Nandroid backup issue

Discussion in 'Android Tech Support' started by Droid DOES!!, Aug 3, 2010.

  1. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    I'm trying to do a nandroid backup for my ROM (see sign) to try out Chevy's new ROM. When I hit Perform Backup, it gets stuck about halfway through dumping system.tar! Anyone else having/had this issue??
     
  2. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    No I've not had this issue before. How much free space do you have on your SD card? If it is full or close to full, mount and make a copy on your computer then delete some of your old backups.

    Let us know if this helps.

    Mike
     
  3. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    12.41GB left on my SD card. I'll try the computer route and see if that helps. I already deleted 3 backups via Androzip. It took about 3 or 4 tries to successfully backup v1.1 as well so I may just be holding my mouth wrong! Haha!!
     
  4. mwhartman

    mwhartman Super Moderator/RS
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Messages:
    10,737
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    453
    Location:
    South FL
    Ratings:
    +12
    Hope it works for you. Keep us updated
     
  5. BayouFlyFisher

    BayouFlyFisher Rescue Squad
    Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    4,958
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    168
    Location:
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Ratings:
    +17
    If this was happening to me, I'd reboot to the rom, and use Rom Manager to reflash spr. I'd reboot to spr and do my nandroid backup.
     
  6. Plesk

    Plesk New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had the same issue and fixed it just now by using a different SD card. I got the tip from this thread.

    You may be able to achieve the same result by formatting yours or checking the filesystem?
     
  7. Droid DOES!!

    Droid DOES!! What iDoesn't
    Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    6,375
    Likes Received:
    35
    Trophy Points:
    178
    Ratings:
    +35
    Just tried backing up through SP again and it worked? Weird!! Thanks for the help guys!!