[HACKS] Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS version

Discussion in 'Droid Labs' started by MotoCache1, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. skylordusa1

    skylordusa1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Please dont hate me for asking such a dumb question but what is the circus thread?
     
  2. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
  3. jase

    jase Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't mean to answer for Moto, and I'm a raw newbie at this, but Moto's guide worked for my manually updated frg22d Droid.
     
  4. BoxcuttaStyle

    BoxcuttaStyle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    I too will confirm that earlier today I had lost root due to the latest OTA (22). After following his instructions I now have root back. setCPU and wireless tether seem to be functional. I'm a happy droid owner again.

    :icon_eek: Whew... I was actually unrooted for almost an hour there! First time since November. Glad that's over :icon_ banana:

    THANK YOU motoCache1 !!!
     
  5. skylordusa1

    skylordusa1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    hahahahhahahahahah sorry about that furbearing. I should have looked a little harder. I am going to try this out just to see If I am able enough to go back to stock and get back to where I am now. Hopefully I dont break my phone hahahhaha. Thanks again for the link.
     
  6. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    No charge. :)
     
  7. pistacio

    pistacio Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2010
    Messages:
    442
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    MA
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks boxcuttastyle and jase for reporting on the re-root...

    As a Newb to rooting, a BIG thanks to Motocache for the guide. I learned more about how my Droid works this past week than I have learned since opening the box last year.

    Questions...I'm rooted frg01b stock, will I receive the OTA? If I do, Sprecovery will block install, correct?
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
  8. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    Newbie or not, I'm glad to know it works! Haven't had a chance to try it yet tonight, so now I can. Thanks for the info (boxcutta too)

    edit: finally got around to this... thanks again motocache for putting all this together, it's a beautiful thing!
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
  9. jbwiden

    jbwiden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am going through the procces right now but having an issue. I am at step 8 I have followed all previous steps. when it says phone shows up does it mean SE FLASH OMAP3430MI shows up in the model column? I then went to the sbf file but the right pane file details never show up and the start button stays greyed out.

    Thanks,
    Josh

    Windows 7 64 bit with correct drivers
    checked run rsd lite as admin


    SOLVED: I moved the sbf to the root on my computer and then restarted rsd lite still did not work... put a space before the .sbf and upon removing the space the file details showed up and start can be pressed

    Pressing on to the critical step 9 and 10
     
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2010
  10. ding007

    ding007 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have universal androot loaded along with ROM manager. I try and load Chevyno1 rom and goto restart into clockwork recovery and i get a triangle with an ! in the middle of it. If i unroot, will the directions above work to root?
     
  11. jbwiden

    jbwiden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well it seems it did not go so smoothly. I waited till rsd lite had phone[0000]: phone is being rebooted. I instantly pressed dpad up. Rsd lite says finished and the droid is back on the screen that says




    Bootloader
    2C.7C


    battery ok
    ok to program
    Transfer mode:
    USB


    The instructions seem to suggest that recovery will start but it does not seem to be doing anything just still at the above screen. Should I be rebooting the phone now


    So now what?
     
  12. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    yes reboot again holding 'x' - going into the bootloader again just allows rsdlite to finish its test to show "pass"
     
  13. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Why would you unroot? This method fixes everything and will allow you to continue to use ROM Manager until it borks something bigtime.

    Just use this method, then flash ClockworkMOD Recovery over SPRecovery, and away you go. :)
     
  14. ding007

    ding007 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Because the thread starts out like this>>>This procedure is to root a phone that is not presently rooted. If you're already rooted (by virtue of running a custom ROM or any other way) then you don't need this.


    SO..I can do this method EVENTHOUGH I am already rooted with universal androot and it won't screw anything up?
     
  15. jbwiden

    jbwiden Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2010
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok looks like I am rooted :)


    I guess their was one slightly confusing step for me.
    12.

    in step 11 it seemed to suggest to skip step 12 if you caught the boot?

    Thanks,
    Josh
     
Search tags for this page
droid 1 root
,

how to root droid 1

,
motocache1
,
root any droid
,
root droid
,

root droid 1

,
root droid 1 regardless of os
,
root droid one
,
root regardless droidforums
,
rooting droid 1