[RECOVERY] Amon Ra Recovery Image [FASTBOOT]

Discussion in 'HTC Rezound Development' started by macpro88, Jan 11, 2012.

  1. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    What you need to do is to download Amon-Ra, and say you drop the .img file in c:\temp. Connect your phone to the PC and reboot the phone into HBOOT(like you did to unlock). You're going to open a command prompt and change directory to where you have fastboot. Then issue the command "fastboot flash recovery c:\temp\<youramonra.img>" . This flashes Amon-Ra. Now when you reboot into recovery you can go in the developer menu and install superuser. Once you do this, reboot into the phone normally and download Superuser from the market(google play store)
     
  2. Wonmotyme

    Wonmotyme Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Good evening,

    I am in the midst of rooting my new rezound and I am stuck. I currently have the bootloader unlocked. I am currently in fastboot and it is showing unlocked fastboot usb. I have been trying to flash recovery (tried many many different things) but i keep getting errors. last being

    C:\Users\Nicole>fastboot flash recovery recovery-ra-vigor-3.14-gnm.img
    'fastboot' is not recognized as an internal or external command,
    operable program or batch file.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

    Thank you

    1mo
     
  3. Wonmotyme

    Wonmotyme Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    185
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    Not sure if you were directing your statement towards my post but in case you were. I am not running ROM manager I am trying to flash amon ra
     
  4. Bigbootyman

    Bigbootyman Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2009
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    try flashboot flash recovery amonra.img
     
  5. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    Do you have the Android SDK installed? If so you need to change directory to the Android SDK/tools directory then issue the fastboot command. If you don't have the Android SDK installed...Happy birthday. The attached file contains fastboot, adb and a few DLL's. Unzip this file and in your command prompt change directory to wherever you unzipped the file to. For example:

    Unzip the carepackage.zip file to c:\temp
    *You may want to copy your amon-ra img file there as well*
    open command prompt
    type cd\temp
    then fastboot flash recovery recovery-ra-vigor-3.14-gnm.img

    Of course you need your phone connected via USB and in HBOOT, but I'm assuming you've already done that....
     
  6. sgardner113

    sgardner113 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello all, new Rezound owner here, from an HTC Thunderbolt. OF course, being rooted, I cant stand to have a new phone and not root it. Im stuck at the above step. I have the Rezound unlocked, and it bootloader fastbootusb attached, tried the HTC sync driver install/unistall/reinstall download/delet/redownload of the amon ra file 3.14, and when I sent the recovery file over to the phone i get this:

    C:\Temp>fastboot flash recovery recovery-ra-vigor-3.14-gnm.img
    < waiting for device >
    sending 'recovery' (7074 KB)...
    OKAY [ 1.498s]
    writing 'recovery'...
    FAILED (remote: not allowed)
    finished. total time: 3.822s

    any help with this isa appreciated. I have the android folder on my c drive, but I figured I would try the above to see if I had any luck. Im stuck, it isnt working for some reason. Any help is greatly appreciated! Thank you!
     
  7. sgardner113

    sgardner113 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    also, I should expand, I still have S-ON, so I was wondering, is that what is preventing me from flashing the recovery file? I dont do this stuff often, so forgive my noobishness. At least I I got it unlocked...:biggrin:

    Just getting very frustrated here...my Thunderbolt was soooo easy to root compared to this...
     
  8. sgardner113

    sgardner113 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2012
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Aight, figured it out. Of all the stupid stuff, I had to switch to a different USB port on my comp. Gah, I feel dumb. But after that, loaded like a champ, and now Im rooted. However, it still doesnt say S-Off in the bootloader menu...guess Ill have to figure that one out.
     
  9. brewner

    brewner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    piggy backing here. anyone have mac instructions to install amonra? i've looked but it's hard to sift through threads with several pages.
     
  10. MrSmith317

    MrSmith317 Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,578
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    78
    Location:
    Philadelphia
    Ratings:
    +31
    SSDD. Get the Mac/Linux Android SDK(if you don't already have it) and from a command prompt "fastboot flash recovery <whatever_your_amon_ra_img_file_is>" and you're off and running.
     
  11. brewner

    brewner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    thank you sir! can you tell me what SSDD means? and do you mean command prompt from the terminal?
     
  12. brewner

    brewner New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    fwiw, i tried that command via terminal, and as expected, it failed. so i'm sure i'm doing something wrong (duh)
     
Search tags for this page

amon ra recovery

,
amon ra recovery download
,
amon ra recovery rezound
,
amon ra rezound
,
amon ra’s recovery image
,
amon ra’s recovery image download
,
amon-ra recovery
,
amonra recovery
,
ra recovery
,
recovery amon ra