SwiftKey keyboard lags

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid MAXX' started by brucebanner77, Jun 6, 2015.

  1. brucebanner77

    brucebanner77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    Just as the title says. I have been using SwiftKey since my S3 days. Here lately (a month or so ago) if will work fine for about to days, then it will start to lag. I could type about 4 characters and it would not respond, and then all at one all the characters will appear. I've cleared the cache and data on the app. It will work good for about 2 days then start lagging again. Is anyone else having or had this problem? If so what fixed it.

    Verizon
    Motorola Droid Maxx (US)
    Android 4.4.4 (kit kat)

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  2. brucebanner77

    brucebanner77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    Went to the SwiftKey keyboard support page, and this is a known issue. They did purpose a couple of problems that may cause this. 1. There are high memory apps running in the background and to try closing them. 2. It's a low end device with inefficient memory to properly use the keyboard.

    Question: how do you kill apps running in the background? Is it by going to recent apps and swiping the apps away???


    Motorola Droid MAXX - App Disabling For Maximum Speed Battery Life - Android Forums at AndroidCentral.com

    I can not find some of these apps in muy app drawer. Where are they? (found them, go to app drawer, select manage apps)

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
    #2 brucebanner77, Jun 6, 2015
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2015
  3. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,152
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Go into settings, apps, running.. And you will see a list of all current running apps..

    Swift key does this on my Maxx.. And makes typos out the butt on my turbo.. Something with the last update..

    I'd reboot my device every few days.. It will knock down the number of running apps and gives the device a chance to get itself back in working order.. So to speak..
     
  4. brucebanner77

    brucebanner77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    I've been doing that ; rebooting my phone about once a week.
    I went thru that list in that article and disable quite a few apps, then I cleared the cache and data in the SwiftKey app. It's way better now. But will it remain is the question.

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  5. brucebanner77

    brucebanner77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    Is there an app that trully kills the apps, that is more convenient than going to app drawer then to manage apps???

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  6. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,152
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    There are app killers or task killer apps.. But the problem with many of them is that they will kill an app needed for another apps function.. Causing instability and crashes... You can try some out.. But they usually don't work very well on account of this issue..
     
    • Like Like x 2
  7. brucebanner77

    brucebanner77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    Hmm, that sucks.

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  8. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Just a thought for SwiftKey: when your KEYBOARD requires a hefty quad-core device with over 2GB of RAM, it's time to pare things back a bit.

    My Moto X does the same thing and I have a GB free RAM.
     
  9. brucebanner77

    brucebanner77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    What do you mean when you say "pare things back"?

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  10. brucebanner77

    brucebanner77 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2012
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +23
    Also, are you saying the Droid Maxx is not capable of running SwiftKey any more now that they have it so advanced?

    Sent from my XT1080 using Tapatalk
     
  11. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    17,152
    Likes Received:
    4,040
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,530
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Try the version without all of the emoji stuff on it.. I think they have a version like that..
     
  12. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    I don't think they do anymore. When they released the hub update, that was it.

    When I say pare back, I mean cut back on stuff. Obviously a keyboard shouldn't need 60mb of RAM if that's too much for most devices. Obviously if the majority of devices can't run the keyboard properly because they doesn't have enough oomph, you're asking too much from them. Optimize. Limit. Trim. Make things optional downloads with a performance impact warning. Things like that.
     
Search tags for this page
does swiftkey app use a lot of battery & data on my droid maxx
,
droid turbo keyboard freezing
,
keyboard swiftkey lag
,
swiftkey and textra
,

swiftkey keyboard lag

,
swiftkey lag
,
swiftkey lag android
,
swiftkey lagging s5
,
swiftkey start lag
,
swiftkey textra