[RECOVERY] ClockworkMod Recovery *CDMA Edition* (Final Version)

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by BL4Z3D247, Dec 15, 2011.

  1. bmkdroid
    Offline

    bmkdroid New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ok, seems to be working great, only bad thing is it seems I do not have an easy way to return to stock recovery as I can't just rename that file back to its original name?
  2. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,368
    Likes Received:
    553
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    You know, that's a good question. I don't recall seeing anything about that. I can only assume that flashing back to stock would overwrite any changes associated with rooting.

    Tapped from a Galaxy Nexus
  3. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,368
    Likes Received:
    553
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
  4. MaCe
    Offline

    MaCe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    can someone tell me where to find recovery-from-boot.p ?? cant find it anywhere using Root Explorer!!
  5. CJM
    Offline

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,368
    Likes Received:
    553
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
  6. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    what happens is if you flash a rom, it clears out /system, so you would have had to backup the file locally before doing any flashing.
  7. MaCe
    Offline

    MaCe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I unlocked , then rooted did a backup via clockwork then flashed ? i was supposed to back that file up ? wow i had no idea soooo now how to i make it clockwork permanent if there is no file?
  8. czerdrill
    Offline

    czerdrill New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    4,828
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it is permanent now. the file is just there if you wanted the stock recovery back.
  9. MaCe
    Offline

    MaCe New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2009
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ha .. wellll that solves alot , just did a battery pull and rebooted into recovery and its still there :blink: doooohhh
  10. 713King
    Offline

    713King Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    any other method without buying an app :D
  11. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You can use adb via your PC, or terminal emulator on your phone to do it.

    Code:
    adb shell
    su
    mv /system/recovery-from-boot.p /system/recovery-from-boot.bak
    ^that is for adb. If you want to use a terminal emulator ( https://market.android.com/details?id=jackpal.androidterm ) you will skip the adb shell line.
  12. 713King
    Offline

    713King Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    hmmm i have stock clockwork recovery but I cant find that file in system using root Explorer, should I just paste the file there if it's not there?
  13. 713King
    Offline

    713King Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    Bump!!
  14. TSXXX
    Offline

    TSXXX New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    113
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thank you so much for this. Saved my life when I was trying to flash.

    Sent from my GummyNex :)
  15. bhfd64
    Offline

    bhfd64 Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Are you having trouble getting CWMR to stick?
  16. 713King
    Offline

    713King Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Houston, Tx
    i can boot into recovery but I don't see that file in system... what I had issues at times is when I tried booting to recovery it only had 4 options to choose or 3 reboot phone, reformat system, clear cache something like that it was not the full recovery and than when phone started I would have to flash recovery again, don't know if it is still doing that since I dont flash many roms
  17. bhfd64
    Offline

    bhfd64 Premium Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2011
    Messages:
    234
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I would guess that if you're running a custom ROM, that file has been removed intentionally to keep your recovery from being overwritten. It should stick once flashed if that file isn't there.
  18. Riley
    Offline

    Riley New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    585
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Quick question and I can't remember how it goes, but when restoring a backup doe sit wipe everything for you on the restore, or do we have to manually wipe it in CW before we go to restore a backup?
  19. steveil
    Offline

    steveil New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I went back to stock recovery. Can I go back to permanent CWM just by renaming the file again or do I have to reflash?
  20. cupfulloflol
    Offline

    cupfulloflol New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,898
    Likes Received:
    22
    Trophy Points:
    0
    You will need to reflash the custom recovery. If you want the custom recovery to stay longer than 1 reboot, you will also need to do something to the .p file (rename, move, delete)
Search tags for this page

clockworkmod by mark

,
clockworkmod recovery motorola droid cdma
,

cwm cdma

,

cwm samsung stellar

,

cwm untuk galaxy y cdma

,
flashable cwm 5.5.0.4 for s3
,
how to uninstall cwm on galaxy nexus
,

htc incredible s recovery-clockwork 5.5.0.4

,

kyi11 unlock

,

kyi11reset lock

,

samsung stellar 4.12rom

,
update recovery droid2 cdma