Nandroid backup stuck at dumping data.tar???

Discussion in 'Rescue Squad Guides' started by Rento, Dec 26, 2010.

  1. Rento

    Rento Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +7
    Delete this please!

    Delete this please!
     
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2010
  2. Rento

    Rento Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    SoCal
    Ratings:
    +7
    I just flashed to Ultimate Droid 2.5 and did a few hours of tweaking... Made sure it was stable, etc.

    Well....

    I am now attempting a nondroid backup and it's been stuck dumping data.tar for over 15 mins now, phone will not show a charge light... none of the hardbuttons are responding. Scared to pull the battery...

    Ironic how I named this backup "UD2.5-stable"...

    Can I just restart my phone and everything will be where I was at less then 20 mins ago when I shut down my "stable" Ultimate Droid 2.5 flash? Or am I going to be seeing hell down the road?

    Using SPRecovery
    Droid 1

    EDIT: Pulled the battery, booted up fine... so I went back to perform a nandroid backup, went perfectly fine...

    Moral of the story... if a backup freezes, it's fine to battery pull.
     
  3. Ass Nacho

    Ass Nacho New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm also having this problem! Been having it for a few days and its driving me nuts! I've pulled the battery a couple times and went back into SPRecovery, but nothing. I've even let it dump data for an hour and nothing. Help!

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  4. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    What rom are you running now? Is it also a version of UD? What happens when you boot manually into recovery?

    OK, three too many questions . . . .
     
  5. Ass Nacho

    Ass Nacho New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm currently running Project Elite v4. But I initially had the problem with Charity v11.

    Sent from my Droid using DroidForums App
     
  6. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    Either use the Motocache 1 SBF to reinstall SPRecovery or try reflashing it via ROM Manager. Now see if it does the same thing.
     
  7. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    If furman's solution doesn't work:

    I knew three was too many, only two got answered, how's about answering this one?
     
  8. Ass Nacho

    Ass Nacho New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I installed ROM Manager and couldn't reflash SPRecovery. It wouldn't reboot into recovery at all. So I thought I'd try flashing Clockwork Mod Recovery and I was able to perform backups through there. So it looks like I'll be sticking with Clockwork Mod over SPRecovery. I never played around with ROM Manager before. It looks like a pretty awesome program. Thanks for the help guys! Very much appreciated!

    Oh, to answer your last question, teddearp, a manual boot into recovery did the same thing, which was nothing. :huh:
     
  9. furbearingmammal

    furbearingmammal DF Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2010
    Messages:
    10,348
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    153
    Location:
    So far north in NY I smell maple syrup when the wi
    Ratings:
    +6
    If it wouldn't flash SPRecovery you were darn lucky to get Clockwork to flash at all. ROM Manager depends on SPRecovery to clear up errors in recovery. :) Glad it's working for you.
     
Search tags for this page

android backup /data tar

,

droid 3 backup dump