Need a few adventurous souls to test ApeX 1.3.1

Discussion in 'Apex' started by Fabolous, Dec 17, 2010.

  1. Fabolous

    Fabolous Superuser Developer

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Illinois
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm trying to port the newest version of Apex to the D2. This is built off the official 2.2.1 OTA update for the DX, and is Gingerbread themed. You can get some more info at this thread:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/fa...id-x-running-running-fast-can-12-16-10-a.html


    So my previous port (1.0.2.5) made use of the D2 2.3.20 system as a base, and I just added in the Apex goodies. That worked fine and dandy, but I saw that kejar31 posted this following method to porting a DX ROM to a D2 ROM:

    http://www.droidforums.net/forum/droid-x-roms/106907-attn-devs-porting-your-rom-d2-made-easy.html


    So I gave that a try, and this here is the result. So if there are a few brave souls who'd like to flash this and give me some feedback, that'd be great. I'd really like to know the following:

    1. Does the dialer and contacts app work (I had to swap in D2 versions of these apps in my previous port)

    2. Does it behave properly with the D2 hard keyboard (I'm pretty sure it will, because those files are part of kejar31's file)

    3. Does the screen shut off properly? (I remember this being an issue when I first ported Apex without using the D2 system)

    4. Does the overclock script work? (this uses a new module made for the DX's new kernel, but I think it should work with the D2 also)

    5. Any other issues that arise



    While I'm pretty sure this will boot, please know how to, and be able to SBF your phone if something goes wrong!

    -Please wipe data and cache to ensure a clean installation.

    Fabolous_ApeX_V1_3_1-D2.zip
     
  2. fishhelmet

    fishhelmet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm in. Will report back with any bugs or issues.
     
  3. fishhelmet

    fishhelmet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    so far the hard keyboard seems to be working fine, but the overclock script isn't working. The terminal emulator says that busybox isn't found
     
  4. jbeaz1023

    jbeaz1023 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    GA
    Ratings:
    +0
    Count me in too. I'll play with it this weekend and let you know how it works

    Sent from my DROID2 using DroidForums App
     
  5. fishhelmet

    fishhelmet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    also for some reason whenever I plug my phone into USB it opens a web browser to the verizon vcast media manager.
     
  6. ultima

    ultima Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2010
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    ill try it out too

    phone or pc? if ur talking about the pc, then its not a bug, you need to disable it...its been awhile since i did it but its an icon in your icon tray right click then it should say something like "connect" or somethin, click that then it should say something like "load page" and "do nothing"
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  7. mikeyinid

    mikeyinid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just came across this thread fab. You know Im down to flash your work :)
    * I also want to see if social networks worked for you using kejars update.zip. I used it on a few different roms and they were perfec, but no social networking. I know he built his rom blurless so...
    **Love it! Love that you left some blur, love the gingerbread, and no bugs yet!...Great work Fab!
     
    Last edited: Dec 18, 2010
  8. fishhelmet

    fishhelmet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks ultima, I'm an idiot, yeah it was from motoconnect on my pc icon tray. Is anyone else getting the overclocking scripts to run? I'm still having issues
     
  9. mikeyinid

    mikeyinid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +0
    What error are you getting when running oc script? I get "DX oc is not meant for this device".
     
  10. microsnook

    microsnook Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    So this is ok to flash?
     
  11. mikeyinid

    mikeyinid Premium Member Theme Developer Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2010
    Messages:
    884
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Idaho
    Ratings:
    +0
    Absolutely! Its perfect. I cant find anything wrong, other than the oc script. But I never use them anyway. This rom is perfect if your looking for aosp, with a little blur ;) I have the transitions set to fast and its very snappy and smooth. And the gingerbread theme makes you forget your running a rom with blur.
     
  12. microsnook

    microsnook Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Awesome! Ill probably flash this later today then. : D
     
  13. HerroMoto

    HerroMoto Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I want to flash it, but do I need to mount system or anything? I really want to flash this lmao.
     
  14. microsnook

    microsnook Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,291
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    Root your phone.

    Download the zip.

    Get the bootstrap app from the market.

    Make sure you flash CWR with RomManager.

    Go into bootstrap, click bootstrap.

    Then under it hit reboot recovery.

    Factory reset/wipe.

    Install zip.

    Choose zip.

    Let it go.

    Hit the power button to navigate back.

    Reboot.

    Done.
     
  15. fishhelmet

    fishhelmet Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2010
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    the error says /system/xbin/overclock.sh: cannot create/dev/nul: permission denied
    Error: Busybox not found