How to get the REAL Circles widget on OG RAZR

Discussion in 'Droid RAZR' started by bosshog85, Jan 20, 2013.

  1. avenged61973
    Offline

    avenged61973 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    You will have to delete the circle widget files and reinstall from the zip you originally downloaded.
     
  2. yaterml
    Offline

    yaterml Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    1. Go to system>app and rename the following file:

    Weather.apk to Weather.bak

    com.motorola.homescreen.apk to homescreen.back

    2. Download and install:

    Launcher for Razr M (com.motorola.homescreen.apk)
    Weather for Razr M (weather.apk)

    - Copy launcher to system/app
    - Set permission to RW-R-R
    - Tap on each of the Apks to install them from the system/app folder with this these permissions so they write the setting to the file.
    Contrary to popular belief you don't need to install Circles as a system app and will actually cause a system lag.
    I also recommend you install notifications.apk for Razr M as well is will display a count of missed or unread messages on the system tray icon.
     
  3. yaterml
    Offline

    yaterml Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Don't move circles to system app folder... It causes some errors and a lot of lag.

    This is why I recommend Titanium Backup don't need the license to use move to system app feature at least you didn't used to need it.
     
  4. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,052
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,652
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    OK, so I am downloading TIBU now. In the mean time, I went to System/App and I don't have a Weather.apk or com.motorola.homescreen.apk (see screen shots from Root Browser below).

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    I also have a homescreen.apk in System/app, but it's the newly installed version and I didn't move it there...that's where it put itself (see below).

    [​IMG]

    I am having difficulty finding the apps installed and also the system versions. I have BOTH homescreens and can switch between them. I am also given the option to choose a default, and if I am running the M homescreen and hit the GPS off, it crashes. Once crashed, if I hit the home button I'm given the default options again.

    I just installed TIBU but can't see how to get into the file manager option.
     
  5. yaterml
    Offline

    yaterml Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Let me grab root explorer fox I use es file explore.

    Check your regular app folder I assume that you will have one homescreen in that folder.
     
  6. yaterml
    Offline

    yaterml Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    I am going to assume since it keeps crashing on GPS toggle you still have it as a user app not a system app. Weather should be in that folder as well. If you installed it as a regular apk it puts those in the regular app folder not sure system apps.
     
  7. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,052
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,652
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
  8. avenged61973
    Offline

    avenged61973 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2012
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +7
    When you open up titanium backup and it finishes loading the apps, goto backup/restore. It's at the top of the screen. Scroll down to homescreen 1.1.0.568 build 294. Long press it and select convert to system app and your done!
     
  9. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,052
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,652
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    No doubt, but I can't explain how the Homescreen.apk (the M version) got into the System/App folder or how it got System Permissions. It is both rw.r..r.. and 0 Root, yet it still acts like it's installed as a non-system app.
     
  10. yaterml
    Offline

    yaterml Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Before hand go to batch operations and backup all user apps and system data

    Then see above
    Then remove old homescreen
     
  11. yaterml
    Offline

    yaterml Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Did you do a reinstall as with those settings? If you install the an apk then move it the system still sees it as an user app not until you write to the system with those permissions does it change to a system app.
     
  12. yaterml
    Offline

    yaterml Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    315
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Okay not important let's get you fixed up then we can figure out what happen.
    Run a batch backup
    Then long press to turn homescreen to a system apl
    Then remove old home screen
    Then we can run through the "how did this happen?"
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. Krenzy
    Offline

    Krenzy Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yeah now I'm lost lol. I'll wait for the step by step guide ;)
     
  14. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,052
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,652
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
    Hehe...yeah. I'm not sure we'll ever figure out "how this happened", but what I do know is when installing those apps, it said that they were system apps and asked me if I wanted to proceed. I said yes, so apparently it at least tried to replace the system versions. What I don't understand is how I can still have the old system version of Homescreen and yet can't find it in either Data/App or System/App.

    I am running backup now.

    Edit; By the way, here's what is in the Data/App folder for Homescreen and CirclesWidget...
    [​IMG]

    It's actually quite strange in fact...all the apps in that folder have either a "-1" or a "-2" after them in the name as shown above.
     
  15. FoxKat
    Offline

    FoxKat Resident Novelist...LOL! Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    10,052
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Ratings:
    +1,652
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo, and Nexus 6!
Search tags for this page
circle widget razr
,
circles widget for droid razr
,

circles widget razr

,
droid razr circle widget
,
droid razr circles widget
,
motorola circles widget apk
,
razr circles widget
,
the circles widget is not supported
,
the circles widget is not supported on 3rd party home screen
,
widget android