[How To:] Root Your Droid 3

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by pc747, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. bOOm_cORNEr_sHOt
    Offline

    bOOm_cORNEr_sHOt New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I tried to use the one click root method by Psouza but I keep getting a jit exception error. The crappy part is I cannot post the pop up error box on. Xda as a new member cannot post url links. If anyone has run across this error and can point me in the right direction.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 12, 2011
  2. wojtalsd
    Offline

    wojtalsd New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Make sure USB debugging is enabled. Try a different USB port. Or try a different USB cable.
  3. bOOm_cORNEr_sHOt
    Offline

    bOOm_cORNEr_sHOt New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    yup, i tried all the usb ports but kept getting this error. I was able to get it done via my wifes laptop so maybe my pc is about to shyt the bed. happily rooted now.
  4. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Droid 2g 2.3.3 rooted
    with MotorolaOneClickRoot_psouza4
    thanks this is great
  5. papparoche
    Offline

    papparoche New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How du u root the droid 3 plz help

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
  6. themib
    Offline

    themib Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,436
    Likes Received:
    27
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    South Dakota
    run one click on computer more here
    1. Make sure you have Motorola drivers installed - LINK to x64 drivers(64-bit) LINK to x86 drivers(32-bit)
    2. Download and unzip 'MotorolaOneClickRoot_psouza4' - LINK MotorolaOneClickRoot_psouza4
    3. On your phone: Settings > Applications > Development > USB debugging(check box)
    4. Plug phone into computer and select "Charge Only" mode
    5. Navigate to 'MotorolaOneClickRoot_psouza4' folder and run 'MotorolaOneClickRoot.exe'
    6. Now just follow the instructions in the command window and unlock the phone after each reboot.

    suppose to work on droid 3
  7. teddyearp
    Offline

    teddyearp Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    1,800
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Randle, WA
    LOL! Um, yeah, hehehe. . .
  8. ModLife
    Offline

    ModLife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Finally

    so...Im finally rooteddancedroid.....so im staring at the command promptesque window SWEATING my stuff off...half ready to puke...if this goes south im SCREWED:rating00:....but it all ran smooth...i usedmotorola end user driver 5.2.0_64bit.msi and the droid 3 easy root scri[t as posted on like page 3 or so....CAN NOT WAIT to start freezin apps.
  9. ModLife
    Offline

    ModLife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Sorry

    it the droid 3 easy root scriptv7.zip
  10. dAmnDroid
    Offline

    dAmnDroid New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    So I have a Droid 2 Global and I was told to root via the Droid 3 way because I have android 2.3.3
    I'm very confused on how to root because the motorolaoneclickroot didn't work, gingerbreak didnt work. ugh
  11. solar
    Offline

    solar Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2009
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    So Cal
    The Droid2 should totally be able to be rooted this way. I'm pretty sure, I did my stepdads this way, but now I can't remember.... just check out the carious paged here and make sure to try all the things like make sure USB debuggin is on, try different usb ports, etc..
  12. must_i_register
    Offline

    must_i_register New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got up the courage to try to root and got these lousy errors from the one-touch software. Can someone provide feedback on this? I'm a computer geek but not a phone geek so I'm in over my technical level.

    Thanks
    View attachment 40948
  13. nu2droid
    Offline

    nu2droid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    See avatar
    Try this from Peter at xda... Pete's Motorola Root Tools
    It was as easy as it looks.
  14. must_i_register
    Offline

    must_i_register New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2010
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Awesome, worked perfect, thanks! Switched from my workhorse running XP-Prp to my laptop running Win7 and followed the instructions, very easy. Thanks again!! dancedroid:icon_ banana:
  15. nu2droid
    Offline

    nu2droid Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2010
    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    See avatar
    Glad it worked... Enjoy
  16. Ossoblanco
    Offline

    Ossoblanco New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Here and There
    So I am doing the necessary research in order to root my phone. This is the first time I have ever tried this out and want to make sure I get it right the first time so I don't have to spend the rest of the week hoping my hair grows back and trying to unbrick my phone. I have downloaded and set up ABD shell on my computer and have been able to connect to my phone using mac's Terminal. I have also downloaded Titanium Backup onto my phone. Is it possible to push the necessary files onto my phone from my computer using bluetooth file transfer? Also I am curious how to get Root Explorer from my computer onto my phone, can anyone help me with this?
  17. Ossoblanco
    Offline

    Ossoblanco New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Here and There
    So I found this website that provides a pretty easy method for rooting a D3 using a Mac How to Root Motorola Droid 3 for Linux and Mac OSX users | SLEETHERZ. I am pretty new to this so I figured I would offer up a couple of quick tips in order to help anyone else attempting this that might need a hand.

    Download the file and unzip it somewhere you can get to it easily using the Terminal program on your Mac,
    Once you have changed your directory in Terminal to the folder containing the "run_to_root_your_droid3.sh" file all you have to do is type in the following command: sh run_to_root_your_droid3.sh Then wait and follow the directions.
    If you try using the ~s or open commands to run the .sh file it either wont work or you will end up having it open in text edit and not working.
    All of the other information you might need can be found on the page I included the link for. You can also check out . Even though that video is for a Bionic and not D3 it is all the same steps.

    Now to start getting rid of this f'in bloatware dancedroid
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2011
  18. FinalTrigger
    Offline

    FinalTrigger New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hey guys quick question. I finally re-rooted my phone after the Verizon update that im guessing got rid of my root. I used the one button root from Pete's Motorola Root Tools. Now is it required for me to also run the .ADB Root Procedure?
  19. BJPalmer85
    Offline

    BJPalmer85 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2011
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    I am going to use the one click root method to root my D3.

    Once that is done how do i remove bloat? will i be able to update with the bloat removed?

    B
  20. Ossoblanco
    Offline

    Ossoblanco New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2011
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Here and There
    Here is a link to a script that Psouza4 wrote to help you remove bloat. [Script] Safe bloat removal script (50+ apps) [UPDATED 9/1/2011] - xda-developers. There are some things you may not want it to remove so read through this blog carefully to figure out what you do and dont want. I have compiled a list of all the things that I have frozen using Root Explorer although I accidentally froze blurhome2.apk and odex before installing a new launcher and have spent the past 10+ hours sifting through blogs and other websites trying to solve this issue. I have not had any issues with any of the other files I froze so far. If you would like me to send you/post the list of files I've frozen I'm happy to, just keep in mind that I'm pretty new to this game.
Search tags for this page
droid 3 easy root script v5
,
droid 3 root
,
hack and root verizon motorola droid 3
,

how to root droid 3

,
how to root droid 3 on mac
,
how to root droid3
,
how to root my droid 3 xt862 using a mac laptop
,
motorola droid 3 end user drivers
,
motorola end user driver droid 3
,
root droid 3
,

root droid3

,
root your droid 3