[How To:] Root Your Droid 3

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by pc747, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. technogeek00

    technogeek00 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks to everyone that worked on the root.
    Off to bring some vanilla flavor to the D3...
     
  2. DroidXDoes4G

    DroidXDoes4G Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Now get Root Uninstaller from the market and get all of that bloatware out of the way.
     
  3. technogeek00

    technogeek00 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2011
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Here is an interesting problem. Did the manual steps just fine to root the phone and it was rooted.
    Then ran: mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/system /system
    Was still fine.
    Then rebooted, and root is gone.

    Figured maybe I missed a step, its been a long day I'm tired, lets let the auto-scripts try.
    Scripts run, after the link->reboot->local.prop->reboot->root!
    Out of curiosity, reboot again. No more root.
    It seems root simply does not want to stick on my D3 after a reboot, or am I missing something?
     
  4. dracos

    dracos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The same thing happen to me and I just thought I messed up while rooting. I havent rebooted since I froze the bloatware so I dont know if I will lose root upon reboot again.
     
  5. DroidXDoes4G

    DroidXDoes4G Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    I have rebooted, and still have root.
     
  6. LT*

    LT* Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2010
    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't think you're supposed to reboot until you move the two files Woodyman provided to the appropriate folders. Unless you did that, then I'm no help.
     
  7. dracos

    dracos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well thats the thing I rebooted after finishing all the rooting steps, after the reboot root was gone so I will try rebooting again and see if it sticks this time.
     
  8. DroidXDoes4G

    DroidXDoes4G Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Does this work on the Droid X2 with Android 2.3.3?
    I am referring to the 1Click Method.
     
  9. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
    I replied about this in your other thread.

    Sent from my A855, while on the move.
     
  10. Johnnyb

    Johnnyb Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    There are several one-click methods out there but the one I used did report working on the DX2. I used the one referenced earlier in this thread...I think it was from RootzWiki.

    EDIT: One-Click method that worked for me.
     
  11. teddyearp

    teddyearp Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,804
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    Ratings:
    +9
    Current Phone Model:
    Motorola XT1103 (Nexus 6)
    For those of you having ADB problems with the manual method, you still have to turn on USB debugging on your phone (any android phone) for ADB to be able to work with it. Also, I wouldn't use any version later than v6 since they changed a bunch of stuff making it harder to work with. I also have a file called "proxoid.exe" that contains just adb.exe and the .dll file if you want to do a totally stripped down install of ABD.

    Now don't forgtet to install busybox one way or another . . . .
     
  12. FinalTrigger

    FinalTrigger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys, i just did the one click method from Rootzwiki (link was given previously) it worked flawlessly. Thanks...now all we gotta figure out is if theres a way to unroot the phone. Only because i have insurance on the phone :icon_evil:
     
Search tags for this page
droid 3 easy root script v5
,
droid 3 root
,
how to root droid3
,

how to root droid 3

,
how to root droid 3 on mac
,
motorola droid 3 end user drivers
,
motorola end user driver droid 3
,
root droid3
,
root droid 3
,
root your droid 3