[How To:] Root Your Droid 3

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by pc747, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. jstafford1

    jstafford1 DF Super Moderator Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    11,062
    Likes Received:
    1,214
    Trophy Points:
    573
    Location:
    Hebron, Oh.
    Ratings:
    +1,329
    Twitter:
    jstaff79
    anyone got a link to the 32 bit drivers. Can't find them anywhere.
     
  2. i4mt3hwin

    i4mt3hwin Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry for being retarded, but how are you guys uninstalling the bloat? Just Terminal Emulator? If so what is the command? rm "location/file" ?
     
  3. Mungo Baobab

    Mungo Baobab Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gang,

    Regarding the bloat ware. XDA Devs are recommending holding off on removal of the bloatware since we do not have any recovery options, and if you remove something important you may have a soft brick. One person's recommendation was to rename the apks as .bak so they are at least still on the phone if you do start getting FC's. Just a precaution.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2011
  4. ACalcutt

    ACalcutt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Finally got home to a working adb :-D. rooting was successful and wicked easy. :-D
     
  5. Maverick0984

    Maverick0984 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2009
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I also said this in post #29 of this thread.
     
  6. Bloodhawlk

    Bloodhawlk New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    after i get root prompt and try to adb push it says its not found. any ideas or tips???
     
  7. Cdjones187

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well I thought I followed instructions to a T, but after inputting all the commands I'm not ending up with the "#" symbol and can go no further. What am I doing wrong???????? I didn't get any errors while putting in the exploit..


    EDIT: NVM, was excited and expected immediate "#", forgot to reboot!
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2011
  8. militant

    militant Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2011
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Quick question before I root. Is there anyway to back up the stock rom? I have insurance, so if I ever need to turn the phone back in under insurance, I'd like to be able to do so. Also what are the must have apps and little things to do when first getting root? I will be popping my root cherry.
     
  9. Cdjones187

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Having an issue using adb push. Im logged into shell but when i use the push command it saying adb not found. Any ideas? Sorry, first time having to use ADB..
     
  10. ACalcutt

    ACalcutt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    you don't do the push inside adb shell. exit adb shell then do the adb push commands
     
  11. Johnnyb

    Johnnyb Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Go for the One-Click method and don't look back... This process just worked perfectly for me.
     
  12. dazoe

    dazoe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone else notice that following the original method from Security Research by Dan Rosenberg after the final reboot the owner on data changes back to system:system and local.prop.bak was deleted?

    Kinda makes me wonder... maybe just adding .bak is not ideal.

    edit: and what i mean by what i said is I did not change the owner of data back to system or rm local.prop.bak it did that by it's self. Also i did not use the one-click and using 12m for the link cause a directory to be made... /data/batch it'd be better to just use /data/local/12m/batch for the link instead.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2011
Search tags for this page
droid 3 easy root script v5
,
droid 3 root
,

how to root droid 3

,
how to root droid 3 on mac
,
how to root droid3
,
motorola droid 3 end user drivers
,
motorola end user driver droid 3
,
root droid 3
,
root droid3
,
root your droid 3