Ram

Discussion in 'Motorola Droid Bionic' started by dtdlurch, Jan 6, 2011.

  1. cereal killer

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,403
    Likes Received:
    1,315
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +1,461
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    Not sure how thats even possible..........source?
     
  2. Jordan8

    Jordan8 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2010
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kentucky
    Ratings:
    +0
    As long as the ram is there I don't see any reason it couldn't be all used for android. Then again I don't know what im talking about.

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums App
     
  3. fichdak

    fichdak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    what do you mean 'better'?

    and i'd also much rather have the atrix than the bionic on verizon.

    it's more than 20% thinner, has a (imo) better screen size at 4" and therefore a higher pixel density and battery life, twice as much ram, webtop, the entertainment dock, etc.. plus, it's going to be available sooner.

    screw you verizon :icon_evil:
     
  4. rage151

    rage151 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/motorola-droid-bionic/113574-ram.html#post1176879

    1st page of this thread. Just rumor that RAM in the Bionic is different than what is typically used.

    Yes, I also feel that the Atrix is better...the network is not.
     
  5. fichdak

    fichdak Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do believe that the Atrix also used DDR2. I might be wrong about that but I think I remember hearing that from a moto rep or something in an engadget video.

    And yeah, AT&T blows lol. I saw 2 video speed tests from the Atrix and the Bionic via the speedtest.net app. Both of these had so-called "4g" but the Bionic got over 10,000kbps down and like 3800 up and the Atrix (on '4g'/HSDPA+) got 500 down and 600 up :rofl2:
     
  6. monsterenergy22

    monsterenergy22 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    512mb of DDR2 in the bionic will be just as fast if not faster then the 1gb of SDram in the bionic.
     
  7. droidjunkie

    droidjunkie New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Monsterenergy you are exactly correct! Folks are really showing their ignorance about this. They look only at numbers and erroneously conclude that the smaller the number means less. WRONG.

    ***PLEASE READ BELOW***
    Although the Bionic has 512 mb of RAM, its DDR2 RAM not SDRAM. This essentially means that while its just half the RAM of the AT&T Atrix, the RAM has twice the speed and twice the performance. DDR2 RAM is the same speed thats in your "computer" versus the RAM found in phones.

    Motorola and Verizon going for superior performance and they have pulled it off.
     
  8. altimax98

    altimax98 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Exactly... The ddr2 its what you want here.. Now is there any proof that the atrix only has sdram?...

    If thats the case then ddr2 is where its at.. Its like having two toll booths and only one entrance to the subway.. Even if the subway train was twice the size of a normal train you can still only load the train at X per minute..

    But now think of the bionic as having two toll booths and two entrances to the train.. even though the train is half the size you can load (and unload) at twice the rate..

    Sent from one of those missing Droids
     
  9. thorton02

    thorton02 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Arlington
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just assumed the Atrix was DDR2. How can you justify having a dualcore processor coupled with slow memory. You're just going to bottleneck. If this is the case, everyone should agree that the Bionic is better.

    Frankly, I think this is almost as important as the cpu but there's very little coverage about it.
     
  10. altimax98

    altimax98 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well if it still only has sdram, then the main reason is customer 'misinformation', people think that bigger is better, but thats not always the case. Cost is also a concern... 1 gig of ddr2 would be much more expensive then 1 gig of sdram.



    Sent from one of those missing Droids
     
  11. mikron

    mikron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    its just like motorola to throw us all off the bionic only 512mb and astrix has 1gig also i have confirmed from motorola that the bionic does not have fm radio and the astrix does have fm radio
     
  12. altimax98

    altimax98 Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2010
    Messages:
    133
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0

    Its all a give and take... I made a post just after the announcement about this issue. The bionic had advantages over the atrix and vice versa... I love the bionic, bigger screen size, camera, faster ram....
    Its all stuff I want.

    Sent from one of those missing Droids
     
Similar Threads
  1. mojohand
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    4,729
  2. Castro
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,580
  3. cmac93hatch
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    7,950
  4. Mordeth
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    9,959
Loading...
Search tags for this page

better ram use on my droid atrix

,

droid bionic ram

,

type of ram in a droid bionic