[RECOVERY] Amon Ra Recovery Image [FASTBOOT]

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by macpro88, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    well you need su (often time referred to as the binary hack that actually gives you root) and then the superuser app itself just manages that root access. so its not as easy as installing the superuser app if you have not already actually rooted the phone by pushing the exploit. you can keep rom manager if you want just don't flash its recovery lol and you can actually use ROM manager to boot into recovery by using that option, even though you don't have that recovery installed.
     
  2. athack

    athack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    thats just what i did i reflashed but kept rom manager... i didnt do anything in amon ra recovery with su this time do i have to? i still have root... i did create nandroid backup in amon ra recovery can i rename and move it to sd2?
     
  3. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    the only time you need to reroot is if you flash back to stock, most ROM are already rooted and even after a factory reset, you just need the superuser app from the market.
     
  4. athack

    athack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    I did create nandroid backup in amon ra recovery can i rename and move it to sd2?
     
  5. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    I generally leave backups as is, i never move them or rename them, as it can cause the recovery to not be able to find it when you need to restore it. If you really want you can just make a copy and place in a folder on your computer for safe keeping.
     
  6. athack

    athack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you your help is greatly appreciated...
     
  7. Rosas

    Rosas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Im clueless on how to install this. I don't want to mess up my phone so can anyone help me? I'm currently on a black screen with an exclamation mark and don't know if whats its doing? Can i take out the battery?
     
    #19 Rosas, Feb 18, 2012
    Last edited: Feb 18, 2012
  8. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    Yes you can take the battery out. You want to be in HBOOT to install AmonRa. After you pull the battery put it back in, then hold down power and volume down until you see a screen that says "Fastboot". Plug into your PC and if you have the necessary files, open a command prompt and change directory to your android SDK. Then issue the command "fastboot flash recovery <path to amon-ra .img file>" That will flash amon ra. Then you can choose the recovery option on your phone and you're in. You need to make sure to replace the battery covery when before you boot back into the phone otherwise you won't have any reception.
     
  9. Rosas

    Rosas New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok thanks i solved it.
     
  10. macpro88

    macpro88 Premium Member
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1,400
    Likes Received:
    83
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ratings:
    +83
    Version 3.14 of the AmonRa Recovery image is now available, see details in OP.
     
  11. athack

    athack Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2010
    Messages:
    77
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Buffalo NY
    Ratings:
    +0
    cant get it to work keeps coming up with the old version 3.13 when i go into recovery.. when im in adb command it sends...C:\Android> fastboot flash recovery recovery-ra-vigor-3.14-gnm.imgsending 'recovery' (7074 KB)...
    OKAY [ 1.384s]
    writing 'recovery'...
    OKAY [ 2.445s]
    finished. total time: 3.830s
     
  12. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator
    Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    Looks like you're spot on. Are you sure it's 3.13? You should be able to go right from HBOOT and flashing amon-ra to choose recovery(on screen) and it should be 3.14
     
Search tags for this page
amon ra’s recovery image
,
amon ra’s recovery image download
,

amon ra recovery

,
amon-ra recovery
,
amonra recovery
,
amon ra recovery download
,
amon ra recovery rezound
,
amon ra rezound
,
ra recovery
,
recovery amon ra