[HOW-TO] Use Safestrap (backup and flash) (WIP)

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by guidot, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. acoers

    acoers Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    sweet man sounds good. i was on ics last night and its pretty slick, once it gets all fixed i think ill switch over.
     
  2. matthskim

    matthskim Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Currently, I have installed Safestrap 1.08, with Stock Rom on Non-Safe mode and CM9/ICS Alpha #2 on Safe-mode. I am pleased with the CM9/ICS on Safe-mode. Therefore, I want to keep it for now on the safe mode.

    Now, I am wondering if I can install another ROM (SD Rom) on the non-safe mode with the Safestrap 1.08 staying. Is this possible? If it is, can you let me know how?

    Thank you.
     
  3. lotzakritters

    lotzakritters Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    What I do, is keep it on safe-mode always. Flash my rom of choice and make sure it is working properly reboot and make a backup of that particular rom. I then use root explorer to find that safe-made backup and rename it to the rom it is, with date. Flash another Rom and do the same to them all. So I can go from rom to rom without having to start all over again. Works for me just perfectly.

    Sent from my DROID3
     
  4. matthskim

    matthskim Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks. Definitely, what you are doing is a great way to enjoy different roms on the safe mode.

    I am still wondering technically if there is a way to flash another rom and/or restore original stock rom (for OTA update later on) on the non-safe side.

    I would appreciate your opinion.
     
  5. lotzakritters

    lotzakritters Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    With the current Safestrap, not yet.

    Sent from my DROID3
     
  6. matthskim

    matthskim Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2011
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks.

    Then, can you rename and restore the backup file in safestrap without any issue. I know even the tweaked bootstrap can not restore renamed backup file. It is only possible under ROM manager.

    Do you just rename the folder where the files are? And have you tried these yourself?

    Thanks.
     
  7. lotzakritters

    lotzakritters Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I do all the time. Try it for yourself. I just try things out and if it doesn't work go back. Np

    See, like this



    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  8. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    If you have the stock rom on non-safe mode, that is your backup. Did you not make a backup of the stock rom in non-safe mode?

    Sent from my rooted, safestrapped, and ROM'd XT862
     
  9. Geoffroy

    Geoffroy New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank for the how-to, quite useful, and more explained than hashcode's one :)
     
  10. Vyruz

    Vyruz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    How can i install a rom not onto unsafe system? I had to go back to stock to put alpha ics on my device and never put a stable rom on.
     
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2012
  11. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    I don't know if I understand your question.

    Are you trying to flash a ROM in non-safe mode? Because you can't. You'd have to uninstall safestrap, install tweaked bootstrap then install the ROM then uninstall bootstrap and install safestrap.

    Sent from the best 3G phone on Verizon.
     
  12. Vyruz

    Vyruz Member

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Colorado
    Ratings:
    +0
    Will I still have my.safe backup or WIll I lose it?
     
  13. BenLand150

    BenLand150 Premium Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,791
    Likes Received:
    82
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +82
    Backups from safestrap will still be on bootstrap and vice versa.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using DroidForums
     
  14. Fr33dom

    Fr33dom Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    547
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    I've been bouncing from ROM to ROM and had trouble with MAV. So I was just about to put Hash's latest ICS on and play with it when I noticed that Safestrap isn't wiping completely. When it gets to formatting /sdcard/.android_secure, says "skipping format..." then says "Data wipe complete".

    I just want to confirm that its not supposed to do that and see what I should do about that.

    EDIT: the error is a mount failure on /sdcard/.android_secure.
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2012
  15. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    That is if you had installed any apps to the "media area" formerly called apps2sd.

    If all of your apps are in your data area, and you didn't select them to be moved, you will always get this error.

    Sent from the best 3G phone on Verizon.
     
Search tags for this page
how to flash using safestrap
,

how to use safestrap

,
how to use safestrap 3
,
how to use safestrap recovery
,
safestrap
,
safestrap backup
,
safestrap galaxy nexus
,
using safestrap
,
where does safestrap save backups
,
where does safestrap store backups