious, do you use a lot of widgets on your homescreens when you get redraws? I only use one, the weather widget from the old Droid and I haven't experienced any redraws yet. I do get problems with music app closing while multitasking though, which is extremely annoying.
     
    Last edited: Jul 13, 2011
  8. BleedingPurist
    Offline

    BleedingPurist Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know what you guys are doing, but I am not having redraw problems at all. I have plenty of widgets and icons on all 5 screens. Even when it does redraw it does it quickly. Also, I don't know what your screen issue is, but my colors aren't off.

    Additionally, for those that keep talking about bloatware and how terrible Blur is, I just checked the running processes. Except for IM, which I haven't even checked out yet, all running processes are supposed to be running. I can just imagine how some of you are creating your own issues.
     
  9. cloudstrife05
    Offline

    cloudstrife05 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    853
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings:
    +1
    +1 same here. Ive had mine for almost a week an no lag no issues. Love the phone. Believe me, if i was fully satisfied i would of returned it.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  10. Droidrage729
    Offline

    Droidrage729 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you. Dude you would think these people were blindsided by the fact that their moto phones would come with blur. I have had no issues. I swear people are making up issues its like that psyco person who always has some rare disease no one ever gets but they've gotten 10 diffrent ones somehow . Stop complaining about stupid stuff. Im typing on the keyboard right now and am wondering how you guys are complaining about the keys being too stiff really. Your thumbs are that weak?

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
     
  11. dazoe
    Offline

    dazoe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just got my D3 yesterday, I'll have a replacement tommorow due to something loose inside causing a rattle noise for the haptic feedback/vribrate. I'm comming from a D1 and the kb is AWESOME. Phone is blazing fast. Also the running processes only one of the bloatware apps auto started and that was the vcast apps app. Screen is much brighter and the pentile is not bad at all.

    One issue I have noticed is a lot of apps that use video is messed up. I tried using the netflix apk from my D1 and it was 100% un-watchable. Tried twit live video app in the market and it worked with a few screwed up frames every 5 - 10 seconds. And there are a few 3d glitches also. So I think the 'drivers' for the video chipset are not working 100% yet.

    Well back to work.
    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  12. Easycool
    Offline

    Easycool New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Concerning deliveries

    Hi everyone. I just ran into this site while researching the net for info on the D3. I put in an order for mine today.

    When you order items online, don't they give you a tracking #? Usually looking this number up will give you a clue as to when you can expect your package to be delivered. That being said, I fully understand everyone's anxiety. I've been in that boat many times, and it's so frustrating... I'm like, "come on already, where the heck are you?" (looking out the window every few minutes).
     
  13. Droidrage729
    Offline

    Droidrage729 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I had the same issue netflix actually caused a reboot when I tried to stream. It'll work out alot of apps haven't been able to start support yet we do have the d3 a bit early its not been officially announced yet. Im sure the apps will iron out tango doesn't work either. Anyone find a working video call app I can test out my ffc on?

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk
     
  14. Ragnell
    Offline

    Ragnell Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York City
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, I've had my Droid 3 for a few days now, Loving it so far, although I'm finding alot of minor issues such as the Autocorrect bar(when you're using the touch keyboard or swipe) stays on the screen, even when you go back or press home.

    Another thing I found was when I woke up this morning, My D3 was hot enough to almost burn me, Not sure why the phone was overheated so badly but it entered it's Cool down state, I wish I knew why it got to that point, also my phone didn't charge so I had to leave the house on 30% power.

    Also, Not sure what triggers it but, when I use an App, then go back to the home screen, sometimes the shortcuts I made on the screen just disappears and I have to manually re-add them.

    A few of my apps don't work including Tapatalk (not sure why, I've heard it works on other D3s), and Obviously My Netflix isn't working, still enjoying the phone, I will **** myself with joy when it's finally unlocked
     
  15. Ragnell
    Offline

    Ragnell Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2010
    Messages:
    107
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York City
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've heard Tango works
     
Search tags for this page

droid 3 slide not smooth

,

pac man