Clockwork Mod Easy fix

Discussion in 'Galaxy Nexus Development' started by rdubb, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. rdubb
    Offline

    rdubb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New River, AZ
    This may have been posted else where but wanted to help out!

    You may have notice that after install/flash CWM that it only works from within one boot and does not stick after that- easy fix for that is use Root Explorer and go to your system: file path is system/recovery-from-boot.p and click from Mount R/O to Mount R/W and rename the recovery-from-boot.p to 1recovery-from-boot.p clockwork will work every time.-:icon_ banana:
  2. Coots
    Offline

    Coots New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks for the 'click to Mount R/W... I totally over looked that button up there.

    Duh.
  3. shanimal92
    Offline

    shanimal92 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    there is no recover from boot file in mine? uh oh. i even flashed again
  4. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,545
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Trophy Points:
    113
    In root explorer open the system folder and you should see like a notepad icon and it will say "recovery-from-boot.p" rename it to "1recovery-from-boot.p"
  5. shanimal92
    Offline

    shanimal92 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    nope, nothing. i even searched my whole phone for anything with "recovery" in it and all i got was Eminem's CD.
  6. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,545
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Trophy Points:
    113
    You sure you did not delete it already.
  7. shanimal92
    Offline

    shanimal92 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    positive cause when i hold down volume up, down, and power i go to bootloader instead of clockwork. the only way to get to clockwork is to go form rommanager. what puts it there in the first place?
  8. rdubb
    Offline

    rdubb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New River, AZ
    Yep- I forgot too the first time..lol
  9. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,545
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Yeah I normally do adb rebbot recovery
  10. shanimal92
    Offline

    shanimal92 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    whats that? will it let me keep CWM without having to boot from rommanager?
  11. pc747
    Offline

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    17,545
    Likes Received:
    1,064
    Trophy Points:
    113
  12. Chizzele
    Offline

    Chizzele Team Sourcery Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,002
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego CA
    Its funny, for me i know i rooted properly and unlocked, but when holding power, vol up and vol down it goes into the bootloader screen and gives me the option to choose using the volume button, if i want to restart bootloader, recovery, or restart phone. When i choose recovery it will go into CWM but not directly... Is that standard?
  13. EmericanX
    Offline

    EmericanX Theme Developer Theme Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    257
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Prince George, VA
    well that was easy... lol. I thought it was already persistant until I cold booted into recovery(stock). I just added .bak to the end. powered down. three button start/recovery/cwr woot! thanks.
  14. shanimal92
    Offline

    shanimal92 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    im a idiot... all i need was patience. i all needed to do was go to the bootloader; use vlume rocker to click "recovery"; let the google with unlocked lock sit for 10sec; then viola, CWM! in the OG Droid it was just instead of teh regular bootloader you got CWM.
  15. rdubb
    Offline

    rdubb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New River, AZ
    No idiots here just learning the hard way!
  16. shanimal92
    Offline

    shanimal92 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2010
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, thank you. : )
  17. mtnbst
    Offline

    mtnbst New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2011
    Messages:
    153
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I downloaded rom manager from the market and flashed clockwork for galaxy Nexus gsm and it installed successfully. I cdma version didn't work. I I have already flashed a ROM!

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
  18. BL4Z3D247
    Offline

    BL4Z3D247 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    1,251
    Likes Received:
    25
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah you have to go into the bootloader first to boot CWM, that's standard.
  19. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    This is about the same as the command we used to retain a custom recovery on the Moto A855. For those not seeing this file when using Rom Manager, I imagine that part of the script to flash CWRecovery also removes instead of renaming the file.

    Also once we get custom roms, this shouldn't be needed as the file will also probably be missing.
  20. rdubb
    Offline

    rdubb New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New River, AZ
    Confirmed- my first custom ROM has that stock file removed-
Search tags for this page
clockwerk mod nny tablet
,

clockworkmod fix

,
how to correct clockworkmod date
,
recovery from boot.p download for dinc2