Nandroid backup

Discussion in 'Droid Rooted Help' started by Mandroidx, Feb 2, 2011.

  1. Mandroidx

    Mandroidx New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Cleveland, OH
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I know how to do all the nandroid backup but here is a problem...
    I recently switched to D1 MiUi 1.1.22.0 and its running perfect...
    that is until I attempt at a nandroid backup..
    sprecovery and everything is smooth until i hit backup...
    then it pauses in the middle of dumping data.tar....
    It makes me nervous to walk around without a recovery image....
    WHAT SHOULD I DO!!!
     
  2. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +3
    Try using Rom Manager (free) and CWRecovery.

    good luck
     
  3. Beeper10

    Beeper10 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    My sd card is almost full, I imagine alot of space is taken up with nandroids. How do I delete some of the oldest ones to free up some space?

    Sent from my DROIDX using DroidForums
     
  4. Beka27

    Beka27 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,458
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Cleveland Ohio
    Ratings:
    +6
    You might want to reformat your card. Connect your phone and move a few of your nandroids to your computer, as well as any music/pics that you can't live without. Disconnect, format the SD card, and then move your nandroids, music, and pics back on. Apps put so much stuff on the SD card, and even if you delete the app, it leaves all of that info just sitting there... kind of like a full "recycle bin". Formatting will clear everything out. The apps you're using currently will put the files back on when started. Don't forget to make a new Titanium Back-Up of apps/data also b/c that stuff will be gone.

    You are using at least a 16GB SD right? I've heard that some of the more recent DX purchases only included a 2GB. That's a complete waste of time IMO. If anything lesser than a 16GB, get yourself a bigger card.
     
  5. CJM

    CJM Developer Relations Staff Member Rescue Squad Premium Member

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    9,437
    Likes Received:
    601
    Trophy Points:
    228
    Location:
    Mississippi Gulf Coast
    Ratings:
    +609
    Look on the SD card in SD\clockwork\backup. They should be listed by date if you didnt rename them. You only need 1 working backup, so delete all but the latest.
     
  6. Dinc7

    Dinc7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi quick question, I did a nand backup before I rooted. Now that I'm rooted and running a rom, what would happen if I restored that backup?

    Sent from my Incredible using DroidForums
     
  7. rubiksc00p

    rubiksc00p Senior Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,380
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Somewhere on this amazing ball of creation!
    Ratings:
    +29
    I'm pretty sure you can't do a nandroid without being rooted. How did you do that?...

    Sent from the best phone on Verizon!
     
  8. Dinc7

    Dinc7 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh really? I guess I did that as soon as I rooted. It was a while ago

    Sent from my ADR6300 using DroidForums
     
Search tags for this page

how to do a nandroid backup on a855