[HACKS] Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS version

Discussion in 'Droid Labs' started by MotoCache1, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. viper3773
    Offline

    viper3773 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i'm new to rooting.. is their any downsides of rooting with the 1 click software?

    thanks.
  2. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Yes, THERE ARE downsides to using one of the one-click apps. However, since you're using an LG Dare, are you sure it's running Android? If not, "rooting" may not be an option to you. If it is, you may be stuck running one or using ADB.
  3. MotoCache1
    Offline

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Why are all the w's in your post links to the android-wifi-tether page?
  4. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    moto will this work with the new frg22d official patch?
  5. Taco
    Offline

    Taco New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New York
    I really want to use this guide to root my phone, but I am a little anxious that I will lose the ability to return to stock 2.2 frg01b if I go ahead with this (incase i need to take it into the VZW store).

    Is it possible to perform a nandroid backup of my stock 2.2 before installing the update.zip file?

    And if so, between which steps would I do that?

    Thanks A Bunch!!!
  6. skylordusa1
    Offline

    skylordusa1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello kcallis,

    Where did you get the LY v1.41 file from? Did you get it from the attachment of this thread Click Here or did you get it from the first page of the thread? The reason I ask is the actual liquid ROM is v1.4 and the LY v1.41 is a patch to be installed after the rom v1.4 is installed. Check the size of the LY v1.41 file you are using. Is it 1.08MB? If so then that is the reason you are going back to the BB rom each time. You need to grab the actual Rom file from inside the thread. I am a noob and if you are using the right file then I apologize. Am just trying to help cause I am currently running the liquid v1.4 with v1.41 patch and I love it. And now they just came out with the liquid v1.5 so now I am going to have to try to install that hahahhahahahah. What a crazy world this rooting stuff is hahahhaah.
  7. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    @skylordusa1

    Very pertinent information! Thanks!
  8. skylordusa1
    Offline

    skylordusa1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello Taco,

    From all that I have been reading so far I dont believe you can make a nandroid backup without having either sp recovery or clockwork recovery as your recovery program. I also read that it should not be that hard to return to 2.2 stock after you go through with this if you really wanted to. I followed this guide and am now very happy that I did. I was also curious about finding the info on how to return to 2.2 stock so I am going to look for it now. Will post it if I can find it.
  9. skylordusa1
    Offline

    skylordusa1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Having a little trouble finding the guide/directions/files to get my phone completely back to stock 2.2 with stock recovery. Anyone have any links/files they can provide that would help someone get back to fully stock 2.2 or 2.1. Not that I want to do this now but would be nice to have just incase.
  10. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Install the larger update from the circus thread. It'll put stock recovery back on and give you bone-stock FRG01B.
  11. skylordusa1
    Offline

    skylordusa1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Please dont hate me for asking such a dumb question but what is the circus thread?
  12. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
  13. jase
    Offline

    jase New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I don't mean to answer for Moto, and I'm a raw newbie at this, but Moto's guide worked for my manually updated frg22d Droid.
  14. BoxcuttaStyle
    Offline

    BoxcuttaStyle New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    I too will confirm that earlier today I had lost root due to the latest OTA (22). After following his instructions I now have root back. setCPU and wireless tether seem to be functional. I'm a happy droid owner again.

    :icon_eek: Whew... I was actually unrooted for almost an hour there! First time since November. Glad that's over :icon_ banana:

    THANK YOU motoCache1 !!!
  15. skylordusa1
    Offline

    skylordusa1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hahahahhahahahahah sorry about that furbearing. I should have looked a little harder. I am going to try this out just to see If I am able enough to go back to stock and get back to where I am now. Hopefully I dont break my phone hahahhaha. Thanks again for the link.
  16. furbearingmammal
    Offline

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,354
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    No charge. :)
  17. pistacio
    Offline

    pistacio New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MA
    Thanks boxcuttastyle and jase for reporting on the re-root...

    As a Newb to rooting, a BIG thanks to Motocache for the guide. I learned more about how my Droid works this past week than I have learned since opening the box last year.

    Questions...I'm rooted frg01b stock, will I receive the OTA? If I do, Sprecovery will block install, correct?
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
  18. jntdroid
    Offline

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,437
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    TX
    Newbie or not, I'm glad to know it works! Haven't had a chance to try it yet tonight, so now I can. Thanks for the info (boxcutta too)

    edit: finally got around to this... thanks again motocache for putting all this together, it's a beautiful thing!
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
  19. jbwiden
    Offline

    jbwiden New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am going through the procces right now but having an issue. I am at step 8 I have followed all previous steps. when it says phone shows up does it mean SE FLASH OMAP3430MI shows up in the model column? I then went to the sbf file but the right pane file details never show up and the start button stays greyed out.

    Thanks,
    Josh

    Windows 7 64 bit with correct drivers
    checked run rsd lite as admin


    SOLVED: I moved the sbf to the root on my computer and then restarted rsd lite still did not work... put a space before the .sbf and upon removing the space the file details showed up and start can be pressed

    Pressing on to the critical step 9 and 10
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
  20. ding007
    Offline

    ding007 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have universal androot loaded along with ROM manager. I try and load Chevyno1 rom and goto restart into clockwork recovery and i get a triangle with an ! in the middle of it. If i unroot, will the directions above work to root?
Search tags for this page

droid 1 root

,
droid rooting
,

how to root droid 1

,
motocache1
,
root any droid
,
root droid
,

root droid 1

,
root droid 1 regardless of os
,
root droid one
,
root regardless droidforums
,
rootdroid
,

rooting droid 1