Let the countdown begin for Motorola Razr ICS

Discussion in 'Android News' started by pc747, May 26, 2012.

  1. jpiarull

    jpiarull Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +19
    Damnit, well that's too bad, I'm in Central NJ, get good to excellent LTE signal, at my home, 50-75% signal strangth, enough to churn out 14 mbps down, 10 mbps up, fastest speed 22.43 mbps down, 10 up, still impressive on gingerbread, can hardly wait what ICS provides me. Also note-worthy that I am averaging 40-48 hours/charge with LTE always enabled, sending lots of texts, good amount of web-browsing, some youtube and pandora.:biggrin:
     
  2. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,623
    Likes Received:
    1,334
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,426
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Now its our duty to have your favorite variety of ics in your freezer to help please the ics gods :) it will help ensure an error free soak, and quick release :p

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
     
  3. pc747

    pc747 DF Administrator Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    18,381
    Likes Received:
    1,627
    Trophy Points:
    958
    Ratings:
    +1,666
    I honestly think it is real close for the RAZR maxx. I would not be surprised to see VZW put ics info on their website after they finish pushing out the nexus update. But that is my guess barring any bugs or issue. I am interested in seeing how the RAZR handle reporting of lte and if it does better with data than the nexus on ics.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  4. Jxpinc

    Jxpinc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Athens, LAmerica
    Ratings:
    +1
    Will webtop 3.0 still allow me to watch web-only content on Hulu since we are losing the Firefox browser?
     
  5. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,623
    Likes Received:
    1,334
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,426
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Do you have any thoughts on if a new moto device will drop first? Or do you think ics will drop, then the next device?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
     
  6. jeff.wilson2000

    jeff.wilson2000 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was running an AOKP ICS ROM (Black Widow) on my Razr MAXX until about a week ago, and I can answer a few questions:
    1. The capacitive buttons remain the functional buttons (ie, there is not a "double" set of buttons). I did not see an option to NOT use the capacitive buttons with the ROM I was running.
    2. The MAXX positively *screamed* with ICS. Part of it was that it was an AOKP ROM, so it was quite stripped down with absolutely no bloat. We'll see what gets ladled on top with the official release from Motorola/Verizon, however. ;)
    I ended up going back to stock Motorola GB as there were a couple of issues that were dealbreakers for me, but it had everything to do with the ROM not being a "signed" ROM - there was a mission critical app that I use every day that would not let me install the key that I had purchased to go along with it, so the app had to run in demo mode, which disabled some key features that I require. Also, the ROM itself was rather flaky about the way that it would enable and disable background data, sometimes requiring a reboot to re-engage data (airplane mode on/off wouldn't solve it) - I think this was a function of my particular setup and this particular ROM, not of ICS in general. There were known things that were not worked out yet on this ROM.

    Overall, I was mightily impressed with ICS on my MAXX, and if it weren't for those two particular details, I would have stayed with the AOKP ROM.
     
  7. tjk629

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,035
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    Summer is coming up. So we should be seeing a slew of devices coming out in like mid June.
     
  8. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,623
    Likes Received:
    1,334
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,426
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    I hope so :D

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
     
  9. tjk629

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,035
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    I was watching more of the vids. Did moto FINALLY allow users to just use an HDMI cable to access webtop? No more forcing add ons/hacking to get it?
     
  10. vaeron

    vaeron Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    To be honest I would be upset about this, but it would be a good direction in general. I would be upset because I had to buy all the accessories in order to be able to use my phone that way.

    On a happier note, WebTop 3.0 looks pretty slick. Basically just tablet mode.
     
  11. cereal killer

    cereal killer DF Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2009
    Messages:
    11,173
    Likes Received:
    915
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Ratings:
    +933
    Current Phone Model:
    Nokia Lumia Icon
    Actually quiet a few devices that are releasing out of the box with ICS are using the capacitive buttons. The onscreen buttons are not standard across all the different handsets. SGSIII and EVO 4G LTE are just a couple examples....
     
    • Like Like x 1
  12. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,623
    Likes Received:
    1,334
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,426
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    See, that's why I like this site... always learning something new here :) Thanx for the correction :cool:

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
     
    • Like Like x 1
  13. tjk629

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,035
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    I think it would depend on which one you got. Like that dongle would have been one, but not the dock station or the laptop dock. Since those have some cool additions you don't get with just the dongle or HDMI cable. Like additional USB ports and portability.

    I wonder if Moto will launch a pad add on like ASUS did.
     
  14. LoneWolfArcher

    LoneWolfArcher Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Messages:
    1,232
    Likes Received:
    150
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Michigan
    Ratings:
    +157
    He mad.
     
  15. 94lt1

    94lt1 DF Super Moderator Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    12,623
    Likes Received:
    1,334
    Trophy Points:
    558
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +1,426
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Me too, this dang wall won't move!!! :banghead: lol

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2