[How To:] Root Your Droid 3

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by pc747, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. Cdjones187

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, I was getting extremely frustrated about threw my phone across the room! lol Someone should re-post that here for reference.
     
  2. Yonnor

    Yonnor I r Teh Greetest

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    San Diego
    Ratings:
    +2
    I can also vouch the 1-Click Method via Rootzwiki works.

    PS: I used version 7, I have ubuntu 11.04
     
  3. Cdjones187

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah the one click worked great, except now my 3g doesn't work. Its "connected" but not active. (3g is blue when active, mine is stuck white)
     
  4. Johnnyb

    Johnnyb Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You've probably already done this but try a reboot? I rebooted mine as soon as I had root...'cause I'm weird like that and I have no issue's at all with my 3g.
     
  5. dazoe

    dazoe Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2009
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    The one-click method leaves the /system mounted as read-write... so it's a good idea to reboot after the one-click method was used
     
  6. Cdjones187

    Cdjones187 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2010
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Iowa
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've rebooted twice, battery pull for 30 seconds, did the airplane mode toggle, manually disabled data and re-enabled. Even *228 and updated roaming. Still nothing. Data on my other phones work.


    EDIT: Right after i posted this it came back on its own.. I'll just blame verizon, or maybe the radio.
     
  7. DroidXDoes4G

    DroidXDoes4G Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    "1. Make sure you have Motorola drivers installed - [Download Drivers] 2. Download and unzip ‘Droid 3 easy root script v5′ - [Download 1-Click] 3. On your phone: Settings > Applications > Development > USB debugging(check box) 4. Plug phone into computer and select “Charge Only” mode 5. Navigate to ‘Droid 3 easy root’ folder and run ‘Click to root your Droid 3.bat’ 6. Now just follow the instructions in the command window and unlock the phone after each reboot."

    I have a few questions...

    1. What does unlock the phone after each reboot supposed to mean?
    2. Do I just plug in my phone to my Mac, and open run_to_root_your_droid3.sh and it does the hard work for me?
     
    #55 DroidXDoes4G, Aug 25, 2011
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2011
  8. DroidXDoes4G

    DroidXDoes4G Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Mine stops and says "waiting for phone to be connected..."
    And mine is on charging only,with USB debugging on.
     
  9. Johnnyb

    Johnnyb Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are you sure the drivers are installed and functioning?

    Sent from my D3, waiting for root to unleash this beast.
     
  10. DroidXDoes4G

    DroidXDoes4G Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    947
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Yea I did.
    But I tried it on my Mac and it worked.

    Soooo...not this baby is rooted, how do I freeze the bloatware?
    And does Android overclock work for it? ( I don't expect it to )
     
  11. BenLand150

    BenLand150 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2010
    Messages:
    1,815
    Likes Received:
    103
    Trophy Points:
    93
    Location:
    Lincoln, NE
    Ratings:
    +103
    For easy root, how do I download the Motorola Drivers? Do I open it onto my phone? Or? Same thing with the Easy Root script?
     
  12. guidot

    guidot Developer Relations
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,347
    Likes Received:
    274
    Trophy Points:
    198
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    Ratings:
    +274
Search tags for this page
droid 3 easy root script v5
,
droid 3 root
,

how to root droid 3

,
how to root droid 3 on mac
,
how to root droid3
,
motorola droid 3 end user drivers
,
motorola end user driver droid 3
,
root droid 3
,
root droid3
,
root your droid 3