[HOW-TO] Use Safestrap (backup and flash) (WIP)

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by guidot, Nov 10, 2011.

  1. patchm00
    Offline

    patchm00 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Roger that,

    thanks
  2. cloudstrife05
    Offline

    cloudstrife05 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    854
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland
    Not having any issues, just was wondering. How do I delete old backups that were saved in Safestrap mode? Just want to free up some space. I remember with my D1 going into RM and it was easy. I can't seem to find the old backups except when I want to restore them.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  3. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    You need a file explorer.

    Just navigate to /sdcard-ext/safestrap/backup/'foldername" (or /sdcard/safestrap/backup/"foldername" if you have saved them to the internal media area), and delete the "foldername"; that is the backup folder.
  4. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,164
    Likes Received:
    126
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Thanks guidot your instructions were enormously helpful -- I'm making the leap with ICS "AOKP". Three questions (or maybe you can add these to the OP):

    - wasn't 100% clear if installs ONLY work from sd-ext (recovery menu says "install zip from sdcard" which normally is external) -- can I drop the zip in the (internal) sd root? Since you recommended a system format I also assume it has to be on an external card (though, presumably after formatting, the zip could be dropped into internal sd with adb).

    - does the ROM need to be renamed "update.zip" or does the recovery menu allow the user to navigate to any zip file? (I assume the latter, since with AOKP, GAPPs also needs to be installed)

    - when toggling from safe back to non-safe, you noted it "restores" the stock system -- does that mean it copies back stock system+data to its original location while completely overwriting the custom ROM? In other words, if the user toggles back again to safe the previous custom ROM is now gone?

    EDIT: BTW, forgot to mention I did my first stock (nonsafe) backup WITHOUT an sd card, so I can verify that it works -- it creates an /sdcard/safestrap/backup folder with the backup data -- which I can navigate to during recovery to restore.

    -Matt
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2012
  5. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    ROM does not need to be renamed, and when you go back to non-safe it is supposed to copy over your custom ROM so you can switch back. I've never done this myself.

    Sent from the best 3G phone on Verizon.
  6. gadgetrants
    Offline

    gadgetrants Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Messages:
    1,164
    Likes Received:
    126
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Cool, if I give it a try I'll let you know if it works! Thanks. :)

    -Matt
  7. unboostedzc
    Offline

    unboostedzc New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    sorry if this has been answered in one of the previous pages, but i'm having issues getting back to non safe mode.

    currently running on [K]INETX on .901. i downgraded, forever-rooted, got to .901. installed safestrap, i believe made a backup in unsafe mode, then enabled safe mode and flashed [K]INETX. i am not positive about making a backup in non-safe mode, but i think i did.

    im wanting to get to .902 and axi0m. what would be the preferred method to do this not being positive if i have a non-safe backup?

    i also cannot disable safe mode at this time when booting in to safestrap recovery. it says i've only got 44MB of space on /emmc and errors when trying to revert back.

    thanks for the help
    jonathan
  8. Dave12308
    Offline

    Dave12308 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,269
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    0
    On my Bionic, it seems to work well as a pseudo-dual-boot setup; so long as you remember to keep enough free space on your internal phone memory (I have found that if this runs low, it may tell you that /data has been backed up successfully, but when it goes to restore it will be corrupt).

    non-safe mode = stock 5.9.902 OS
    safe mode = ICS ROM

    I am able to switch between them seemlessly, with changes persisting between OS "swaps"
  9. imjarhed
    Offline

    imjarhed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just ran into a problem and I'm hoping someone can help. Have been running safestrap and it is fantastic. I tried going from Disabled today and phone started doing its thing. Then it said restoring original system, then it errored. When I rebooted I had a new phone, thank goodness for backup. I uninstalled safestrap and was going to reinstall however when I rebooted it came up to the flash screen of safestrap. How do I get safestrap completely gone so I can start over again? Also will the backup I did from non-safe still be good?
  10. DroidBionicNewToRoot
    Offline

    DroidBionicNewToRoot New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey I'm using safe strap to install a rom and when i clicked on the rom it gave me to options system/ and meta-inf/ witch do i pick??
  11. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    You aren't in safestrap if you are clicking anything.

    You need to leave the zip file intact where you can find it and install it through the safestrap recovery screen on reboot.
  12. jb_alphamale
    Offline

    jb_alphamale New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Brilliant. I fully understand how it works now. Created 2 backups in non-safe and safe mod and tested them (recovered ROMs). One stock and one custom. Worked flawlessly.
    Thank you very much guidot. You the man.:icon_ lala:
  13. FerretWithASpork
    Offline

    FerretWithASpork New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't get it D: I did everything you said in the guide, I'm using the '2012-03-16 [Beta 2012-03-16]' zip file from hash-of-codes plus the 'gapps-ics-20120429-signed.zip' right after and it just bootloops.
  14. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Have you tried just the rom?

    See if that boots and we'll go from there.

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2
  15. davros
    Offline

    davros Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester MA
    Ahhhh 3-16 beta? Why so old? That rom is Prolly so broken .... try the newest nighties of the d3 aokp or cm9 or the gummy roms.

    Oh ya try the 0317 gasps also I've had crappy luck with the 429

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2
    Last edited: May 29, 2012
  16. FerretWithASpork
    Offline

    FerretWithASpork New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I downloaded the nightly from yesterday and tried that, same thing, bootloop. With and without the GAPPS zip as well.
  17. guidot
    Offline

    guidot Developer Relations Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,352
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Are you wiping everything?

    How long are you letting it boot?

    After wipe system, cache, data and dalvik, first boot can take upwards of five minutes.

    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2
  18. FerretWithASpork
    Offline

    FerretWithASpork New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I left it sitting for more than 5 minutes and it just reboots itself constantly.

    I followed your guide exactly. Activated Safe System, reboot, Wiped data, Wiped Cache, formatted /system, wipe Dalvik, install from Zip. It reboots, gets to the "hit menu for recovery" I let it sit and the screen goes black, but the screen is still on. Then the screen turns off and it reboots. I've left it sitting like that for 5 minutes and it just keeps looping through reboots.
  19. davros
    Offline

    davros Premium Member Premium Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2,837
    Likes Received:
    29
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Worcester MA
    First off you can't flash those nightlies with out gapps, again try the 0317's.

    Now ... just to get things straight. Your sure your in SAFE mode.

    ....

    Maybe for needed purposes go back to non-safe, and see if it even boots. If so, uninstall recovery and reboot then try again.

    Install recovery with safestrap
    Boot into cmw
    Enable safe mode ... making sure it backs up everything
    Wipe wipe wipe wipe wipe.. seriously do it 5 times each dalvik too
    Flash rom
    Flash gapps
    Reboot
    Cross fingers
    Wait for it

    Let's try also not flashing the ICS roms, and start with a GB rom...

    My eclipse port (try the 1.1 oc'd version)
    Or any of the others

    We'll get that to work ... them we can move on to an experimental rom

    Ok?




    Sent from my DROID3 using Tapatalk 2
  20. FerretWithASpork
    Offline

    FerretWithASpork New Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Im definitely in safe mode. when I turn off safe mod I go back to my stock settings. Ill givea different gb rom a try when I get home from work tonight or tomorrow.
Search tags for this page
how to flash using safestrap
,
how to use how-to safestrap
,

how to use safestrap

,
how to use safestrap 3
,
how to use safestrap recovery
,
safestrap
,
safestrap backup
,
safestrap galaxy nexus
,
using safestrap
,
using safestrap to flash roms
,
where does safestrap save backups
,
where does safestrap store backups