[HACKS] Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS version

Discussion in 'Droid Labs' started by MotoCache1, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. SnoDrtRider

    SnoDrtRider Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey & Tug Hill, New York
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks... I'll be the first test to see if this is true. I un-rooted and will wait for 22D and try your files then report back unless someone else confirms it works on the 22D OTA first.
     
  2. gavron

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    FRG22B vs FRG01B has been covered by (I think) the Sapphire developer (cvsps?). No major changes.

    If you're happy with what you are running, stick with it. "Newest" doesn't mean "best". A lot of times what VZW thinks is "best" we (you and I) may not.

    FRG01B is fine... the custom ROMs based on it and its predecessor are great.

    E
     
  3. MotoCache1

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I keep hoping someone will "capture" a 22D push and save off the .zip so I can take a look at it. If anybody gets the push and is running a custom recovery which blocks the install, you can grab the file from /cache if you ADB to the phone while SPRecovery is still open. After you reboot out of SPRecovery the file will be gone.
     
  4. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,436
    Likes Received:
    292
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +292
    Awesome writeup. I'm so glad to finally know why rsdlite always failed and never completed. Even though I never had any issues, the anal side of me was always bothered just a little bit by that. Now we can finally get it to "pass"... It's the little things. :)
     
  5. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    NOOB fo sho!

    OK,

    I followed all the steps, and I think I did everything right. How do I tell? Should I make backups? What next?

    Sorry and thanks!
     
  6. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Try to reboot into recovery. If you get SPRecovery instead of the stock triangle with the ! you're good. For a further test, download a terminal emulator from the market, open it, and type SU. The prompt should change to #. If not, you don't have Super User permissions and will need to install them.

    As for "what's next?", how about now what? Check the link in my sig.
     
  7. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    it worked! now for the rest of the stuff
     
  8. skylordusa1

    skylordusa1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    MOTOCACHE1 Is The Man

    All I gotta say is you rock Motocache. Just a few days ago I was stuck with the OTA 2.2 which slowed down my droid to the point of lag that was driving me crazy. Then I come on to this forum to look for help on how to root. And find a Genius tagged Motocache1 hahahahahha. Not only does he try to help he goes above and beyond by investigating on his own time. Writing up a step by step guide that even an idiot noob like me can follow. And boom here I am running a liquid custom rom with a watermark theme and an awesome custom recovery that works perfectly. And now my droid is running like a new machine. I feel like I bought a new phone. Its so smooth and fast. I just want to say thank you again Motocache for putting up with all my dumb questions and helping everyone out that was having trouble by providing your step by step guide that you spent alot of time on. Thanks again man.

    Motocache1 for President. hahahahahhahaa.


    Now I just need to figure out how to put this guide in my sig. hahahahhahaha Maybe one day I will not be such a noober.
     
  9. skylordusa1

    skylordusa1 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah boyyyyy I figured out how to add the thread to my sig. Score one for this nooooob hahahahhahahaha.
     
  10. jfreckles

    jfreckles New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2010
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can't Run as administrator.

    When I try to run RSD Lite as an administrator the box is unchecked and grayed out and uncheckable. Is there something I'm doing wrong.
     
  11. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    so i got the wifi tethering from the google link but i am having trouble getting my computer to connect to it. Any ideas?
     
  12. tktouch12

    tktouch12 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    1,240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    very good job. nice work
    i feel pretty cool cuz i just read the first set of instructions and knew what to do.. lol

    but really, great job
     
  13. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    nevermind! i figured it out somehow!
     
  14. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Are you already logged in with an account with Administrator privileges? If you are, don't worry about it.
     
  15. MotoCache1

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Are you following the entire step from the OP?

    I don't have a Win 7 box so that tip came from someone who does that piloted the process and had the same problem as you.
     
Search tags for this page
droid 1 root
,

how to root droid 1

,
motocache1
,
root any droid
,
root droid
,

root droid 1

,
root droid 1 regardless of os
,
root droid one
,
root regardless droidforums
,
rooting droid 1