[HACKS] Root Droid 1 - regardless of OS version

Discussion in 'Droid Labs' started by MotoCache1, Aug 23, 2010.

  1. greeknasty

    greeknasty Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    great job moto!!
     
  2. sline-dawg

    sline-dawg Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have bootloader 2c.7c and could not figure out what I was doing wrong....Thank you.... at least I didn't pull ALL my hair out yet....:)
     
  3. Lenster

    Lenster Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    V. nice job... Thanks

    Len
     
  4. MotoCache1

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    It means you probably won't have any trouble, but if you do, I wouldn't spend too terribly much time trying to figure it out before you try to lay your fingers on an XP machine. Plenty of folks use Windows 7 64-bit with no trouble at all. In fact, one of my proof testers did.
     
  5. greeknasty

    greeknasty Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    i can confirm it IS working for windows 7 x64 without a problem
     
  6. ShowTime

    ShowTime Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Messages:
    532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Nice work Moto. As soon as I'm home and can get in front of my computer tomorrow night, it's finally root time. Thanks for all the hard work and hours put in.
     
  7. gavron

    gavron Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    You did... and I thank you for it.

    Unfortunately that particular program, sbf_flash, doesn't work on many machines, always displaying the same errors and never detecting the phone. The author has not responded to requests for either fixes or to provide the source.

    Still great writeup :)

    Ehud
     
  8. SnoDrtRider

    SnoDrtRider Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey & Tug Hill, New York
    Ratings:
    +4
    Very Nice! Thank You very much!

    I have ONE question... Is says "any OS". I want to get the official FRG22B update that is rolling now, should I wait until it rolls to my phone since I assume SPR will block the OTA.
    I am already rooted (have SU access) with Busy Box, Ti Backup, etc. using Easy Root because I lost root doing a manual update of 2.2 (FRG01B) and using the wrong (official) file and decided to try the easy way to root.

    Again THANK YOU VERY MUCH!
     
  9. amotamatapia

    amotamatapia New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just have one question as well. I lost root when I accidentally applied an update.zip (superuser is unresponsive now). I rooted when I was on 2.0.1. Should this method be fine with 2.0.1?
     
  10. hookbill

    hookbill Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    19,502
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    N.E. Ohio
    Ratings:
    +8
    Probably just a typo, it's FRG22D. To the best of my knowledge FRG22D doesn't have a rooted version out, like FRG01B did. And I'm not sure somebody is going to have a signed version of it available.

    The C&D that was put out on the leak may make this difficult to get a copy for someone to work with. So I would root and use the signed version of FRG01B and just download Flash manually from another web site. If you want to install a custom ROM then do so.
     
  11. SnoDrtRider

    SnoDrtRider Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2009
    Messages:
    576
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    South Jersey & Tug Hill, New York
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yep Typo...

    I'm just trying to find out if "ANY" OS means any including FRG22D. I know there is no way of telling until someone with OTA 22D actually tries this but I'll tell you something... I just "Unrooted" using Easy root and the phone is flying right now, NO lag, No screen redraws, etc. Everything is right there when I make a selection or swipe screens... Even Gallery loads about twice as fast as it was yesterday.
     
    #23 SnoDrtRider, Aug 24, 2010
    Last edited: Aug 24, 2010
  12. MotoCache1

    MotoCache1 Chief Droid Scientist

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Pretty much if it is a Linux based operating system, it should work. There's nothing OS version specific in either of my files. So it works even for for OS versions that haven't been released yet. :)
     
Search tags for this page
droid 1 root
,

how to root droid 1

,
motocache1
,
root any droid
,
root droid
,

root droid 1

,
root droid 1 regardless of os
,
root droid one
,
rooting droid 1
,
root regardless droidforums