[HACKS] Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS version

Discussion in 'Droid Labs' started by MotoCache1, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. kcallis

    kcallis New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The reason that I went this route is because after the failing of the Verizon 2.2 upgrade, the SPRecover when south and I couldn't get to the SPR bootloader. LY 1.41 is frozen yoghurt ROM. I guess I will try another ROM and see if it loads or if I am doing a default of BB after I wipe. I have the feeling that I will still be at a default BB when I do the reload of a new ROM.
     
  2. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    If your SPRecovery went south, did you try pushing the SPRecovery SBF from the OP to your phone? I'm running a fever at the moment and can't seem to find your first post about it. Just doing the update.zip from the OP wouldn't do anything if you're already rooted...

    Take pity on a poor sick man. :)
     
  3. MotoCache1

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    You might want to start a topic in the Rescue Squad section to get some guidance. It sounds like you've got problems unrelated to rooting with my tool.
     
  4. sullyb007

    sullyb007 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks MotoCache1, great instructions! This was my first attempt at rooting, and everything went smooth. Tomorrow I will start investigating roms. Fun stuff!
     
  5. FastKatt

    FastKatt Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2010
    Messages:
    484
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cleveland, TN
    Ratings:
    +1
    Top Notch Write-Up!
    If I Had A Cookie To Give You, I Would
    "Thanks"
     
  6. viper3773

    viper3773 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2010
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm new to rooting.. is their any downsides of rooting with the 1 click software?

    thanks.
     
  7. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yes, THERE ARE downsides to using one of the one-click apps. However, since you're using an LG Dare, are you sure it's running Android? If not, "rooting" may not be an option to you. If it is, you may be stuck running one or using ADB.
     
  8. MotoCache1

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Why are all the w's in your post links to the android-wifi-tether page?
     
  9. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    moto will this work with the new frg22d official patch?
     
  10. Taco

    Taco Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    New York
    Ratings:
    +0
    I really want to use this guide to root my phone, but I am a little anxious that I will lose the ability to return to stock 2.2 frg01b if I go ahead with this (incase i need to take it into the VZW store).

    Is it possible to perform a nandroid backup of my stock 2.2 before installing the update.zip file?

    And if so, between which steps would I do that?

    Thanks A Bunch!!!
     
  11. skylordusa1

    skylordusa1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello kcallis,

    Where did you get the LY v1.41 file from? Did you get it from the attachment of this thread Click Here or did you get it from the first page of the thread? The reason I ask is the actual liquid ROM is v1.4 and the LY v1.41 is a patch to be installed after the rom v1.4 is installed. Check the size of the LY v1.41 file you are using. Is it 1.08MB? If so then that is the reason you are going back to the BB rom each time. You need to grab the actual Rom file from inside the thread. I am a noob and if you are using the right file then I apologize. Am just trying to help cause I am currently running the liquid v1.4 with v1.41 patch and I love it. And now they just came out with the liquid v1.5 so now I am going to have to try to install that hahahhahahahah. What a crazy world this rooting stuff is hahahhaah.
     
  12. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    @skylordusa1

    Very pertinent information! Thanks!
     
  13. skylordusa1

    skylordusa1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello Taco,

    From all that I have been reading so far I dont believe you can make a nandroid backup without having either sp recovery or clockwork recovery as your recovery program. I also read that it should not be that hard to return to 2.2 stock after you go through with this if you really wanted to. I followed this guide and am now very happy that I did. I was also curious about finding the info on how to return to 2.2 stock so I am going to look for it now. Will post it if I can find it.
     
  14. skylordusa1

    skylordusa1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having a little trouble finding the guide/directions/files to get my phone completely back to stock 2.2 with stock recovery. Anyone have any links/files they can provide that would help someone get back to fully stock 2.2 or 2.1. Not that I want to do this now but would be nice to have just incase.
     
  15. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Install the larger update from the circus thread. It'll put stock recovery back on and give you bone-stock FRG01B.
     
Search tags for this page
droid 1 root
,

how to root droid 1

,
motocache1
,
root any droid
,
root droid
,

root droid 1

,
root droid 1 regardless of os
,
root droid one
,
root regardless droidforums
,
rooting droid 1