[How To:] Root Your Droid 3

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by pc747, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. drjorge
    Offline

    drjorge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    idk if i rooted my d3, i used the adb method( the one thats not the on click... new-host-2:platform-tools iqbalquadir$ ./adb shell
    shell@cdma_solana:/$ rm /data/local/12m
    shell@cdma_solana:/$ mv /data/local/12m.bak /data/local/12m
    shell@cdma_solana:/$ mv /data/local.prop /data/local.prop.bak
    shell@cdma_solana:/$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_netmon_usb=0" > /data/local.prop
    shell@cdma_solana:/$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_netmon_ih=0" >> /data/local.prop
    shell@cdma_solana:/$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_res_core=0" >> /data/local.prop
    shell@cdma_solana:/$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_res_panic=0" >> /data/local.prop
    shell@cdma_solana:/$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_all_adb=1" >> /data/local.prop
    shell@cdma_solana:/$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_all_core=0" >> /data/local.prop
    shell@cdma_solana:/$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_efem=0" >> /data/local.prop
    shell@cdma_solana:/$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_bp_log=0" >> /data/local.prop
    shell@cdma_solana:/$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_ap_mot_log=0" >> /data/local.prop
    shell@cdma_solana:/$ echo "ro.sys.atvc_allow_gki_log=0" >> /data/local.prop
    shell@cdma_solana:/$ new-host-2:platform-tools iqbalquadir$ ./adb shell
    root@cdma_solana:/#
    root@cdma_solana:/# ./adb install
    ./adb: not found
    root@cdma_solana:/# ./adb root
    ./adb: not found
    root@cdma_solana:/# new-host-2:platform-tools iqbalquadir$


    thats wat i did...


    am i rooted cuz it says im not rooted
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011
  2. licotto
    Offline

    licotto New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm new to this forum, but I have come across this article today that shows how to root what seems to be ANY Motorola phone running Gingerbread:

    [ROOT] Droid 3 root instructions (One Click added for Windows/ Linux/ OSX) don't know if this is new news on here -I did a quick scan-thru of the posts here but didn't notice anything listed...my apologies upfront if I doubled-up on the news!

    I'm currently on a DX2, but have wanted to swap to a Droid3 -I'm thinking this may finally allow me!
  3. drjorge
    Offline

    drjorge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    that one doesnt work for me.... sadly

    btw it has been posted
  4. BluPhire
    Offline

    BluPhire New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So I've followed the steps, and i'd ASSume im only "Soft Rooted" since i cant use Barnicle WiFi Tether or any other "root" apps. Within the ./adb, the last line in my Terminal reads:

    root@cdma_solana:/#

    what do i do now?

    Thanks

    *EDIT*

    Using a Mac btw ;p

    And this is where my SU.apk is located:

    Users/matthewkruger/Superuser.apk

    I'd like a dummy-proof command line to put in after "root@cdma_solana:/#"

    thanks
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2011
  5. Yonnor
    Offline

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Tethering doesn't work at this time with 2.3.4.

    Best bet would be to try again and talk to the RootzWiki guy who made the 1-click method

    Sent via Optimus Prime
  6. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    @ drjorge and BluPhire: Yes, you have 'soft root'. When you see in the prompt "root" instead of "shell" and your cursor has changed from $ to #, that means you are running as root. Now you need to follow woodyman's post in #8 of this thread, get his file that contains BOTH su and Superuser.apk and put them in the correct places and set the permissions.

    Specifically, take su and Superuser.apk and put them on your computer in the same location as ADB. Then once you get to the root@cdma_solana:/# prompt, do these commands:
    Code:
    mount -o remount,rw /dev/null /system
    exit
    adb push su /system/xbin
    abd push Superuser.apk /system/app
    adb shell
    chmod 6755 /system/xbin/su
    mount -o remount,ro /dev/null /system
    reboot
    good luck
    Last edited: Aug 30, 2011
  7. drjorge
    Offline

    drjorge New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    it worked thanks but in your code (mount -o remount,ro /dev/null /sytem) system is spelled wrong,
  8. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    any one know if this works for ota gb?? i am part of the soak test for d2. just got it tonight. think i may give it a try tomorrow... any thoughts?
  9. Snow02
    Offline

    Snow02 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,342
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah, it'll work.
  10. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    is there a one touch method yet? this seems like a lot of work lol
  11. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok I got the one touch. Just wondering. Is there an unroot method?

    Sent from my D2 GB Apex 2.0 @1.4ghz
  12. Yonnor
    Offline

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    There is no unroot method or SBF available at this time.

    Beamed down from my Droid 3
  13. aramos87
    Offline

    aramos87 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Where did you get the one click method? Was it the one from Rootzwiki?
  14. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yes it was

    Sent from my D2 GB Apex 2.0 @1.4ghz
  15. aramos87
    Offline

    aramos87 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well I'm going to hope that it works for my D3, haha. Ive seen posts of ppl having success with this method, but also ones that havent. I guess I'll just take the plunge and see. thanks.
  16. americanz
    Offline

    americanz New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2011
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Yeah its easy. But im still hoping its as easy to undo

    Sent from my D2 GB Apex 2.0 @1.4ghz
  17. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Thx drjorge, I fixed it. . . .
  18. aramos87
    Offline

    aramos87 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2011
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    We arent going to be able to undo it until and SBF file comes out for it... lets hope soon.. I have decided to wait to root my D3 to see if/when an OTA comes out.. and would like an SBF out first also in case something goes wrong.
  19. hufn
    Offline

    hufn New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The third parties I believe do not work, however you can get teether. I used this and it works very well.. Sometimes doesn't connect right away but I have had very few problems.

    Check this post - directions are verynstraight forward just follow to the letter...

    [GUIDE]TBH inspired Free wireless tethering hack instructions for Droid 3 - xda-developers
  20. solar
    Offline

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal
    I read all the explanations given by woodyman, Dan Rosenberg and Pete (from rootzwiki). Very cool information. I'm glad I was able to read up on how it works before I did it. I used the one-click (pete's motorola root tools) and it worked flawlessly. I read the original commands then looked at the script in the one-click tools, which were the same, but just save you tons of time on typing commands. Thanks to everyone who worked on this. I'll need to gather info to donate some $ to those involved. My D3 feels whole again w/ root!
    :icon_ banana:
Search tags for this page
droid 3 easy root script v5
,
droid 3 root
,
hack and root verizon motorola droid 3
,

how to root droid 3

,
how to root droid 3 on mac
,
how to root droid3
,
how to root my droid 3 xt862 using a mac laptop
,
motorola droid 3 end user drivers
,
motorola end user driver droid 3
,
root droid 3
,

root droid3

,
root your droid 3