[HACKS] Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS version

Discussion in 'Droid Labs' started by MotoCache1, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. fetchman

    fetchman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    First off, Thanks Moto. This has has ended my 2 1/2 week long frustration with the "FRS". I just completed your process and everything worked as advertised - I think. Just one question. Should I be seeing BusyBox in my applications list? I see superuser permissions (and have used it for Drocap2) but do not see Busybox. Should it be showing?
     
  2. MotoCache1

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Nope. There's no .apk component to busybox. It's strictly a toolbox that is needed by many "requires root" type apps.
     
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2010
  3. fetchman

    fetchman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2010
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Littleton, CO
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks! I'm off to install Titanium Backup and then explore the world of root.
     
  4. amotamatapia

    amotamatapia New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Any idea on this? I just do not want to mess my phone up if this method works with 2.1, 2.2 only. Thanks
     
  5. MotoCache1

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Any OS.

    That said, if all that's wrong is that su isn't happy, but you still have your custom recovery, etc., then you don't need to do all this. Just reinstall su.
     
  6. amotamatapia

    amotamatapia New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok, great! I will try that and see how it goes. Much thanks!
     
  7. SnoDrtRider

    SnoDrtRider Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    574
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey & Tug Hill, New York
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks... I'll be the first test to see if this is true. I un-rooted and will wait for 22D and try your files then report back unless someone else confirms it works on the 22D OTA first.
     
  8. gavron

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    FRG22B vs FRG01B has been covered by (I think) the Sapphire developer (cvsps?). No major changes.

    If you're happy with what you are running, stick with it. "Newest" doesn't mean "best". A lot of times what VZW thinks is "best" we (you and I) may not.

    FRG01B is fine... the custom ROMs based on it and its predecessor are great.

    E
     
  9. MotoCache1

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    I keep hoping someone will "capture" a 22D push and save off the .zip so I can take a look at it. If anybody gets the push and is running a custom recovery which blocks the install, you can grab the file from /cache if you ADB to the phone while SPRecovery is still open. After you reboot out of SPRecovery the file will be gone.
     
  10. jntdroid

    jntdroid DF Super Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6,445
    Likes Received:
    297
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    TX
    Ratings:
    +297
    Awesome writeup. I'm so glad to finally know why rsdlite always failed and never completed. Even though I never had any issues, the anal side of me was always bothered just a little bit by that. Now we can finally get it to "pass"... It's the little things. :)
     
  11. jerroedr

    jerroedr Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    NOOB fo sho!

    OK,

    I followed all the steps, and I think I did everything right. How do I tell? Should I make backups? What next?

    Sorry and thanks!
     
  12. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    11,163
    Likes Received:
    372
    Trophy Points:
    513
    Location:
    Anywhere you're not
    Ratings:
    +455
    Current Phone Model:
    32GB Moto X Developers Edition
    Twitter:
    furryvarmint
    Try to reboot into recovery. If you get SPRecovery instead of the stock triangle with the ! you're good. For a further test, download a terminal emulator from the market, open it, and type SU. The prompt should change to #. If not, you don't have Super User permissions and will need to install them.

    As for "what's next?", how about now what? Check the link in my sig.
     
Search tags for this page
droid 1 root
,

how to root droid 1

,
motocache1
,
root any droid
,
root droid
,

root droid 1

,
root droid 1 regardless of os
,
root droid one
,
root regardless droidforums
,
rooting droid 1