[ROM] [SELFKANG ICS AOSP ROM] CM9/ICS for Droid 4 -- [BETA 03/05/2012]

Discussion in 'Droid 4 ROMS' started by Hashcode, Mar 5, 2012.

  1. moccor

    moccor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I wish I stayed on 3/5. 3/19, like people said, was good but not perfect. Yeah, but like a week later it has been a constant pain in the ass and is so annoying..
     
  2. Hashcode

    Hashcode Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Ratings:
    +20
    The change from "SELFKANG" to "UNOFFICIAL" was one that CM9 implemented during the 4.0.4 merge. They'd prefer to keep "SELFKANG" out of the titles for now as it sounds rediculous and causes confusion. Typically the word "KANG" in any sense has some bad impressions that come along with it, and the CM team realizes that "unofficial" ports of CM9 are a way of life for many phones. And not in any way a "bad" thing. :)

    This is still a very beta ROM due to several factors out of our control.

    I'm working on the data issues as best I can :/ I know it's REALLY annoying. For me too, as this is my phone of choice.

    Hope everyone is having a good time tho, and playing it safe as we still have no fastboot files in sight.
     
  3. moccor

    moccor Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2010
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I mean no disrespect by what I said, because when something is labeled as beta, alpha, unofficial, etc its to be expected. It just got much worse (or maybe I just am more annoyed by it) after a week of use. 3/5 works awesome, it is far superior then stock, nonetheless your work is appreciated even if it is buggy for now.
     
  4. Garlick

    Garlick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Keep on rocking Hash, the build is actually very solid, other than the occasional data stop for me and my wife.

    Just as an FYI, because I don't know how this classifies into anything, but living in San Diego, I have VERY limited data issues whatsoever.

    I took a driving trip to Las Vegas this past weekend, and had major issues on the drive out, as it seemed it would drop every 30 minutes or so. Then in Las Vegas was the worst. I was dropping every 15 minutes, rebooting, and clearing cache with no pick up of data.

    When I returned to San Diego, no issues again since Sunday night. Not a single drop or re-boot.

    I thought it was odd, as it seemed in my home territory I was fine, but traveling seemed to cause the issue. Either that, or the massive amount of EMI coming out of the slot machines was just messing with the signal.

    Again, don't know if that helps at all.
     
  5. altoid

    altoid New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2012
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Garlick, I wonder if your symptoms are related to how I sometimes see the R icon next to my signal strength icon in the status bar when I lose data. I am guessing that R means 'Roaming'.

    Does anybody else have issues locking on to GPS? Sometimes it takes very long to lock on, and sometimes I have to restart my phone before it works.
     
  6. Garlick

    Garlick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    No issues with GPS at all. I've used it several times, and I haven't run into that problem once.

    As for the data, I do think it has to do with the roaming signal. I've even messed around with the data roaming settings in Mobile Network Settings.

    What seems to work best, I have National Data Roaming selected, and then under System Select, I have Automatic as the default.

    When I first put the ROM on my phone, only Data Enabled was selected, and under system select it was Home Only by default. This set up seemed to give me the issues you're talking about.

    Since switching these around, I haven't had nearly as many problems.

    Now that was back on 3/10-3/15 nightlies. Since then my settings haven't changed, and it's been mostly solid up until this weekend.
     
  7. faykfox

    faykfox New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2012
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Funny you noticed that. I live in Las Vegas and have been having horrible issues with data on the ICS roms. However when I travel to San Diego (which I do frequently) I seem to have significantly less problems. I started another thread here on the topic:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-4-roms/203272-issues-data-boot-current-cm9-gummy-roms.html


    That said, fantastic work, Hash. I'm loving what you're doing. Keep it up!
     
  8. Garlick

    Garlick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's very interesting. So it has to be on Verizon's side in Vegas then, or just the fact that everyone is from out of town there, so the towers must be handling data differently.

    This ROM would be completely unusable for me if I lived in LV then. Glad I'm in San Diego where I don't have those issues.
     
  9. myfishbear

    myfishbear Developer
    Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,292
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    in the sea. sometimes on land as well
    Ratings:
    +31
    yeah 4g sucks in vegas. its good in Phoenix and spotty in north jersey, currently i turn off 4g cuz it thrashes betweeen the two.

    bty hash, are you using files from the offical moto update for the razr because i bet they work on d4 with a keyboard patch you made.
     
  10. Shein0327

    Shein0327 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  11. Garlick

    Garlick Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2012
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I flash all the nightlies, and I didn't experience any data connection issues yesterday at all, but I wasn't power using, or traveling, so I can't confirm that it's any better than the 4/4 nightly that I had previous to that.

    I was traveling to Orange County on 4/4, and data did drop for me when I went from a 3G area to a 4G area. It wouldn't switch back to 4G, and I had to re-boot and wipe cache to bring it back up.
     
  12. supershot666

    supershot666 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2012
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm flashed yesterday and 4g is NOT fixed. However, it is much easier to regain 4g than it used to be in the past. Also my phone died WAY before it normally does yesterday. Normally I get morning to bed use easy yesterday it died 4 or 5 hours before I thought about getting in bed.
     
    #432 supershot666, Apr 6, 2012
    Last edited: Apr 6, 2012
Search tags for this page
cm9 rom download for droid 3
,

droid 4 aosp

,
droid 4 cm9 download
,

droid 4 ics aosp

,
droid 4 ics rom download
,
droid 4 motorola - maserati cm9
,
failed to execute drocap2
,
oob-wake droid
,
uart wake lock
,
uart wake lock wakelock