[How To:] Root Your Droid 3

Discussion in 'Droid 3 Hacks' started by pc747, Aug 25, 2011.

  1. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,380
    Likes Received:
    1,627
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,666
    Droid 3 possibly rooted

    Security Research by Dan Rosenberg

    Have any one tried this:


    Below is a method posted by woodyman along with the zip file for su.


     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2011
  2. Mungo Baobab

    Mungo Baobab Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2010
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Droid 3 rooted--- Details to follow

    Gang, Droid-Life is reporting that our beloved Droid 3 has been rooted. They (we) are waiting for official photo's. If its so, Mungo is dancing the Gig!!

    See link from XDA. HAY Djrblis!!

    http://vulnfactory.org/blog/2011/08/...g-the-droid-3/

    G
    o team Go.
     
  3. km75

    km75 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    I just posted a thread on this. Would love to try it out. Can you tell me what is meant by logging in using "adb shell"?

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  4. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,380
    Likes Received:
    1,627
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,666
    adb shell is a command used via android debug bridge.
     
  5. leobg

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Huh, anybody tried that yet?

    Edit: yes - it has been confirmed it works by people I trust :)

    Congrats community!
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2011
  6. km75

    km75 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    462
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Thanks man. Going to give it a try.

    Sent from my DROID3 using DroidForums
     
  7. ACalcutt

    ACalcutt Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2009
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is just adb root right? we still need to push su and superuser.apk to the phone with adb? Figures I just reinstalled my laptop....now i need to set up adb again.

    EDIT: I'm guessing I want to push the su and superuser from here ( http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=682828 )
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2011
  8. woodyman

    woodyman Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +4
    First I want to say I CAN NOT take credit for this nor will I post the full details because they have already been posted, so without further delay, here is a nice simple guide for all of you on how to root your precious Droid 3!

    -------------------------
    1. Head here and read thorough this once so you at least semi-understand what's going on!
    2. If you don't have ADB installed and setup, then do a quick search for a guide there are multiple out there and most are quite good. You can also set it up following the directions straight from Google, but they are a bit complicated if your not entirely sure about this stuff. Android SDK | Android Developers
    3. After that, then head HERE again and follow his instructions.
    4. At the end when you get the # symbol in ADB for root then you will need to do the following..
    5. Download the 2 attached files and save to your desktop
    6. First you need to write the system partition as RW so you can write things to it in order to get a permanent root.
    7. SO run the following command.
    8. Code:
      mount -o rw,remount /dev/block/system /system
    9. Next copy the 2 attached files from your desktop to the perspective directories on your Droid 3
    10. For example my commands where as follows:
    Code:
    adb push '/home/woodyman/Desktop/su' /system/xbin 
    adb push '/home/woodyman/Desktop/Superuser.apk' /system/app
    adb shell 
    chmod 4755 /system/xbin/su
    

    ---------------------------
    This way done using linux, [Ubuntu 11.04] So commands will be a bit different with windows..

    This is just a rough quick sketch up for everyone, I will refine it and add more details tonight, I Just wanted to get it up for now so everyone had the chance if they wanted.
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2011
  9. Pleirosei

    Pleirosei Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Makes me want to but the phone, but its 3g. Frownz

    Jesus is the Christ
     
  10. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,380
    Likes Received:
    1,627
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,666
    merged threads.
     
  11. woodyman

    woodyman Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    68
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +4
    I posted separate so it would be the first message any way you can rearrange so that that is closer to the top, the main reason I made the thread is because he talks you through how to get TEMP ROOT so after that there is no more instruction which is why I made the thread to provide more instruction so the average person knows what to do next in order to get a permanant root

    Just aiming to keep things uncluttered was all.

     
  12. leobg

    leobg Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2010
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Doesn't su require suid permissions to be set? 4755 to be exact?
     
  13. NoBloatware

    NoBloatware Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    No thanks. LTE burns battery and 3G is fast enough to make me happy. If the phone had 4G I'd probably have it off all of the time. Also, it would make the phone bulkier.
     
  14. dracos

    dracos Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    65
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    yes ensure you do a chmod 4755 /system/xbin/su

    I now have Titanium installed and running backups. I just have to get a list of the apps I need to boot off :)
     
  15. Pleirosei

    Pleirosei Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Has 4g been bad on every 4g device?

    Jesus is the Christ
     
Search tags for this page
droid 3 easy root script v5
,
droid 3 root
,

how to root droid 3

,
how to root droid 3 on mac
,
how to root droid3
,
motorola droid 3 end user drivers
,
motorola end user driver droid 3
,
root droid 3
,
root droid3
,
root your droid 3