Preparing for The Ultimate Droid 1.0.0

Discussion in 'UltimateDroid' started by Lars1, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. Lars1
    Offline

    Lars1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SL,UT
    Help with preparing for The Ultimate Droid 1.0.0

    As my title says, I am eagerly awaiting and getting prepared for this release!

    I have been on-board with UD since 3.0. I have not wiped since then, I just keep upgrading to the new version (I know, I know).

    It is well past time to wipe and start fresh but I need some advice.

    I have been (heavily) using the "install to external memory option" and have the vast majority of my apps on my SD card.

    What is the best way to back-up and restore? I have Titanium back-up (premium). But I'm not sure how (or if) I should be utilizing it. I know there is an option to have it put the apps back on the SD but I have never been able to make that work.

    Also, how do you guys manage to back-up and restore without having to re-enter all of your log-ins, passwords, bluetooth pairings, etc.?

    This is the biggest problem I have with flashing ROM's, the length of time it takes to rebuild my phone.

    Thanks so much for this forum and all of your help!
  2. dazedabyss
    Offline

    dazedabyss New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    check out some new screens of the new Rom UD 1.0.0 and a whole lot of great themes. R3Ds
    And check out the new site. Ultimate Droid more screen shots there also.dancedroid
  3. Lars1
    Offline

    Lars1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SL,UT
    Uhh, o.k.

    Any advice regarding my topic?
  4. wingdo
    Offline

    wingdo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,035
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    This helps the OP how exactly?


    Yeah, i sent this via tapatalk. You got a problem with that?
  5. OSX2000
    Offline

    OSX2000 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2010
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I haven't wiped since UD New Era 1.4.5. :icon_eek:

    Yep...it's been since Eclair. And she still runs beautifully.
  6. Droid_3.0
    Offline

    Droid_3.0 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2010
    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maryland :P
    Can we get back on topic i would also like to know how to do this
  7. Navalynt
    Offline

    Navalynt New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Anchorage, AK
    I've used MyBackup Pro in the past and it seems to work ok but for some reason a handful of the protected market apps need to be uninstalled/reinstalled after restoring the backup.
  8. The_Chief
    Offline

    The_Chief New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use the paid TiBU to batch backup apps + app data and MyBackupPro to backup SMS/MMS/call log, etc. Launcher Pro can back up your homescreen setup (minus the widgets). You WILL have to log into things again after wiping... that's the nature of the beast. But trust me, it's worth it! I was up and running again within minutes, restoring and stabilizing everything.
  9. Robbie72
    Offline

    Robbie72 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2010
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Titanium Backup always works well for me. My apps are restored very fast and I can get on with my business.
  10. dazedabyss
    Offline

    dazedabyss New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2010
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    Do your batch backup with titanium backup (backup all user apps and all system data), then when you flash the new Rom
    dl titanium backup then bring up the batch operation again (restore missing apps and all user data) deselect all then pick and choose what your going to restore. then you wont have to re enter all you information. by trial and error I figured this out!:icon_ banana:
  11. donerico
    Offline

    donerico New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    353
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Is there anything wrong with letting the market restore all applications and then just restore data from Titanium?
  12. Lars1
    Offline

    Lars1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SL,UT
    The problem I run into is the market puts all of the apps on my phone, not on the SD and I run out of space before it is half finished!

    Just a thought, after I install the new ROM maybe I could do the "tap four corners" trick, go to the UD settings, enable "External" install and then let the market do its thing.

    Has anyone tried this? Would it work?
  13. hookerdj
    Offline

    hookerdj New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    1,814
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    pittsburgh
    how many apps do you have i have about 65 and they are all on my phones memory


  14. Lars1
    Offline

    Lars1 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2009
    Messages:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    SL,UT
    I have about 140 apps. All but 65 or so are on my SD (widgets and apps that don't want to live on the SD).
  15. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    You could use TB and just stop the market from restoring by clearing data on it. Tb restores to where it was previously located.

    Sent from my Droid
  16. drpaul07
    Offline

    drpaul07 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    Does anyone make an update.zip from titanium to restore apps? i haven't used that option yet, but it sounds real easy and fast.
  17. Tanknspank
    Offline

    Tanknspank Beta Team Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    3,506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    North Carolina
    I'm thinking it just makes a update.zip of TB itself and not your backed up apps

    Sent from my Droid
  18. haijak
    Offline

    haijak New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2009
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Update all your apps.
    Do a complete Titanium Backup.
    Make a Titanium Update.zip.
    Flash Rom then Titanium.
    Tap the corners to avoid Google activation.
    Full restore from Titanium.
    Reboot.
    I'm not sure if it will ask you to activate w/Google but go ahead if it does.

    Finished.
  19. drpaul07
    Offline

    drpaul07 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Texas
    oh ok..my mistake then.
  20. js0724
    Offline

    js0724 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Have you done this before? I have tried those exact steps and phone reboots as soon as you hit restore. I'm pretty sure you need to login with google account first.

    Sent from my Droid using Tapatalk
Search tags for this page

tasstee new ceo