Let the countdown begin for Motorola Razr ICS

Discussion in 'Android News' started by pc747, May 26, 2012.

  1. tjk629

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,040
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    Current Phone Model:
    NEXUS 6
    So, theoretically speaking will our GB dual core phones become smoother/faster on ICS? Since it's dual core optimized?
     
  2. jpiarull

    jpiarull Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +46
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    I would say so, but smoother/zippier would do moreso with ICS OS as-a-whole over sheer power, less wasted calculations, processes, etc. More efficient allocation of available resource with ICS, less errors too I hope.
     
  3. Dave12308

    Dave12308 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,253
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +50
    ICS is more resource intensive, if anything. Most of the performance improvements will be due to hardware GUI acceleration, and a true multi-core kernel.
     
  4. jpiarull

    jpiarull Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2010
    Messages:
    206
    Likes Received:
    46
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Location:
    NJ
    Ratings:
    +46
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo
    Damnit, well that's too bad, I'm in Central NJ, get good to excellent LTE signal, at my home, 50-75% signal strangth, enough to churn out 14 mbps down, 10 mbps up, fastest speed 22.43 mbps down, 10 up, still impressive on gingerbread, can hardly wait what ICS provides me. Also note-worthy that I am averaging 40-48 hours/charge with LTE always enabled, sending lots of texts, good amount of web-browsing, some youtube and pandora.:biggrin:
     
  5. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16,798
    Likes Received:
    3,644
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,108
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Now its our duty to have your favorite variety of ics in your freezer to help please the ics gods :) it will help ensure an error free soak, and quick release :p

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
     
  6. pc747

    pc747 Administrator
    Staff Member Rescue Squad

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    22,559
    Likes Received:
    4,074
    Trophy Points:
    1,123
    Ratings:
    +4,574
    I honestly think it is real close for the RAZR maxx. I would not be surprised to see VZW put ics info on their website after they finish pushing out the nexus update. But that is my guess barring any bugs or issue. I am interested in seeing how the RAZR handle reporting of lte and if it does better with data than the nexus on ics.

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
     
  7. Jxpinc

    Jxpinc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2012
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Athens, LAmerica
    Ratings:
    +1
    Will webtop 3.0 still allow me to watch web-only content on Hulu since we are losing the Firefox browser?
     
  8. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16,798
    Likes Received:
    3,644
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,108
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    Do you have any thoughts on if a new moto device will drop first? Or do you think ics will drop, then the next device?

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
     
  9. jeff.wilson2000

    jeff.wilson2000 New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2010
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was running an AOKP ICS ROM (Black Widow) on my Razr MAXX until about a week ago, and I can answer a few questions:
    1. The capacitive buttons remain the functional buttons (ie, there is not a "double" set of buttons). I did not see an option to NOT use the capacitive buttons with the ROM I was running.
    2. The MAXX positively *screamed* with ICS. Part of it was that it was an AOKP ROM, so it was quite stripped down with absolutely no bloat. We'll see what gets ladled on top with the official release from Motorola/Verizon, however. ;)
    I ended up going back to stock Motorola GB as there were a couple of issues that were dealbreakers for me, but it had everything to do with the ROM not being a "signed" ROM - there was a mission critical app that I use every day that would not let me install the key that I had purchased to go along with it, so the app had to run in demo mode, which disabled some key features that I require. Also, the ROM itself was rather flaky about the way that it would enable and disable background data, sometimes requiring a reboot to re-engage data (airplane mode on/off wouldn't solve it) - I think this was a function of my particular setup and this particular ROM, not of ICS in general. There were known things that were not worked out yet on this ROM.

    Overall, I was mightily impressed with ICS on my MAXX, and if it weren't for those two particular details, I would have stayed with the AOKP ROM.
     
  10. tjk629

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,040
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    Current Phone Model:
    NEXUS 6
    Summer is coming up. So we should be seeing a slew of devices coming out in like mid June.
     
  11. 94lt1

    94lt1 Super Moderator
    Staff Member Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2012
    Messages:
    16,798
    Likes Received:
    3,644
    Trophy Points:
    1,138
    Location:
    SE TX
    Ratings:
    +4,108
    Current Phone Model:
    Droid Turbo 2
    I hope so :D

    Sent from my DROID RAZR using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
     
  12. tjk629

    tjk629 Silver Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2010
    Messages:
    3,040
    Likes Received:
    65
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings:
    +65
    Current Phone Model:
    NEXUS 6
    I was watching more of the vids. Did moto FINALLY allow users to just use an HDMI cable to access webtop? No more forcing add ons/hacking to get it?